We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10/10 for effort, 8/10 for execution.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
“10/10 for effort, 8/10 for execution.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Great valet, check in experience and room. An over-cooked steak and a vanishing in-room breakfast order were low lights, but Crystal and her team went over and above to compensate. I am a platinum elite IHG card holder.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acrockettintercon, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for being a platinum elite member with us! It is so great to hear valet, the check in experience and your room were great at the InterContinental Tampa. Crystal is a valuable member to our team and we are so happy she was able to make your experience great! We look forward to seeing you again!
Regards,
Alex C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    502
    241
    90
    76
See reviews for
249
425
108
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I spent a night at the Intercontinental while on a business trip. The hotel is large and conveniently located near the airport and a shopping plaza. I spent most of my evening in the hotel & found the room to be quite spacious. The bed was very comfortable & the room clean. I had no problems sleeping (my view faced in towards offices and meeting rooms). Due to my late arrival & early departure I didn't interact with the hotel staff. The people behind the front desk were nice & my check in/check out was effortless. I didn't explore the area very much, but if you need a place to stay near the airport this would be it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachSwimOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acrockettintercon, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding the InterContinental Tampa's convenient location, our clean & comfortable beds, and our nice front desk staff. Also, thank you for the recommendation! We cannot wait for your next trip here!
Regards,
Alex C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This was a 1 night local stay for us.The girl who checked us in was great.It was my husbands birthday weekend so I did ask for the Sunday buffet. She did not have anyone available at the moment so I made her picky swear.My husband informed it was never going to happen.IT DID so for that kudos for going above and beyond. The Sunday buffet is not worth $21 .Even though its towards Schulas I would hesitate to say its actually them.I would up the breakfast or take it away and make it menu ordering.The eggs were cold so because the girl who seated us did her job extremely well she told us we could order omelettes so thats what we did.Yes it was free but I would have been extremely annoyed if I had paid $42 for that particular buffet.Our server was attentive so no issues.We did stop at the bar Sat evening and our bartender was great.He saw that I was not drinking what he had made and insisted I get another.I told him no it was ok but as the minutes were ticking and I wasn't drinking he asked again.I insisted he try it as it was a Margarita with a bitter taste.He did and than told us they had changed the lime juice so he made it better. Another kudos .The room itself was just a room.Nothing special.The headboard is what I would call pleather beige weave.If they haven't updated in a while they should.The sheet on the bed was not tucked in and the bathroom door showed neglect.Just general maintenance.We were on the 10th floor and the elevator area smelled like puke which we reported.For these reasons I would not call it a 4 star.The location fit our needs but its a hotel that does most likely cater to the business traveler mostly because of its location.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randeeroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acrockettintercon, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
It's so nice to hear you had a great check in experience. We apologize for the inconvenience you had during breakfast. However, it is exciting to hear you had a great experience at The No Name Lounge. We hope to see you again very soon!
Regards,
Alex C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Upon arrival, the Intercontinental Tampa has impressive surroundings, it's a beautiful hotel. The front desk staff is professional and service oriented. However, all experiences we had with the hotel lounge and restaurant was sub par.
We were in Tampa with another couple for an event and thought it would be a good idea to have a drink at the hotel lounge.
Service there was extremely slow, which frustrated us tremendously.
The next day, we all went to the hotel's restaurant for breakfast. We waited at the host stand without any acknowledgement for 10 minutes. Once we were seated, it took another 10 minutes to be greeted by wait staff. The entire dining experience was frustrating. The breakfast order was not put in correctly which extended our wait time. In addition, we were repeatedly asked about our order. When we requested items such as milk for coffee, our requests were never granted. I had to use the cereal milk at the buffet for my coffee. I also passed several wait staff along the way and was never greeted or assisted. Our whole party had a horrible breakfast experience.
Other than food and beverage, our room was very nice, as we had a corner business suite. The room was perfect, had great views of the city and a cozy nook for the bedroom.

If you are visiting Tampa, I do recommend this hotel for lodging, but not for dining.

Room Tip: Corner business suites are spacious and make your stay extra special.
See more room tips
Green Features: I was not aware of their environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gwendolynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acrockettintercon, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
We are appreciative for your truthful review of our hotel and restaurant. It is sad to read about your experience in the restaurant as this does not represent our normal standards. The front office team will be motivated with your positive comments regarding their professionalism and service. We hope that should you return to our location that you would also give our restaurant an opportunity to show you the true level of service we are here to provide.
Regards,
Alex C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel with my family of 2 adults and 2 older teens. Initially, we were very impressed by the exquisite lobby area. It was impeccably decorated and offered tons of comfortable seating, in addition to a classy bar and on site steakhouse. We noticed right away that the hotel seemed to be internally connected to an office building with floors of cubicles and busy worker bees. At first the view of the employees was interesting, watching from the hotel's glass elevators. However, after a short while we realized that this hotel was undoubtedly catered to businessmen and women. The first sign was that there were absolutely no vending machines on any floor. Ok, drinks and large night snacks were out of the question. The refrigerator in the room was a fully stocked and automated mini-fridge with no room to store your personal items. An empty mini-fridge could be requested at a charge (daily, I believe) and the same for a microwave. The swimming pool and accompanying area was microscopic and could've passed for an oversized jacuzzi had there been any jets. Interesting fact, the pool area was inhabited by huge, black "water bugs" (as the maintenance man called them). These creatures looked like a combination of a large cockroach and small lobster. No exaggeration, they were at least 4 or 5 inches long and were actively crawling, flying and SWIMMING in the pool. One of them attempted to crawl up my brother's side and another bit a woman on the behind. Needless, to say everyone evacuted the water at that point. When the maintenance man came to see what the fuss was, he said this was "normal for Tampa" and simply picked up the only visible critter and threw it over the side of the building. Extremely helpful since it was still alive and can fly. On a more positive note, the hotel is walking distance to a mall which is directly across the street. Other than that, we stayed for 5 days and enjoyed the remainder of our visit.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WalterFam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acrockettintercon, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
It is thrilling to read about the impressive first impression you had of our hotel. We apologize for the miscommunication with regards to the additional charge for amenities as we do not charge for mini-fridges or microwaves. We are happy our location was so convenient for your trip to Tampa and hope you will utilize our locality for future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Thanks to the Intercontinental (Tampa) and staff for a memorable extended weekend (8/7-8/10), celebrating my husbands birthday AND our 30th wedding anniversary. On 8/9 while we were eating some appetizers, I went to inquire about the availability of a roll away bed as our son was coming into town for the Linkin Park concert. I did not have my i.d. readily on me but the staff asked to see my husband's i.d. and when she saw his birthday was the very same day she gave us free breakfast buffet's as Shula's! Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!

Judy B.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berenguerdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acrockettintercon, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
I am so happy to hear the InterContinental Tampa was able to make your stay so memorable. I hope you choose to celebrate with us again!
Regards,
Alex C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms were very nice. Beds were comfy with down pillows and comforters. Pool was nice but area surrounding was dirty, broken umbrellas and stagnate water in plants.
Lack of towels even when asked never brought up from guest services.
Easy check in...staff very friendly.
Would stay again...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kampkibbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
acrockettintercon, Guest Relations Manager at The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your room while you stayed with us. We hope to see you soon!
Regards,
Alex C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#32 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing