We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unprofessional - Ignorant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Ranked #51 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Northeast
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unprofessional - Ignorant”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I'm the type of person that doesn't have unreasonable expectations for a hotel -- a place to lay my head for the night. The fancy things are nice to have but aren't a requirement. However, the front desk clerk at this hotel didn't understand when Expedia requested that we be allowed to keep our car in the parking lot during the cruise. The request was on the reservation we presented to the front desk, but the manager insisted we pay $80 extra. We were already in Tampa, and my traveling companion didn't want to look for another hotel. So, we paid the extra $80 to the hotel. Expedia took responsibility for the hotel employee's error and agreed to reimburse us the $80. The breakfast buffet was food and the swimming pool was wet. But, I don't understand why a hotel who lives and dies by customer service could be so ignorant and unprofessional.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBugNortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
We pride ourselves in warm friendly service and I apologize for initial miscomunication that took place with our front office manager. We're working with our third-party services and staff to ensure offerings are clear and that we're doing all we can to accommodate our guests. Thank you for sharing your comments with us so we can ensure such issues do not continue in the future. We hope that you'll give us another chance to show you the Hamptonality we typically exude.

Kind regards,
Dennis B. Fortier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    186
    100
    63
    22
See reviews for
142
189
32
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We were booked for the 6:00 a.m. shuttle to Tampa Airport, precisely when the complimentary breakfast was to commence. The excellent staff, however, had everything ready 20 minutes early, such that we were able to eat a good breakfast before jumping on the shuttle (which left right on time, note). I would highly recommend this hotel if anyone is needful of lodging near Tampa International.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvryaletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Satellite Beach,Fl
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Over from the east coast for an event , This Hampton was very nice as most are, sold out but the staff handled it very well. Will stay here again. Hotel very clean, even with the crowd, close to Raymond James.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMTSatelliteBeach_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Here are the pros and cons of our stay. I would actually rate this hotel at 3 1/2 out of 5.
Pros: Price point, location to airport, comfortable beds, outside pool, breakfast included. To elaborate a bit more, compare prices and see what you get. There is good value here. Close to the airport, we could see the planes arriving and departing in the distance through our window, but we didn't hear any planes and did not bother us sleeping. Breakfast had a variety of choices. Cold cereals, oranges, apples, pears, bananas, fruit salad, yogurt, waffle maker, scrambled eggs, ham/bacon, and of course your hot drinks as well as milk, apple, and orange juice.

Cons: One of the elevators was broken the week we were there. Wouldn't have mentioned it except after it was supposed to be fixed, my wife tried it only to have the door remain half open as it went up to the 4th. We took the stairs the remainder of our stay. Pool was small. One entrance to the pool area had yellow caution tape which was never fixed during our 8 day stay. Our entrance cards lost their charge, which we had to get recharged at the front desk.

There you have it- pros and cons of what to expect. I would stay there again due to the value in what we did receive, rather than focusing on the few negatives.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Itching2Travel_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We arrived late at night and were pleased to find that the hotel pays for the hotel from the airport. Although the taxi driver was less than pleased. No problems. We only stayed a few hours so it is difficult to provide a thorough evaluation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Boston, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hampton Inn Rocky Point for one night prior to a cruise. They provided a shuttle from the airport to the hotel for free (although we left a tip) and to the cruise dock for $10/each. They do have some sort of cruise package which we did not use.

The hotel was reasonably clean and the room was spacious. The beds are comfortable and there was no ambient noise at night. The A/C worked well. The bathroom was about an 80% as there was the typical buildup of grime in a corner, although minor and a caulk job that was not done by a professional, also minor. Still, the bathroom was clean otherwise and we had no qualms about using it. Our view faced the road as opposed to the bay (the hotel is on a peninsula of sorts) but that was fine as we weren't there for any duration.

They have a continental breakfast which is pretty good with very good coffee. In fact, they have a “coffee bar” going 24 hours a day, so if you had a craving for coffee at 3AM, this would be the place for you!

The people behind the desk were all very friendly and did whatever they could do to help. The shuttle they have subcontracted was also good. There is a restaurant almost next door that specializes in Jamaican food. It was very loud and we did not like it.

So, although this is not a fancy hotel one would write home about, it was convenient, clean and comfortable and that was all I expected. As a stopover place prior to a cruise, it worked out perfectly. One note: although I grew up with Boston driving, the ride to the airport was through a densely populated city and even a GPS would have been difficult to follow. Hire a shuttle or get a cab.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Recon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Hotel offers no-charge/courtesy pick up at Tampa airport - main reason we booked. NO signage on van other than unreadable paper hotel name on windshield. We were told we should have looked harder for signage.

Also, had stayed here in the past - they provided van service to local shopping center (again, another reason we booked at this hotel). No longer is this service provided

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
We know that friendly service and convenient accommodations are very important to our guests. It's disheartening to hear this was not your experience. Your feedback lets us know we can have better signage visibility and that we need to reexamine our transportation services. I've also addressed the poor service experience you encountered when sharing your concerns. This is not typical nor acceptable and I sincerely apologize. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will come back to see us again.

Kind regards,
Dennis B. Fortier
dennis.fortier@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
733 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#40 of 163 in Tampa
711 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa Airport Avion Park Westshore
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Address: 3035 N Rocky Point Dr E, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing