We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is an excellent hotel to stay in Tampa. We very...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #39 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    394
    182
    78
    48
See reviews for
656
250
70
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

When I arrived, the front desk was quite friendly. I stayed to attend a wedding. The rooms were very clean and nicely furnished. Whenever I had a question the staff was accommodating and never made me feel like I was disturbing them. Special recognition for 'Z' for being extremely helpful during check in. He was very patient with getting my room due to some snags in emails. The hotel is located in a great part of Tampa right across the street from USF.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundconjurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your review on the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF. We are glad that our Front Desk staff, as well as the cleanliness and up-to-date furnishings in our rooms, provided you with a wonderful stay. Thank you for your compliment on our Front Desk staff member Z! We look forward to accommodating you to more "wonderful stays" in your future visits. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Early check-in. Very couteous front desk. Daily REAL hot breakfast (eggs, sausage). We wanted to stay an extra night and they honored the discount rate.
We had a sort of mini family reunion in the lobby area until midnight and they were nothing but accomodating.
All in all a great experience. Will be back for daughters USF graduation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckheadgreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF. We are pleased that you found our amenities, such as our 45 item Hot Breakfast Buffet, exceptional and that our hotel was able to exceed your expectations for your stay overall. We look forward to having you stay with us again during your next visit to the Tampa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Spent the weekend here while shooting some pix at USF. Found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating though not particularly outgoing. The room was clean and in order. We requested an upper floor and found the floor to be quiet. What ever they use as potpourri or fragrance in the hallways is odd, not offensive but strange none the less. Can't quite place how it made us feel.

The morning breakfast was adequate and on a par with what we've come to expect from mid level stays. Not Embassy Suites fare, but the Embassy Suites across the street was twice the price for this stay. Couldn't justify that for this trip.

Overall this was a good choice and we would stay there again should the need arise.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanonShooter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
The Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF appreciates your time to write a review of our property and your experience. Our staff enjoys delivering a level of hospitality that is professional, courteous, and helpful to all of our guests. We are glad that you found our Complimentary, 45 item Hot Breakfast Buffet satisfactory. In the future, we hope you choose the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF during your next visit to the Tampa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Very nice hotel with a great staff. We celebrate our yearly company getaway (14 rooms) and it was a success thank you to the Wingate Hotel. Special recognition to Mr. Aguiar, Krystal and Cosmito for going the extra mile with our group. Nice rooms, clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfast!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on our property. First, we would like to thank you and your company for choosing the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF as your hotel-of-choice when visiting Tampa. Also thank you for your kind compliments on Mr. Aguiar, Krystal and Cosmito. As you highlighted, they always go above and beyond for our guests and are enormous assets to our team; we appreciate your compliment on them! Here at the Wingate, we like to maintain a high standard of cleanliness for our property and rooms, and are glad that we met yours and your company's expectations. We look forward to accommodating yours, as well as your company's visits to the Tampa area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Canaveral, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The conference I was going to had multiple hotels listed and this was the only one without any complaints listed in the review-so I chose it, I was so happy I did. There was free breakfast every morning (waffles, eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, fruit, etc), the general manager gave me so many great options for eating out. The room was clean, got extra pillows and towels without being treated like they thought I was going to steal them. The laundry room, jacuzzi, pool, workout area were all well maintained and clean, no weird smells. It was a great four days. I highly recommend Wyndam. Oh ya the only negative was the TV program guide on the beautiful HD TV didn't match the actual channels so it was confusing trying to find what I wanted to watch.

Room Tip: We had room 303 facing the road on the West end of the hotel and heard a fire truck one night for ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCHSInstructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF! We are glad you were able to experience and utilize some of our featured amenities such as the Complimentary, full 45 item Hot Breakfast Buffet! We look forward to accommodating your future visits to the Tampa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa/At USF Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing