We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
Ranked #36 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 December 2010

I stayed the week before Christmas for a shopping weekend at the West Shore and International Plaza malls. I was upgraded to a junior suite on the corner with a lovely bedroom and was given coupons and certificates for the malls.

Great service and friendly people. I am unclear about the previous post stating that Intercontinental standards are slipping across the USA. Totally disagree with this, and if you look at the current issue of Business Traveler Awards 2010, you will see that Intercontinental is rated as the best hotel chain in North America, Europe, and the Middle East. And the Intercontinental in Tampa clearly meets this standard!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollybecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,495)
There are newer reviews for The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,304 - 1,310 of 1,495 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2010

The executive business suite had so much air freshener spray it was absolutely a nightmare and I had to take medication to prevent asthma in there. I'm not sure if it was in the air machine, or sprayed way too heavily on everything in the room including the bedding but it was gagging. The bathroom was small and not great. The conference room area was nothing special and thankfully the sleeping area was not visible from the conference area. Overall, it was a tired, smelly, poorly decorated, unexciting space.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touristwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Lovely hotel, close to West Shore Mall and TPA. Free shuttle to and from TPA, although you have to ring hotel to advise them you are waiting at the airport. Coffee bar quite expensive. If you have an atrium facing room, you will be opposite fully staffed offices, this can be a privacy issue, also means little natural light enters room. Big comfortable bed, nice bathroom and outdoor pool on 9th floor. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Good free business centre, can be busy at peak times.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtraveller5_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This hotel has comfortable and contemporary rooms, but is literally located within an office building. Most of the rooms look into an office building atrium, with a view of floor to ceiling office windows a few dozen feet away. You can view directly into offices and conference rooms - and they can view directly into your room. This is not mentioned anywhere on the hotel website nor during the online booking process.
Upon arriving we were offered a room right in the middle of the atrium. I went back to the front desk to request another room and was eventually assigned one (after being sent to another one with a non-operating lock) just above the driveway. It did have some natural light, but the the beeping of the shuttles reversing and general road noise were simply too loud.
I asked a couple staff members about the lack of outside facing views and they all agreed that there simply are very few rooms with any outside view. The great majority face the atrium and into the parking structure.

The room itself was quite nice, modern, and definitely set up for productive business travel. There is an Illy to go cofee counter in the lobby, free parking in the structure behind the hotel, and a mall across the (very busy) avenue.

The hotel facilities are strong four-star, but the fact that the location is WITHIN an office building should be made obvious on the website. I would only recommend this hotel if you get a great rate versus others in the area, or if you like to close the black-out curtains and leave them shut. I guess this would be a great place for overnight-ing airline crews who only plan on sleeping.

I go to the Sunshine State to see some sunshine, not 11 floors of office interiors.

If you are looking for Priority Club points, maybe try the nearby Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DedicatedTravelerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Booked the hotel for one night only because we had a very early check-in at the airport. I was surprised by its clean and comfortable rooms, the courteous staff and the closeness to shopping and dining. In the morning the shuttle was right on time and we were at the airport in no time

Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
Thank travellingmomde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

This hotel had great rooms. The staff was awesome throughout. The room was great for getting my work done Room service was quick and the restaurant was great for breakfast and dinner. I did have an 'inside window' that faced another building inside the complex so it was odd to have people staring across the courtyard while working but that was easily solved with the blinds. The pool was small so maybe not the best for a vacation but it was a rooftop with nice views. Overall great hotel & stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guy4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We stayed at the InterContinental Hotel Tampa for a weekend. It is SUPER close to the airport and Raymond James stadium (we took in a Buc's game). It is attached to a business center, so if you are staying during the week you can see into offices/they can see you in some of the rooms. But, the blackout curtains should solve any concerns. Great lobby and quick check in. Rooms were clean, spacious, great beds, and good sized bathroom. Though no fan in the bathroom. We didn't try the Shula's Steakhouse, but the menu looked tasty. You can walk to a nice mall and many restaurants just across the street (Walgreens and other stores convenient as well). Loved the free parking (they have valet as well, but you can park in an attached garage for free). Approx 30 minute drive to Clearwater beach.
I would definitely stay here again if in Tampa.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonnike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Tampa International Plaza Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Westin Tampa Waterside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Le Meridien Tampa
Le Meridien Tampa
#16 of 163 in Tampa
439 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
3.0 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#45 of 163 in Tampa
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa

Address: 4860 W Kennedy Blvd, Tampa, FL 33609-2524 (Formerly InterContinental Hotel Tampa)
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#16 Green Hotel in Tampa
#34 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#41 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £85 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa is just minutes from the airport, within walking distance to shopping and centrally located to all area attractions including Busch Gardens, Raymond James Stadium, the Florida Aquarium, the St Pete Times Forum and the beautiful gulf coast beaches. Here is where excellence truly is the standard. The hotel features a rooftop swimming pool with spectacular views of Tampa Bay, complimentary Internet access, a fully-equipped fitness centre, 24-hour in-room dining, 'In the Know' Concierge services and the award winning Shula's Steak House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Tampa
The Westshore Grand, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tampa Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing