We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A not so great choice....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Ranked #51 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A not so great choice....”
Reviewed 8 January 2008

I stayed at this hotel for business and it was not so great. The only reason I chose it was for convenience; however, now I wish that I had shelled out a few more $ for a nicer hotel. Upon arrival the staff was very nice and had my room ready; however, the room did not feel clean. The carpet felt sticky, the bathroom look worn, the room was cramped and it was very humid. There was a humidifier; however, it was old and noisy. The electrical outlets were placed in areas that I almost could not get too without rearanging the room. All in all, this hotel needs a major face lift. I will not stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty, dirty, dirty!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BankTravelingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We have made many upgrades since your stay, and we have a very clean and well maintained hotel. One should never feel like they are staying in a dirty room. Our housekeeping staff is top notch, and I hope you return to stay with us again to see for your self. We are alsoabout to begin our renovation, and when we are done, this will look like a brand new hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    183
    98
    61
    22
See reviews for
138
186
31
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2007

I stayed at this hotel with my mom for a week while she had laser surgery at the Laser Spine Institute right down the street. Erica, the front desk manager, and her staff accomodated our every need. The maids wouldn't even pick up our tips after they discovered why we were there. The rooms were standard fare but were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast afforded in the lobby was great and if I had a problem with the public computer in the lobby, Erica did not hesitate to help me. It's true the pool is small but I had it to myself everytime I wanted to use it. One of the maids told me that guests there had privileges to use the pool at the next door Holiday Inn, but that one wasn't any bigger. There is no onsite dining except for breakfast, but the Bahama Breeze, two doors down is a great restaurant. I used the guest laundry on the second floor which was a great amenity and kept clean. I would stay here again if I needed to go to Tampa.

  • Liked — The helpfulness of the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel.
  • Disliked — I didn't really dislike anything.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank greggrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

The rooms are ok (pretty standard) and they have a very little swimmingpool. I told the manager that the internet was not working and that there was a plumbing issue with the bathroom sink (made a terrible noise every time my neighbors used the bathroom), and suddenly found myself arguing with the manager whether these was a real issue. The internet connection sucked - even when I used their ethernet connection. Plumbing problems that wake you up every time your neighbors use the bathrooms are definitely real, and she just wouldn't agree that these were real issues. Not a whole lot of customer service and friendliness.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BigHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
I am so sorry that anyone would have to have the kind of experience that you did. There is no excuse for management to argue with a guest about what constitutes a problem. Someone from the maintenance department should have been dispatched to your room to investigate. I also apologize for any trouble you had in connecting to our wireless. It is very unusual, and we try to help however we can to get you connected. I do hope you will stay with us in the future so you can see that what you experienced is not reflective of how this hotel runs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

This hotel has been recently remodeled. We booked several rooms for a family wedding. I stopped by the hotel several times ahead of the event. The rooms were very nice and clean. The beds very comfortable. The desk staff and housekeeping were always friendly and helpful. Rocky Point is the best location in Tampa for the water view (Tampa Bay), and also allows a good proximity to both Tampa and Clearwater. We were able to take guests to Clearwater Beach, and still have a reasonable driving distance to the wedding in north Tampa. They have a full, hot breakfast. It is an excellent choice at a resonable price. Ben T Davis beach is right across the road. I highly reccommend it!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank broadcaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2007

Hampton Inns are really inconsistent and we try and stay @ Marriotts, but this Hampton was a nice surprise. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. We stayed @ this hotel one night before a really early flight out of Tampa the next morning and the location was great for that. However, we are staying @ Marriotts whenever possible due to their smoke free environment and all those displaced smokers are migrating to Hiltons!

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank afrequentguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janesville, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2007

I wish we had stayed here during our whole vacation in Tampa-St. Petes. It is modern, up to date and very nicely decorated. Immaculate condition through out. Our rooms furnishings were as nice as any at a much more expensive hotel. The area is very nice. The Bahama Breeze Restaurant is right next door and it is piece of the Carribean, wonderful atmosphere and delicious food. All in all, we were very pleased. If you are going to This area, this Hampton is located right off the Causeway between Tampa and St. Petersburg, within minutes of both airports.

  • Liked — The overall condition and quality of decor.
  • Disliked — Nice pool, but on the small size.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WIAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2005

Bad Hotel. Old beds, slow elevator and bad continental breakfast. Stayed here twice and will not do it again.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank Rzknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Since your stay, the hotel has all new beds and we will be undergoing a complete renovation in the next few months. We no longer have continental breakfast, and now serve eggs, bacon, sauage ond other wonderful hot items. I hope you will come back and stay with us to see all of the great changes that are being made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#109 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#37 of 163 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#75 of 163 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Address: 3035 N Rocky Point Dr E, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing