We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #39 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 31 March 2008

I went to the Wingate by Wyndham on Fowler Street on March 2008 and had a very pleasant stay. The staff is friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was perfect. The only little problem is the lack of restaurants nearby. Fortunately, the hotel offers a shuttle service which is very efficient. The driver will take you to a restaurant (or to Busch Gardens, for example) and bring you back to the hotel. Since I was traveling alone, I felt this was a very safe alternative.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Khalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    393
    182
    78
    48
See reviews for
656
250
70
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We stayed at the Wingate by Wyndham in Tampa for 4 nights in March. We choose that hotel because of it's close proximity to Busch Gardens, and were not disappointed since it is only about a mile away. The hotel has a wonderful shuttle service that will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius of the hotel and then pick you up when you are ready to come back. We did not have a rental car and were very pleased with the service. The drivers were very friendly and helpful, as well as being prompt. There are a lot of restaurants nearby, but not many were close enough to walk to, so the shuttle worked out great for us. The breakfast buffet was fantastic. There was a large variety of items that would satisfy any appetite, whether you wanted something light or a full breakfast. The food was delicious and very convienient not to have to go out and find some place to eat. Connie, the hostess, could not have been nicer. They have a business center there with free computer access, so we were able to print out our boarding passes, the night before we checked out. Our room was very clean, comfortable and quiet. There is a coffee maker, microwave and small refridgerator in the room also. We would highly reccommend the Wingate to anyone going to Tampa, especially if you are going to Busch Gardens. You can't beat the price for what you get. Some of the cheaper hotels, closer to Busch Gardens are a must to avoid. They look run down and scary. You won't be disappointed with the Wingate!!

  • Liked — shuttle service
  • Disliked — location off of a busy highway
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DonnaLynnMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pierson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Our room was very dirty. Bathroom shower was filthy. Mirrors looked like they used an oily rag to wipe them. Under cushions of couch there were candy wrappers and food.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathylanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2008

Five minutes from Busch Gardens - and the hotel provides a free shuttle bus to get you there. In terms of family friendly budget hotels, this is a really good deal. We arrived before noon, and the friendly man at reception found us a clean room ready to go, and booked a shuttle to get us to Busch Gardens ten minutes later. Standard room with two queen beds, but extra touches, like very nice coffee, and a microwave (get your pack of microwaveable popcorn from the vending machine downstairs for a dollar) and fridge. Free paper outside the door in the morning. And the breakfast was great - cereal, bagels, waffles, yoghurt, fresh fruit.; also hot food like omelette and sausage. It rained while we were here so couldn't check out the pool, but I noticed it being cleaned twice in the space of 24 hours.

  • Liked — Clean friendly and close to Busch Gardens
  • Disliked — Chain motel on freeway
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rlandpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2008

We spent 2 nights here with an 8 year old and a 5 year old. The 24hr check-in was great for us as we arrived at 3am from the airport. Our room was large and clean and the breakfast good. The outdoor pool was pretty cold but the indoor hot tub was fine. The hotel made a very good base for Busch Gardens and for Canoe Escape which rents canoes for trips on the Hillsborough River (we saw 8 alligators, stacks of birds, turtles and an otter and the kids absolutely loved the adventure). The cheapest room rate we found was the Advanced Purchase Non Refundable Rate from the Wingate website.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ukboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2007

We stayed here for four nightsthe last week of October. Used the hotel service for drop off and pick up at Busch Gardens. Everyone was very nice and helpful. Rooms were like a suite. Wonderful breakfast. Having waffles, french toast, eggs and sausage was great Would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
4 Thank Dolphinchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Coast, FL
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2007

My 10 year old son and I had stayed at this Wingate back in July, and thought it was great, so we used it for a two night stay in order to hit the theme parks, and brought along my sister and her 1 year old. We had a standard, 2 double beds room on the first floor. Room was kept very clean, and we really love when there is both a microwave and refrigerator available - makes it easy to bring dessert and leftovers back from the local restaurants. Also, the room has a coffee maket that makes coffee 1 cup at a time using Wolfgang Puck coffee - very quick and efficient, and tasty.

The deluxe breakfast never fails to amaze me - cheese omelets, do-it-youself waffles, sausage links, biscuits and gravy, bagels, toast, english muffins, doughnuts, danishes, muffins, many types of cereal, fruit, coffee, milk, and juices. Plenty of seating available also.

My son enjoyed swimming in the outdoor pool, which is a nice size. They also have a very large indoor whirlpool that was great to relax in.

We were also pleased with the front desk service - had no problems with our bill, and also no problems getting extra pillows, blankets, and towels.

This hotel has become our first choice when visiting Tampa. We will be back!

  • Liked — The breakfast, the room, the service
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellanora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa/At USF Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing