We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find another hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Find another hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here 3 nights, we prepaid through Busch Gardens website and were VERY disappointed. The hotel is very dark inside, needs major updating, and has a sign on the inside of the door that says don't open this door for strangers. It has a free breakfast which is nice, but one day we were a little coming down stairs for it and they were taking away items while we were trying to fill our plates. I have stayed at several Hampton Inns and this is probably the worst one.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mom2twokids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry for your experience; we are working on improving our entire hotel. We have addressed our staff in regards to the breakfast situation, and again we apologize for the inconveniences. We appreciate the feedback you have provided and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    257
    81
    34
    24
See reviews for
546
226
40
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tampa, fl
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I stayed here with 5 other people because we had a class for 3 days and it's always a great experience. The whole staff always make sure that we have everything we need not only in our rooms but also during our meetings. The ladies at the breakfast & dinner time are always very friendly even @ 6am. I work for a restaurant and customer service is very important and they definitely take customer service to the extreme. This hotel is our go to place for every meeting not only because it's the most centralized, but also because we know that they will deliver excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
157 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed in a two room suite while visiting Busch Gardens. The room was very clean and well maintained (showing a little wear but not too bad). The Hotel is located in a nice wooded area, close to the park. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotalDisneyFreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grovetown Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed here for several nights while we visited relatives in the area. Hotel is located close to I-75 on a quiet street. Parking is plentiful, and many stores and restaurants are a short drive away. We did not try the breakfast because it seemed crowded and busy, so we chose a nearby restaurant instead. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly. The bathroom fan was annoying because it was loud and came on every time the light was turned on. The wall unit a/c did not keep the room consistently cool during the night. Other than those two problems, our stay here was pleasant.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank cwpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I am a loyal HHonors Silver member just a stay or two shy of going Gold and pulled in at this Hampton after deciding to add an impromptu trip to Busch Gardens onto my stay in the area. The location is in a business park and within 5 miles of Busch Gardens and appeared clean and maintained. I was able to get a room right away and spent just enough time in the third floor room to give it the once over and drop my bags before heading back out for a day at Busch Gardens. Upon return however, everything took a nose dive. Within 5 minutes of settling in for the night, I discovered a lizard in the bathroom floor that ran out into the room and under the main room door and out into the hotel hallway. Acknowledging that I had observed several of these lizards on sidewalks throughout the city, I dismissed it since it had atleast fled my particular room. Now though, no sooner as I sat down on my bed, a spider was crawling across the bedspread. Though it was probably hilarious to hear me scream while whacking it to death with the tv remote, it was a big problem. I called the front desk and was told by the clerk that he couldn't offer a refund but would switch my room. I agreed, initially. However, in the 2 minutes it took me to hang up the phone, grab my purse and one suitcase and direct my teen to follow me back to the lobby, a third creepy crawly presented itself in the room. It was a red and black hard shelled something, possibly of the beetle variety, but mostly it was a deal breaker. When I got to the front desk, the clerk had my keys ready for a new room but I told him we were just checking out instead. He offered a 50% refund at this point even though there is a sign affixed to the counter plainly stating "If you aren't 100% satisfied, we don't expect you to pay." I obviously wan't satisfied and had only spent 20 minutes tops in the room total. I'm not confrontational at all though and took the 50% refund figuring I would just call the general manager the next day who would gladly refund the rest to my credit card or apply an equivalent amount of points to my HHonors account. I did make that call but I was sent to the gm's voicemail and she has yet to call me back. Go figure. I'm not burned on the Hilton brand overall but I will say this isn't my first issue with the Hampton line and I don't intend to honor brand loyalty anymore if a Hampton is the only Hilton brand option in an area I am needing to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3DStiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My son & I stayed @the Hampton for 2nights mid July. I will say there isn't much as far as entertainment or restaurants in the area, but we just had flown into Tampa and were heading to Busch Gardens for the day before heading to Sarasota for rest of our trip. The hotel does provid shuttle Busch...(driver was super nice/down to earth **Hope your band lands a gig in the Chicago or MKE area!) so that was a plus..but as said not much dining options in area so we had a private car service take us to StoneWood Grill. It was well worth the $75 (plus tip) roundtrip ride! Mark McQueen you're the BEST!!!
The hotel is nothing fancy (we saved THAT for rest of our trip in Sarasota...that review to follow) But beds are comfy and room clean and comfortable...which is really all we cared about for 2nights. I did notice a 'funky' smell in room/hotel but that was probably just humidity which living in midwest I'm not use to. Another plus everyone at hotel was rather nice.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JeanaAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Thanks so much for staying with us during your visit to Tampa.

Our staff tries to bring personal attention into every guest interaction, and we are very pleased that you received that attention at the front desk and shuttle team.

Thanks again for the kind words and we really hope to see you the next time you are in Tampa!

Sincerely,

Heather Fogle, General Manager, Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa-North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We arrived to the hotel after 10pm on a Sunday night. The hotel parking area was dark and rather scary. Room was warm when we arrived. The bed was awful to say the least. It was lumpy and had a huge dent in the center of it. Also, the duvet cover and top sheets were clean, but the bottom sheets on both beds looked dirty. Breakfast was good in the morning. The pool needed to be cleaned as well, but the temperature was great! There are no towels out by the pool and you have to go through the dining room to get to the pool. (That means walking around the conference room and through the lobby in a swimsuit!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SheilaDBlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites New Tampa I-75 Bruce B. Downs
12.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Airport Westshore
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Suites at Fairgrounds - Casino
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North
Address: 8210 Hidden River Pkwy, Tampa, FL 33637-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#5 Family Hotel in Tampa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#8 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get in touch with nature and get to know the rich cultural heritage of Tampa, the heart and pulse of the Tampa Bay area including St. Petersburg and Clearwater. The Hampton Inn & Suites® hotel in Tampa-North offers a free local shuttle service to area attractions and corporate businesses in and around the area. Our award-winning hotel provides excellent service and accommodations; we are located just off I-75 in a quiet, natural preserve business district called Hidden River Corporate Park.Step out your door and prepare for adventure, because our hotel in Tampa is only about a mile from the Wilderness Park reserve, and less than five minutes from Busch Gardens and Adventure Island. Find more family activities in the nearby Channelside District, an entertainment-dining multiplex just east of downtown that is home to the Florida Aquarium, a glass-domed marine wonderland. Our hotel in Tampa also makes it easy to delve into history at Tampa Bay History Center; get a taste of the local Cuban culture in Ybor City; and enjoy the nightlife in the SoHo district. Stop by the front desk, and our Tampa hotel team will offer insightful tips on the area's attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Tampa - North
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Hotel Tampa
Hampton Inn Tampa
Tampa Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa - North Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing