We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #36 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nice very clean hotel. The furnishing seeded a little dated. Needed foam pillows and they arrived quickly. Didn't have king bed on our day of arrival, since there was a large group attending a conference. The front desk staff was pleasant and had another room for us the following day. The beds were comfortable. We met friends and had dinner at Shula's Steak House. The dinner was good, but pricey. We ate at Bern's Steakhouse the time before. Better steak, better price, and better service. We like the InterContiental and will stay again.

Room Tip: Try not to be near elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SummitTraveler14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the InterContinental Tampa. We are excited to hear that the front desk staff was able to take care of your needs throughout your stay. We want to also thank you for choosing to dine with us at Shula's Steak House with your friends. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    504
    245
    91
    77
See reviews for
253
427
108
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newrock
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I spent one evening here and enjoyed the hotel. The check-in process was very efficient and I found the room to be comfortable, well appointed and quiet. Breakfast in the lobby restaurant was very good. I used the valet parking service and both ends of that process were smooth. Overall, I would gladly stay here again and would recommend the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank newrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We are elated to hear that both your check in and valet experiences were efficient and smooth. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on business in September 2013. The hotel is 15 minute drive (max) from Tampa airport. The car park is free and next to the hotel. Check in staff were very nice, along with all other staff I met there. The hotel is part of a complex, and unfortunately there was building work going on during my stay. Shulas restaurant (and the bar food) was excellent. My room was upgraded and was nice enough for the stay. The hotel gym is very limited and the pool was small (outdoor on high floor). Plenty of nearby shops, restaurants and amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmooneynet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed so many amenities and have noted your concerns as well. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was my first stay in an Intercontinental Hotel in several years, and was surprised and disappointed to the inattention to details.

In room coffee. I travel a lot, and I am a very early riser. A few hotels do not have in room coffee, but when it is available, it really helps me start my day in a more relaxed and pleasant way. The coffee in my room was very good…the issue is that when I awoke on my second morning in the hotel at 4:30 AM was when I discovered then when my room was cleaned, the coffee was not replaced. It would have been better to not have had the coffee pot and the expectation that I'd be able to relax when I awoke with a warm cup of coffee.

A/C: my thermostat was set at 65 degrees, but never got close. The hallway was cooler.

Plugs: again, as a frequent traveler who spends a lot of time on the road and travels with the usual compliment of electronic devices, there were not enough plugs conveniently located. There was only one plug available close to the desk.

Check-Out: Just for my own benefit, I generally wait until I am all through with check out to see if I will be thanked for staying…when I thanked the clerk for providing me with an updated bill and I thanked her, she said "You're welcome!" That's it! I just spent two nights and my company's money and didn't get a thank you? Very surprising, and--honestly--rude. When I am in front of my company's clients, I always thank them for their business and their trust. If they thank me, I try to be gracious, but will be sure to thank them as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Patrick, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We highly value all of your feedback and we do want to apologize for any inconveniences that you felt you experienced during your stay. Your comments will be discussed with staff and management and we will make sure to address the importance of detail. We greatly appreciate your observations and we want to thank you for staying with us at the InterContinental Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed for business trip. I don't think this is a typical intercontinental hotel as the decor was not what I am familiar with and the room was smaller than my other stays in this brand. The room was average but comfy.
The staff was great, the service was good. I had a quick bite at the bar. The bartender, friendly, fast, knowledgeable and great with recommendations.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MorningGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback! We are so happy that you had such a great experience with the staff here! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Averill Park, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel mostly because of convenience - I was in town for my medical boards which are held at the business center which is essentially part of the hotel.

Some positives: Close to the airport with free shuttle service that departs every 1/2 hour starting at 5am. Room service options are reasonably good with portions that are, perhaps, a little too generous. The room I stayed in was beautiful and was very well cared for - no housekeeping problems that I noticed. The hotel was very quiet and I got a very good night's sleep. Additionally, the front desk staff were extremely helpful and courteous and there is a free business center where you can access the internet and print things.

Some negatives: The layout of the hotel is a bit weird because it's actually located inside of a business center. Most rooms face out into a center atrium and look across the way into the windows of someone's office. In general - if you can see the office person, they can see you - so you probably should keep your curtains closed! My other (wee) complaint is that the internet is not free. For those who are in town to take the pathology board examination, this is a downside as the internet is study resource. However, the hotel HAS tried to accommodate this somewhat, and if you are in town for the ABP, you are able to receive internet service at a 50% discounted rate during your stay. Also, if you order room service do be aware that a 21% gratuity AND a $3 delivery charge are added upfront to your check. Most of the delivery staff will not tell you this - so if you add your own tip, you may actually wind up tipping 40% or more of the total price.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdoc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for all of your generous comments regarding your recent stay at the InterContinental Tampa! We are very thankful for all of your compliments you provided such as the cleanliness of the hotel, the quietness of the rooms and all of the helpful encounters you had with the staff. We have noted your concerns in regards to the internet and private dining fees and have relayed them to the management in those departments. Thank you again for writing a review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Requested a King Bed but got denied saying the hotel is overbooked, went was that my problem? The receptionist was kind of friendly cold, if you know what I mean.

A Tv remote was broken - technician came and comment on management budget situation.

A Desktop chair was broken - No one ever came.

We checked out after a night even though we booked 3 days.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pong S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany S, Guest Relations at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with details in regards to your recent stay at the InterContinental Tampa. We are very saddened to hear that you felt you had to end your stay here with us early due to your mentioned inconveniences. We strive to provide our guests with efficient and seamless service and please trust that your issues will be discussed with the appropriate departments and management. We sincerely apologize for those inconveniences that you felt you experienced and we thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#38 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing