We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay, good value in Tampa area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Ranked #48 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay, good value in Tampa area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were a bit skeptical after reading some reviews, but we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The hotel was clean and staff we encountered were friendly. Free wifi worked fine, breakfast was ok, very convenient to the airport. There's a Bahama Breeze restaurant next door. We also found out there's a little convenience store at the end of the road, but there isn't much else close by. My only complaint would be that the pool is very small. We would stay here again if we visit the Tampa area.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    176
    96
    59
    21
See reviews for
133
183
30
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

From the pickup at the airport to checkout, the employees at the Hampton are exceptionally friendly and go out of the way to assist you. The hotel is well maintained and the room we were given was spotless. However, too many comfort aspects are missing. The shower is the worst we have ever encountered; from the unmarked multiple control knobs, to the downhill shower curtain and the overall lack of water flow. The pillows provided had practically no filling and were very uncomfortable. The pool area was not maintained and had no umbrellas to block the Florida sun. The exercise room was very small with one thread mill.

Located on Tampa Bay, and walking distance to two excellent restaurants, the hotel could be a real find, but it needs improvement.

Room Tip: try to get a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhasko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for the positive review, it is very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you're going to the Tampa airport, the location of this hotel can't be beat. We left the hotel at 8:00 a.m. and made it to the airport in no time. The front desk was very helpful (wish I could remember his name!) He told us how to walk to the nearby Bahama Breeze restaurant, and even how to get to the walking path leading to where dolphins had been seen the night before. Unfortunately the room had a musty odor, and the carpets in the hallways and rooms needs updating. They were doing some work in the lobby area so they probably have a refurb plan in the works. But the room and bedding were clean as always (love to stay at Hamptons because of the clean bedding!). Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c21698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
I'm happy to announce we have started a renovation in our public areas and rooms will follow after. Full renovation and I invite you back to see the finish product.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Had the chance to stay here last night...

Check in was a breeze, Greg was very helpful with getting me all the directions I needed and had a room on 5th floor..

Room was a average...beds are always comfortable, however the door to room was a type of door you would see at a Motel 6..it also seemed on my floor that every other door had a different color then the room door next to it.

Again a little peculiar but hey didn't affect me.

The AC unit didn't work that well had set to 65 and on high fan setting and it still felt warm in room and fan never really worked on high setting.

Took shower and there was barely any water pressure, called front desk and was told there had been a problem a day before and must not of been back to normal..and there was no mention at check-in of there being any water pressure problems...

She told me I wasn't the only one to call regarding the water..

Went down to breakfast and with all the staff that passed me not one said good morning to me or anyone else in the breakfast area..

Oh yeah very tight parking and when I got back from dinner I had to park my car at another hotels parking lot as there wasn't any space at my hotel..

The rate for one night was also pretty high then what I normally pay at Hampton properties..$159 per night plus tax..

Not sure I will return again...

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank caneshockey31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We appreciate your feed back, we have already started renovations and the finished product will be absolutely beautiful with a full renovation to include public areas, guest rooms and exterior. I hope you will be back to see the new and approved Hampton Inn Rocky Point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Typical Hampton inn experience which is a comfortable, good value night. That is except the shower. No pressure no volume. Maybe it was related to a broken pipe they had day before. Breakfast was so so. Rubber eggs and no meat. Location very nice. Walk to a few places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBobcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We are aware during your stay we had a pipe burst and were having water pressure problems, the problem has been resolved and hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, NH
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I travel all over and have been to a lot of hotels in FL. This Hampton is a pit. It is very outdated (1970's furnishings) and way overpriced. I will say the staff is very good but that does not make up for this low, low value hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your feed back and wanted to inform you that we are currently undergoing a full renovation of the hotel, the renovation include guest rooms, public areas and exterior. We are very excited about the changes and hope that you will come back to see the finished product and give us another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed overnight while visiting my parents who are snowbirds. Just me and my 3 kids. Beds are SUPER comfortable- great mattress, perfect pillows and the bedspread is light (perfect for Florida). Bathroom was clean and the room was quiet. It was a great choice for our one night stay. Soda is a very reasonable $1. The free breakfast was about what you'd expect- good options and plenty available. Only complaint was (as most mid-priced hotels) bathrooms could use a deep cleaning once in a while (a little dusty around the mirror, grout a bit discolored) also shower knob was difficult to work. Great location close to large mall and Tampa attractions. Pool was a bit small but didn't get a chance to go in anyway due to family commitments.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shorlando34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel L, General Manager at Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Very pleased you were comfortable during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.1 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#109 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#32 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa International Airport / Westshore
0.4 mi away
Bay Harbor Hotel
Bay Harbor Hotel
#72 of 162 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
Address: 3035 North Rocky Point Drive E., Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing