We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a fair price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
Ranked #42 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Just returned from a 4 day stay for business. Hotel is exceptionally clean and well maintained. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Room had plenty of space, flat screen TV, microwave, small fridge. Bed was very comfortable. I typically do not eat the complimentary breakfasts at most hotels as I prefer a "real" breakfast to start the day. Not the case here - ate at the hotel every morning with eggs, bacon, toast and yogurt - good coffee too. Also, liked the (cash) option for beer/wine in the lobby at the end of the day.
Location is right around the corner from Busch Gardens with plenty of eating options nearby. Liked Tia's Tex Mex Grill a couple of blocks away. And if you want authentic Jamaican food in a casual atmosphere, try the Island Grill at the corner of 30th and Busch Blvd. Would not recommend Cafe Don Jose, lunch prices were high, $10 - $15, food was ok but too salty.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDT72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zamiraR92, Front Office Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2015

Thank you for you wonderful review of the Wingate by Wyndham. We look foward to your next Tampa vist. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
We will definitely offer this opportunity for Wyndham Rewards more great suggestion. Thank you.

Wingate by Wyndham,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,355 - 1,361 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed at this facility because we were spending the day at Busch Gardens and didn't want to stay too far away. The front desk staff was amiable, the room keycard worked (always a plus and a pet peeve of mine), the room was relatively clean with decent linens and towels. The unidentifiable stain on the chair was a teaching moment for my daughter though.... Internet access was slow and due to the location (Fowler Ave is a busy road) the room was somewhat noisy, you would want to specify a non roadside room. The breakfast buffet was standard fare but was ready for us at 6AM which is all one can ask for. The area is not very appealing but this is not the Wingate's fault.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3chorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed here one nite. In fairness, we did not have reservations and arrived late in the afternoon. There were only a few rooms available. We had a double king on the top [4th] floor. The room decor is in need of renovation; stained carpeting and upholstery. The smell in the hallways and room reminded me of a car air freshener - not good. The TV was a newer flat panel, but it did not work well. The selection of TV channels was extremely limited, more so than we've experienced in quite a while. The ice machine on the 4th floor did not work; we needed to go to floor 1 or 2. The breakfast was average at best; not a big deal for us but we have experienced much better at other chains. The location was great for those going to Busch Gardens. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cadp52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately due to our occupancy we could not offer you another room as we would have had you let us know the issues you were experiencing. We are actually in the process of switching to a new vendor to offer a larger channel selection, while hopefully continuing the free HBO. I do not know if you consulted the desk about the ice machine, as our maintenence staff is on 24 hours to rectify these issues and may have been able to fix this for you. We appreciate your taking time out of your schedule to post your review-reviews like yours keeps us aware of any issues that may be occuring in the hotel so we can address and correct them quickly. We hope you will consider giving us another chance as we would like to prove to you that what you experienced was not the norm but a rare exception of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed at this very nice hotel near USF to celebrate our daughter's (student @ USF) 21st birthday. I chose the accommodations because of the location, cost and that it came with a breakfast buffet. We stayed in a King suite. Bed very comfortable...linens could have been a bit softer. Room had great TV, with HBO channels and free internet. Breakfast very yummy. I will be making another RSVP for her graduation in May. I always look at people's comments before I book somewhere and so far I have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mqkuznitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2011

We at the Wingate By Wyndham near USF/Busch Gardens appreciate you taking the time to post your comments online about your experience at the Wingate. I hoope your daughter had a great birthday celebration (21st is one of those landmark birthdays!) and of course we would love to have you back to celebrate another distinctive date-graduation day. I'm sure you will be as pleased if not more so with our personalized guest service that we strive to extend to all of our guests and the Wingate to make your stay especially special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My fiancee and I stayed at this location on February 12th, 2011. This was our 3rd get time we have stayed here as a getaway weekend. We like this hotel so much, we are geting married there next month. Manny Aguiar, Jason Borkowskie, Moria Arcone and the complete staff make us feel welcome and at home. The cleanliness of the hotel, comfort of the rooms, and the outstanding breakfast keep us coming back. I recommend this location to people I come in contact with who need a hotel in the Tampa area. You are lucky to have such a staff at this hotel. Feel free to contact me on my cell at 352-598-7047 if you would like to discuss this review.
Sincerely,
Robert Porter

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f4phantomchief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2011

We at the Wingate look forward to be a part of this joyous event and certainly will continue to provide you and your fiance with the excellent service you have grown accustomed. Let us be among the first to wish you and your bride-to-be happy nupitals and many years of wedded bliss!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Three of us stayed for 5 days and were all impressed by the staff's competence and friendliness, the crisp efficient way the hotel is run and the comfortable rooms.

Hotel is excellently situated for visits to Busch Gardens and to the Museum of Science and Industry.

The manager, Manual, leads a good team and is worth consulting about good locations for dinner!

Will go back without question if we're in Tampa again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simonog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

We at the Wingate By Wyndham appreciate your comments about our hotel and especially staff and management, as we strive to give a "home-away-from-home" to both business and leisure travelers by ensuring you experience the best that Tampa has to offer. A satisfied customer is our primary goal and we are glad you had a positive stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

I can't rate this hotel highly enough - the rooms were spacious and very clean, breakfast was complimentary and extensive (including waffles!) and, most especially, the service was fantastic. I'd like to particularly thank the General Manager, Manual, who made our stay smooth and enjoyable, and recommended us some fantastic restaurants.

Perfect location for Busch Gardens (1 block away!), the Science & Industry museum and several other attractions.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabrielOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa094, Guest Relations Manager at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2011

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to post your review on the Trip Advisor website. We appreciate that your stay was everything you hoped for and are glad we were able to help in making your stay pleasant. We also hope you enjoyed the many attractions around us and took advantage of our shuttle service. We are motivated to excellence by hearing how we have pleased our guest and made their leisure time exceptionally great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Busch Gardens Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF

Address: 3751 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6489
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#20 Family Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#28 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £77 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa is located directly across the street from University of South Florida and less than a mile away from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. The USF Sun Dome, MOSI Imax/Museum, VA, Shriner's and Moffitt are all within .75 miles. Within 2 miles are shopping, golf, and 40-plus restaurants and the property is only 7.5 miles from downtown Tampa, 11 miles from Ybor City and Channelside entertainment district, 17 miles to airport, and 45 minutes from Clearwater Beach and Ellenton Prime Outlets. Awarded Customer Service honors by Wyndham Worldwide, and Green Lodging Certification by the State of Florida DEP, the Wingate by Wyndham Tampa strives for the highest standards for their leisure and corporate travelers alike. Property Highlights Include- Local Shuttle Service (with our most popular destinations free to our guests)within a three mile radius, complimentary 40-item Hot breakfast, free Hi-Speed wired and wireless internet throughout, complimentary business center, fitness room, and indoor whirlpool open 24 ours, and an outdoor pool open until 10pm. New Lounge, built in July 2009, serves wine and beer on tap nightly. Meeting room facilities on property. Room Highlights - All 86 guestrooms at Wingate by Wyndham Tampa offer complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access, micro fridge units, pillow-top mattresses, one cordless and one 2-Line phone, complimentary weekday newspaper, cable television with HBO, pay-per-view Movies and Nintendo, iron and ironing board, hair dryers, and 17" in-room safes. The January, 2009 property renovation included all new guestroom furniture, 32 inch Flat-Panel Televisions, new microwave/refrigerator units, all new fixtures and granite countertops in guestroom bathrooms, Sealy Posturepedic pillow top mattresses, new bedding and 250-thread-count cotton sheets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa Usf / Busch Gardens Hotel Tampa
Wyndham Tampa
Wingate Tampa
Tampa Wyndham
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa/At USF Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing