We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Ranked #51 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
New Hartford, Ct
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very comfortable room”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed one night, the night before an early flight home earlier this week. No problems with check-in, the staff was very pleasant. Room very comfortable. We did have a problem with our room keys not working, only to be told by the front desk clerk that if you have it near an electronic device (ie cell phone) it can de-magnetize the card...so once we knew that, we were all set and more careful with where we kept the room key.

Breakfast is advertised as being available at 6 AM, so it was a pleasant surprise to arrive downstairs to leave for the airport at 5:15 to hot coffee and the breakfast set up. Saved us having to get breakfast at the airport, especially when it was included in our room price.

Walked over to Bahama Breeze for dinner, very convenient, good food, fun atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank You for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    180
    96
    60
    21
See reviews for
136
185
31
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at this Hampton while in Tampa for the Yankees Spring Training Games. The hotel is very close to the stadium and the airport. Check in was easy and the front desk people were very helpful.
The breakfast was the usual Hampton fare. And as usual the toaster took forever to toast the bread. I've only been to one Hampton that actually had a toaster that toasted the bread in one try. The pool was very small and was at the rear of the building.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aquaducktres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank You for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed there on 2/28. Had reservations for a non smoking room with a late arrival, even called 3 times to confirm reservations and offered to pay up front but was told that since I was a Hilton Honors member it was not necessary. When we got there I confirmed a no smoking room and was given the keys. Upon entering the room the smell of smoke hit you in the face. We tried to call the front desk but the phone button to call them was not working. The gentleman at the front desk that night was extremely rude and said there was nothing he could do for us. The smoke smell was so bad that the bed pillow and sheets reeked of smoke as did our clothes. I had an asthma attack due to this. We cancelled our second reservation for our return to Tampa. One elevator was not working so a long wait to get to the lobby. Hilton seriously needs to visit them undercover as this hotel is a disgrace to their name.

Room Tip: Never stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
I apologize that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. I can assure you that the elevator is fixed, we are now a 100% non smoking hotel, and we have a great staff in place. The hotel is under new ownership and management, and a complete renovation is coming shorlly. We want every one of our guests to have a fantasic experience, and I hope you will consider staying with us again to see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and spotless. Air conditioning, plumbing and lighting worked well. Breakfast was excellent with enough room to sit down. The Bahama Breeze restaurant was within short walking distance and the food was very good and reasonably priced, although it was a bit noisier then we like. The only hotel negative was the dated look, but considering the price this was not a big deal for us. We would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trapper-jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank You for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Flew in from the UK and needed a hotel for the night. The reviews were good but sadly our start was not good. We phoned the hotel for the shuttle bus but it failed to show. After a further call it arrived some 45 mins late. Once at the hotel, the lone receptionist was dealing with a group of 4.

Some 30 mins later we checked in and the receptionist apologised as they were understaffed and she had forgot to call the shuttle driver.

She advised to speak to the duty manager in the morning to get a 100% refund.

When I did this another member of staff quizzed me and tried to defend what happened and gave me a duty supervisor contact card. Despite e-mailing a week ago, I have had no reply at all.

Breakfast was good though.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
There is no excuse for such poor service, and I can assure you that you will not experience such service should you return. The hotel is under new ownership and management and a complete renovation is not far off. We have a great team in place and hope you will come back and see for yourself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We were leaving on a cruise Sunday and stayed here Saturday night. They pick up and deliver you to the cruise terminal and let you leave your car at the hotel lot. I checked a few other hotels and found this was the best for our needs. The staff was friendly, breakfast was good and there is a restaurant next door you can walk to, Bahama Brreeze, which was very good as well. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I spent only two nights at this hotel with my husband and kid in order to visit Bush Gardens and Clearwater aquarium. We choose this hotel due to its location, between the both places we would go and near the airport. The room is a little bit small for 3 people; the bathroom has a good size, but it is outdated. It seems that the whole building needs a update. The breakfast is ok and the staff is very gentle. Overall I think it is overpriced. I´m not sure if I would come back.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and they gave us one. It was at 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaviaHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for your input. Our upgades should begin in October if all goes according to plan. We cant wait to see the outcome and hope you return to see it as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#109 of 162 in Tampa
701 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#37 of 162 in Tampa
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#71 of 162 in Tampa
1,430 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Address: 3035 North Rocky Point Drive E., Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing