We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$224
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$166
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$229
US$196
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$159
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sailport Waterfront Suites(Tampa)
US$179
US$156
SailportSuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveller rating
218
209
103
63
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
209
103
63
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbahama breezecruise portparking lotpre cruiseroom was cleanclearwater beachfront desk staffwithin walking distancefree breakfastrental carwould stay here againshuttle servicenext morningfitness centereasy accessnice stayyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
467 - 472 of 617 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Hotel offers no-charge/courtesy pick up at Tampa airport - main reason we booked. NO signage on van other than unreadable paper hotel name on windshield. We were told we should have looked harder for signage.

Also, had stayed here in the past - they provided van service to local shopping center (again, another reason we booked at this hotel). No longer is this service provided

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

We know that friendly service and convenient accommodations are very important to our guests. It's disheartening to hear this was not your experience. Your feedback lets us know we can have better signage visibility and that we need to reexamine our transportation services. I've also addressed the poor service experience you encountered when sharing your concerns. This is not typical nor acceptable and I sincerely apologize. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will come back to see us again.

Kind regards,
Dennis B. Fortier
dennis.fortier@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

This is a copy of the feedback survey we filled out through the Hampton Inn/Hilton website (formatting may not work)....
Parking: After 10:00, only one spot left for us to park, and it was a tight fit. Others were sent to the Holiday Inn for parking.
Check-in: No fridge/micro as requested. Offered delivery that day or next day, "if available", per "Tina"(Augustina). Was delivered, eventually. Expected some priority service for room preference, being a Hilton Honors Silver member. Tina became somewhat argumentative and gave us the impression that were were unreasonablly demanding when we made a request for a fridge/micro room. Missing lightbulb between beds. Phone cord was tied and knotted around the base of the phone, apparently not observed by maid service to prepare the room for new guests. Hotel does not provide hair conditioner and we had to get it from the front desk when we needed some during our 6 night stay. Later during our stay, could not use phone to make an outside call. Needed maintenance. Asked the maid to attend to the room while we went to the guest laundry to do wash. Was gone about an hour and when we came back, room was still not done. Had to find a maid to take care of it while we waited in the lobby.
We were pleased with the helpfulness of Shawn, Ernst, and Stephanie (front desk), maintenance (who had to come to our room about a half dozen times). We were EXTREMELY disatisfied with the employee "Tina" (Augistina) at the front desk. During the many problems with check-in and maintenance problems, she was rude and curt with us. In one case, we were promised maintenance help and they didn't show. When we called the front desk again about 30 minutes later, Tina said there was a problem on the roof and they would respond when they were finished. When maintenance did show, we asked about the problem on the roof, but the employee said he wasn't aware of any problem on the roof. When the employee left, my husband turned to me and said, "I think we've been played". Also, we experienced hang-ups when we tried to call the front desk for maintenance help. When I went to the front desk to find out what was going on, Tina said she was having problems with the phone. Another employee told us later in our stay that the hotel had received complaints about her.

We are Choice Hotels premium members and, after a few great Hampton experiences, decided to switch to Hampton's. We gave them great reviews on Traveladvisor. (Hampton Tampa - eastside, Pendleton, Oregon - Seattle, Washington). After this experience, we may go back to the Choice Hotels. With the maintenance issues and in particular, the attitude of one employee in this hotel, we are not the loyal customers we hoped to be.

Room Tip: If it's not too far for you, the Tampa Eastside Hampton was GREAT when we stayed there about 2 years ago. We'll never stay at the Rocky Point Hampton again.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonMaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

At our hotel, we want each guest to expect friendly customer service and clean, comfortable surroundings, each and every time. I apologize that this was not your experience and can assure you we're taking your feedback very seriously. I've reviewed your comments with our staff on service missteps and areas of opportunity so we can improve our training processes and procedures. I've personally thanked Shawn, Ernst, and Stephanie for their commitment to hospitality and true representation of our friendly staff. Please feel free to contact me if you have any other comments or concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed for one night prior to an early morning flight. The hotel is close to the airport, check in was easy, room was clean and quiet. The pool was small and cold, but in a sheltered area so you could enjoy the sun. Shuttle runs on the hour starting at 5 am, breakfast also started at 5, night front desk staff was most helpful. The hotel looked a bit tired and dated and could use some upgrades and paint, but is clean and the price and location are a good deal.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CF1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

While you're our guest, we expect you to be greeted with friendly service and surrounded by comfort. I apologize that this was not your experience and we're sharing your feedback with our staff so we can address these issues with our housekeeping, maintenance and front office teams. We hope that you'll give us a second chance for a much better stay. Please feel free to contact me if you have any additional comments.

Dennis Fortier
dennis.fortier@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The Hampton Inn Rocky Point in Tampa is consistent with our experience with other stays at other Hampton Inns. The room was comfortable and clean. The hotel hallways and lobby shows some signs of needing upgrades. The location was convenient to the airport as advertised but a little difficult to locate when you get in the general area of the hotel. Also the pictures posted on Tripadvisor and the Hampton Inn site would make you believe that you are on Tampa Bay. Not quite. You can see the bay which is on the other side of a major 4 to 6 lane highway. The best part of the location was its proximity (a short walk across the parking lot) to the Bahama Breeze restaurant. (See review here on Tripadvisor)

Room Tip: Not all of their rooms have refrigerators.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bayoumanMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank You for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed one night, the night before an early flight home earlier this week. No problems with check-in, the staff was very pleasant. Room very comfortable. We did have a problem with our room keys not working, only to be told by the front desk clerk that if you have it near an electronic device (ie cell phone) it can de-magnetize the card...so once we knew that, we were all set and more careful with where we kept the room key.

Breakfast is advertised as being available at 6 AM, so it was a pleasant surprise to arrive downstairs to leave for the airport at 5:15 to hot coffee and the breakfast set up. Saved us having to get breakfast at the airport, especially when it was included in our room price.

Walked over to Bahama Breeze for dinner, very convenient, good food, fun atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank You for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews