We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good hotel but housekeeping timing a real problem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #37 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Overall good hotel but housekeeping timing a real problem”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night given the hotel was close to the airport. I will second everything the previous posters have said about lovely clean modern rooms and helpful staff. We found the pool area small and drab, irksome that wifi was not free and road noise an irritant despite being in a room on the 11th (top) floor but our biggest grievance which negatively impacted our hotel experience was that on the morning of check out the housekeeping staff came to do our room at 08:05. All that has to be done is coordinate with reception to establish when rooms have been vacated. Why is this not done so that guests are not bothered?! Instead we were rudely awoken. She knocked again at 10am and then again at 12 whereupon she insisted on speaking to us to establish what time we were vacating our room. We had confirmed a later check out time of 1pm with the front desk that morning. They could easily have found that out themselves instead of repeatedly disturbing us. Management should really fix this lack of communication. Other than that, lovely hotel, very well priced. Would return assuming we don't get an unwanted early wake up call from housekeeping!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    523
    254
    96
    79
See reviews for
263
447
113
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I arrived yesterday from a long flight and .. Andrea was at the front desk.. never met her before and wow! she knew how to deal with us straight away.. Anyway.. I went to the business center trying to sort the delivery of an important parcel which I was waiting.. I do not live in the USA and I find myself a bit lost sometime while dealing with sites or phone calls who can keep u waiting and waiting.. .. I went to the front desk asking for help expecting a bit of the same.. but nope.. Andrea listened to my prob and straight away took it on like it was hers! she was happy to wait on the phone etc.. not that I can't make a phone call myself ..but after a 9 hours flights everything seemed too much.. Andrea seemed to be aware of that and ... nothing seemed to be a big deal or trouble.. she was just AMAZING.. And I'm not one to write reviews or similar but pls pls pass my thanks to her... her help was most appreciated. Must add that before I didn't really think that much of the Hotel but now... I'm well impressed and for one I'm looking to return as I know any problems get sorter and .. there are profesionals but genuine staff who are actually making things happening and not just smiling without really meaning a thing.. IMPRESSED MUCH! THANKS AGAIN :)

Room Tip: Bring a jumper with you... even in the summer! I always find it a bit chilly .. :/ My room 610 wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hostee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wabush
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

What a beautiful hotel. The pool was not the best. It had absolutely no atmosphere. The restaurant on the other hand was super cozy and great place to have a drink. The gym was great, access to the equipment was wonderful. The front desk staff were absolute.y superb as we're the staff at the door

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EmmaWabush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This was my first visit to this lovely facility, my new employer is located very near. Kathryn is one of Michelle's team at the Front Desk. When I checked in Sunday, her consideration in putting me in a quiet room was indicative of a high level of customer awareness (I had worked for 37 nights on a project). Kathryn exemplified a professional awareness that reminded me also more so of business time I spent in India, where "the guest is God."

I look forward in giving this hotel more business, as well as it's excellent steakhouse and bar.

Highly recommended!!!

Christopher C. Chambers
chambersc3@yahoo.com

Room Tip: Rooms bordering the street seem very quiet - the front desk will well accommodate such a request.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent - sheets changed every 3 days, towels when left for laundry. Their detergent seems odorless and well suited to inducing a peaceful rest, especially for most of us who are sensitive to chemicals.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights. We were given a corner room at no extra charge. The windows looked directly out over Kennedy Blvd. It is across the street from Westshore Mall & 5 minutes from the airport. Most of the rooms face an interior atrium and business offices. If you like sunlight, this might be a problem for you. Our room was spacious and clean. There was a coffee maker, mini bar, and work desk in the room. We ordered in-suite dining, a late-night, pre-made sandwich, which was great! The lobby is a mix of hotel lobby, bar, Shula's(fine dining), and some shops.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LRogers31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciolumbus, OH
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a perfect hotel for business near the airport with no car. If you’re going to Tampa for a bay view room, this is not the right one for you. Service is great, clean, and responsive. If you plan to visit Clearwater and St. Pete, it's likely you'll rent a car. Then you can pick a hotel with bay view

Room Tip: If you're looking for a bay view room do not select this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank telhosseiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The Tampa Intercontinental is a reliable 4 plus Star hotel that really know a what it takes to keep a Customer happy. Comfortable and spacious accommodations are enhanced with personal yet professional attention. My family felt at home and secure at all times.
We will be back next time we are in the area.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Getalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 163 in Tampa
430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#43 of 163 in Tampa
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing