We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Fresh Air To Breathe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #43 of 164 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The staff was great and the room was well-appointed, but the guestroom corridors (and to a lesser extent, the lobby) have a very strong acrid odor redolent of sweat and stale air. I looked around and found that the corridor fresh air supply was completely non-functional during my entire stay (i.e., no outside air was being delivered), which is a violation of uniform building codes.

In lieu of repairing their fresh air problem, the hotel has mounted commercial bathroom type air fresheners in the corridor that periodically spray an aerosol mist (please see photo). This just adds to the odors that are present and doesn't clear up the problem of no fresh air being brought into the building. Furthermore, guestroom windows don't open creating an unpleasant and unhealthy situation. Stale air in the corridor was being brought into my room via the bathroom exhaust.

I took off the cover on the through-the-wall air conditioning unit in my room and found its fresh air damper was completely closed. I changed that setting myself to allow fresh air to come in and my room got less stuffy. However, anytime I was near the door to the corridor I smelled the very strong combination of stale air and aerosol freshener from the corridor.

In its present state, this is an unhealthy building and I don't recommend anyone who is concerned about their respiratory health stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MeGustaViajar10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. All feedback is welcome and is encouraged to better our facility. We are sorry your stay was not exactly what you expected, but we are glad you found the staff pleasant and the room well-appointed. We are sorry you felt the fresh air supply was limited. Unfortunately, safety laws prohibit our establishment from having open windows. For security reasons all windows are supposed to be securely closed. We have yearly safe- air ventilation inspections and have never failed. We understand your concern and we can assure you all safety regulations both in air quality and environmental safety are met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed here for 1 night to spend 2 days at Busch gardens, the hotel was a perfect location, room perfect , and compliment breakfast was good. It has a complimentary shuttle service to the park all you have to do is book it at reception. I emailed the hotel before we got there about parking and early check in , the response was quick, and I was very satisfied we could check in early and enjoy the park, and when we had finished we got a bottle of wine to take to the room reasonable price too. Will be back .

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank karen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

The Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable visit and were able to utilize some of our amenities such as our Complimentary 45-item Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, our complimentary shuttle to Busch Gardens and our Lounge which provides selections of wine and beer (bottled and draft options). Here at the Wingate, we like to make our guests feel comfortable and assist in making sure your travel experience goes as smoothly as possible. In your future visits to the Tampa area, we would love to accommodate your stay once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is across the street from the USF campus, down the block from the MOSI (Museum of Science and Industry) and tons of restaurants, and around the corner from Busch Gardens. Perfect location for my family trip to see my son perform at USF.

The rooms were clean. All of the appliances; TV, coffee maker, and telephone were new-looking. The bathroom tiles were new-looking and the counter-tops were very nice.

The one negative is that when we turned down the AC, there was a definite musty smell. That kind of thing makes me very allergic so we kept the AC turned way up.

They serve a nice breakfast every morning: eggs, saugsage, waffles, breads, and beverages.

The best part was the service! I asked about any deals on Busch Gardens tickets and they gave me a GREAT DEAL!! Not only that, but the Manager drove us to the front gate and walked us in through the turnstyles and picked us up when we were done. Best way to go a theme park ever!

I have to throw in a plug for MOSI... a fantastic place for kids! Go on one of their $5 Saturdays, even better!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank VJoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

The Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF would like to thank you for your time to write a review about your experience at our hotel! We are pleased to hear that we were able to not just meet, but go above and beyond your expectations for your stay with us. We see that several of our amenities and features were pleasing and beneficial to you during your stay such as our up-to-date rooms, the complimentary 45-item full hot breakfast buffet and our complimentary shuttle to Busch Gardens. Thank you for your kind words about the service you experienced during your stay as well. We enjoy going the extra mile for our guests to ensure that their stay is pleasant and accommodating. We look forward to having you and your family as guests during your future visits to the Tampa area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
1  Thank Harriet G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Nilda I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable room. Excellent Wifi coverage. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wingate by Wyndham
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay at the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/USF. Our staff enjoys being of assistance to our guest's needs and making there stay a pleasant one. We are glad that you found our complimentary WiFi throughout our property useful during your stay. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £70 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa/At USF Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing