We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2009

The economy has the Intercontinental turning to Hotwire to fill its rooms -- there are great deals to be had! Better still is that the Intercontinental does not put its Hotwire customers in the basement and does not treat them any differently than those who're paying $200/nite.

The doormen are friendly and quick to greet everyone; even when it was busy, they would catch your eye and acknowledge you and they never left you waiting for long. They were kind enough to let me leave my vehicle under the port cochere for my entire stay so I wouldn't have to park in the garage.

Rooms are furnished with amazingly comfortable beds, lots and lots (I mean lots!) of pillows, and there is no shortage of technology. There are iPod docks at bedside and a cool gizmo connected to the TV by which you can plug in your various media and watch on the TV. The desk is equipped with extra outlets, so no unplugging lamps to plug in the laptop! TVs are all flat-screen HDs, though only 2 of the local channels are broadcast in HD.

Bathrooms are large and well lit, and include a makeup mirror, lots of soft towels, better-than-usual toiletries, and a tub/shower with the curved shower rod so there's plenty of room. Toilet tissue is normal run-of-the-mill hotel-style tissue, which is to say that it's closer to paper than tissue.

I had a problem with neighbors who were loud to begin with and got even louder when they began their intimacies with each other ... yuck! That's far closer than I care to be with perfect strangers. The front desk was responsive and very happily gave me a different room.

Shula's restaurant has great steak and the service is spot-on. Be sure not to miss it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skydiverbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    508
    502
    241
    90
    76
See reviews for
249
425
108
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2009

I stay in a lot of hotels each year, from the lowest of low to the best of the best. Of all of the many hotel chains I frequent, the Intercontinental group is always my favorite. Whether it is a Holiday Inn express, Crown Plaza or the Intercontinental itself, I am almost always pleased.
The Tampa IC is no exception. The location is easy to find and very convenient. It is located adjacent to the Westshore shopping plaza which has a movie theater and lots of shops and restaurants. Traffic is not too bad in that area. The hotel is also located about 1 1/2 miles from another major shopping/dining/entertainment venue: International Plaza. The Tampa Intl airport is only minutes away as well.
The rooms are beautiful and the bed is terribly comfy. The lobby is nice but not too exciting and neither is the view unless you are lucky enough to be on the bayside of the building.
I personally would not pay an astronomical sum to stay here as there are other hotels in the area that offer more in the way of scenery and excitement within the same general price range. This hotel mainly caters to business travelers so weekend deals are often easy to find. if you will be staying in Tampa on a weekend you might just get one of these deals.
The particular weekend I stayed here, this hotel was cheaper than many moderate of budget hotels that cater to leisure travelers.
All in all, this is a terrific hotel and I guarantee that as long as you get a good rate there, you will not be disappointed!
Here is a hint: the Valet is $18 overnight. The hotel does have free self parking but it is a bit if a walk from the garage and difficult to find the entrance.
I usually park across the street from the main entrance near the Bank of America. Most of the time I can see my car from my room. The Westshore Plaza has nighttime security as does the bank so my car is safe and secure.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington D.C.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

I was at the Intercontinental for 3 nights in early June for pathology board exam. The rooms are very nice, the complimentary shampoo smells great, and it is close walking distance of a mall. It's quiet & the beds are comfortable. Also, the exam is given right in the building, so it's very convenient.

The mall across the street has a cheap food court, and if you turn right after leaving the hotel there's a Panera & a Starbucks both of which have good coffee.

There is a complimentary shuttle to the airport, which runs every 30' and is very reliable. We called them when our plane got in & they picked us up in about 15 min & we also took the shuttle back to the airport.

Please make sure to check on-line for specials; most of my friends and I used the "Bogo Special" on the wknd (2 nights for the price of 1), and then we got the American Board of Pathology rate for the 3rd night, so it was kind of expensive but not horribly so. The people at the front desk were very nice & went out of their way to put the residents from my program on the same hall so that it was easy for us to review together before the exam.

Although I hope that I passed and never have to go back, the Intercontinental really is a nice hotel.

Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank skyvoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2009

A nice hotel. Beautiful lobby. Nice, large rooms. Near lots of restaurants. Free WiFi. I think this is excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

Hotwire (again) found this gem for me at a great rate for a Thursday & Friday night in Tampa. The hotel is located right on route 60. 5 minutes to the Airport, 10 minutes to the beautiful beaches of Clearwater, and 1/2 mile to 275. But who wants to go back on the Interstate when Clearwater Beach is just 20 minutes away on route 60?
What I liked best about the hotel was the Free Parking! I pulled into the garage next to Sports Authority and carried my own bag down, The elevator in the garage takes you right to the lobby where Shula's Steakhouse is. Didn't eat but looked at the Lombardi Trophy displayed in the lobby.
The rest of the hotel lived up to InterContinental standards.
An excellent couple of nights in Tampa at the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinbob19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

Got a fair rate from another internet site(travel zoo) $ 99.00 bay view. but the bay view is a joke it being quite a distance away with several large buildings in the line of view especially at sunset. The first problem was the front desk sending my wife and I to the wrong room. I left my wife standing on the 9th floor while I went back to the front desk for the correct key to the room we were staying in. We were also charged for things in the mini bar that we did not eat. A.C. did not cool the room during the afternoon. Took the bathtub 30 minutes to drain. Maid knocked on door during a nap to see if we needed anything....Yea a hotel that understands what the do not disturb sign means.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank porko13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

Positive:

The rooms are nice and clean w/ modern decor.

Negative:

The staff at check-in were completely clueless and apathetic. It's obvious that the management here does not pride itself on customer service.

"Room with a view" is mostly the side of the building and the top of the parking garage with a small distant peek at the bay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hd0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#17 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Tampa Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#32 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Airport/Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Property: The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Address: 4860 West Kennedy Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33609 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#15 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing