We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel EVER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Ranked #52 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Somerset, Massachusetts
1 review
“Worst hotel EVER!”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed there on 2/28. Had reservations for a non smoking room with a late arrival, even called 3 times to confirm reservations and offered to pay up front but was told that since I was a Hilton Honors member it was not necessary. When we got there I confirmed a no smoking room and was given the keys. Upon entering the room the smell of smoke hit you in the face. We tried to call the front desk but the phone button to call them was not working. The gentleman at the front desk that night was extremely rude and said there was nothing he could do for us. The smoke smell was so bad that the bed pillow and sheets reeked of smoke as did our clothes. I had an asthma attack due to this. We cancelled our second reservation for our return to Tampa. One elevator was not working so a long wait to get to the lobby. Hilton seriously needs to visit them undercover as this hotel is a disgrace to their name.

Room Tip: Never stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettiL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. I can assure you that the elevator is fixed, we are now a 100% non smoking hotel, and we have a great staff in place. The hotel is under new ownership and management, and a complete renovation is coming shorlly. We want every one of our guests to have a fantasic experience, and I hope you will consider staying with us again to see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    185
    98
    62
    22
See reviews for
140
187
31
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and spotless. Air conditioning, plumbing and lighting worked well. Breakfast was excellent with enough room to sit down. The Bahama Breeze restaurant was within short walking distance and the food was very good and reasonably priced, although it was a bit noisier then we like. The only hotel negative was the dated look, but considering the price this was not a big deal for us. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trapper-jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank You for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Flew in from the UK and needed a hotel for the night. The reviews were good but sadly our start was not good. We phoned the hotel for the shuttle bus but it failed to show. After a further call it arrived some 45 mins late. Once at the hotel, the lone receptionist was dealing with a group of 4.

Some 30 mins later we checked in and the receptionist apologised as they were understaffed and she had forgot to call the shuttle driver.

She advised to speak to the duty manager in the morning to get a 100% refund.

When I did this another member of staff quizzed me and tried to defend what happened and gave me a duty supervisor contact card. Despite e-mailing a week ago, I have had no reply at all.

Breakfast was good though.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
There is no excuse for such poor service, and I can assure you that you will not experience such service should you return. The hotel is under new ownership and management and a complete renovation is not far off. We have a great team in place and hope you will come back and see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We were leaving on a cruise Sunday and stayed here Saturday night. They pick up and deliver you to the cruise terminal and let you leave your car at the hotel lot. I checked a few other hotels and found this was the best for our needs. The staff was friendly, breakfast was good and there is a restaurant next door you can walk to, Bahama Brreeze, which was very good as well. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I spent only two nights at this hotel with my husband and kid in order to visit Bush Gardens and Clearwater aquarium. We choose this hotel due to its location, between the both places we would go and near the airport. The room is a little bit small for 3 people; the bathroom has a good size, but it is outdated. It seems that the whole building needs a update. The breakfast is ok and the staff is very gentle. Overall I think it is overpriced. I´m not sure if I would come back.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and they gave us one. It was at 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaviaHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your input. Our upgades should begin in October if all goes according to plan. We cant wait to see the outcome and hope you return to see it as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbine, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed in this Hampton Inn for one night in late January prior to a cruise. We had no trouble with check in and found the front desk helpful when we asked about food and stores in the area. Our room was upstairs and centered near the fountain in the front. We had no trouble with noise. The room was extremely clean including the carpet. We did not get in the pool but did sit on the side with feet in the very cold water. The pool area was clean even in off-season. The parking lot combined with Bahama Breeze and a Holiday Inn (I think) so was big enough for leaving car for the week during the cruise without worry of crime or accidents. Breakfast was okay. It might not have been to other Hampton Inn quality but was still better than most hotels. Be sure to remind the desk if you will be using the cruise or airport shuttle since you need to reserve your time. We had no trouble getting to the cruise port. Returning from the cruise port to the hotel was a much slower process.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christytra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank You for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa. USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I read reviews here and thought it would be better. I was disappointed to be honest.The check in guy was not real sure of his job, didn't have the answers to some of our pretty simple questions, right from that point I was kind of leary. Room was Ok.Kind of tight. Fire alarm went off twice, went down to desk to inquire if we should be concerned, they said it was just because of lightening, ( Huh? there wasn't any that we saw, but ok guess we'll buy that, they are the front desk and have all the answers, right?) So then we go out, as we are leaving the parking lot we see a fire truck pull in.... never did get to the bottom of that. Beds were ok, breakfast was surprisingly big, lots to choose from. check out was smooth. Overall I was expecting it to be nicer due to the reviews. It was just another hotel..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTMx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 16 December 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for being our guest. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and hope you stay with us in the future when you are traveling in the Tampa Bay area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
721 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#39 of 163 in Tampa
704 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
0.4 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#74 of 163 in Tampa
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Address: 3035 N Rocky Point Dr E, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing