We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel from Hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf
Ranked #86 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel from Hell”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We decided to take an impromptu trip to Busch Gardens Tampa and found this hotel on the choice hotels website. It seemed pretty and the price was reasonable $89.99 per night. We arrived around 1:00 am to find out that the front desk computer system was down and they had to manually find us the two rooms we had booked online. After 30 minutes or so we got the first room, as we head up the stairs to the second floor the stair way and second floor hallways had a very strong WEED smell, it seems some of the other guest were partying it up for the entire hotel. Upon arriving at our room we found out that our $89.99 room was ubber small, the beds were dusty, and the desk was dusty it seems that this room had not been cleaned properly. Not only that, but when my husband lifted the toilet seat to use it, the bowl was dirty and covered in pee, yes; you read it right pee. It was disgusting to say the least. After I cleaned myself the toilet bowl, and change to go to bed, we thought the worst had passed. Boy was I wrong… around 5:00 am the hotel electricity went out. How can a Hotel in 2012 not have a generator is beyond me but we were sweating our little selves until 6:30 when the electricity finally came on. By 7 am I was defeated going back to bed was not going to happen so I got up, took a shower and head downstairs to check the breakfast and it was to my horror that I found kids running all over picking everything with their bare hands. It was the worst experience I have ever had with a hotel. My best advice, spend a few dollars more and stay at the Hard Rock Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    47
    23
    9
    17
See reviews for
48
26
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
36330
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I was unsure at first due to the reviews but glad i stop through. The hotel is very well kept and clean. The service there is outstanding nicole the manager was really helpful and polite. I must say i enjoy the showers beats the dingy old bathtubs. The room was very clean, i agree with the previous comment the tv's could use some updates however the breakfast was outstanding, always a favorite biscuits and gravy. For the price you just can't beat it. Next time i'm in this area i will stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aleandro m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed at the Sleep Inn on Morris Bridge Rd. inTampa. My first suggestion? Change the name to "Stay Awake"! There is absolutely nothing to see or do in this hotel, however, it seems all night long people were in and out of their rooms and the doors SLAMMED shut each and every time. The first night was miserable, we could not sleep. The room next to us had their TV blaring all night long.
We went to CVS and got earplugs. We also left the bathroom fan on all night to keep a monotone sound going to drown out noises. This really helped alot, but if my ear plug came out during the night I had to put it right back in.
There is one young gal who was at the desk each morning, she was friendly. The other staff, not so much. The room was clean, no problems there. The included breakfast was fine, perfect for us, because we are not big eaters.

I wish I could recommend this hotel, but the purpose of staying at a hotel is to sleep, and that was a really hard thing to do here. Not to mention, there was work being done quite early in the morning, very loud hammering and a circular saw were being used in the hallway right outside our room. No sleeping "in" here...

In addition, the hair dryer did not work, the TV was a very old style and the reception was terrible due to a broken cable on the back that had been spliced and rigged and was barely hanging on.

Room Tip: Next time we come to this area, we are going to try a room at the Wingate by Wyndham. That's th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StormiesMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Cheap hotels are always a gamble so this one turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. The room was small and basic but very clean and well-maintained. I can't say I'd recommend it for someone spending a lot of time in the area (small and basic gets tiresome after a while) but for a couple of nights, this place can't be beat. The location directly off the highway couldn't be more convenient and being only ten minutes from Busch Gardens makes it an excellent alternative to the countless hotels that share space with pawn shops and thrift stores directly to the south of the park on Busch Boulevard. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildwoodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2011

This hotel was really nice. I can't beleive the service i received from the staff. They were amazing. Front desk all the way down to housekeeping was great. They make you feel like family instead of a guest. The rooms here are well kept and the beds extremely comfortable. We came down late for breakfast and they kept it open a little later for us to be able to eat. Breakfast was also great...enjoyed the make your own waffles. I will definitley stay here again when in Tampa

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2011

I stay here every time im in Tampa and i will contine to stay here. The place is always clean, the breakfast is better that the normal for a Sleep Inn. Included biscuits and gray and my fav the waffles. The staff here is amazing they treat you as family and i wouldn't stay at any other locations. Thanks you guys.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kavario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I cannot believe all the positive reviews here. The hallways are too noisy. The doors are the worst feature. There is a lot of light at the bottom and at the door jam. Not only does this provide no dampening effect on the door, you can hear conversations and laughter in the rooms across the hal. While I am writing this, cigarette smoke is seeping into my dome-free room. I had two consecutive nights of three hors of sleep and I am sick. I am trying desperately to find quiet furnished corporate housing.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tampa
0.9 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
4.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tampa North/I-75 Fletcher
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tampa North
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Tampa - North - USF - Attractions
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tampa North - Telecom Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf

Property: Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf
Address: 12282 Morris Bridge Rd, Tampa, FL 33637-1024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/usf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Near Busch Gardens/Usf Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing