We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tale of Two Hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Ranked #26 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I was pretty hard on this property in my last review and rightfully so. I was promised they would make it right for this year and they certainly have put forth an effort. It's probably best that I give you a pros and cons list.

Pros:
Neema gave me a wonderful rate to return and extended it to the others that traveled with us last year. The property is generally maintained and the desk staff is quite friendly. The pool area will remind you of a tropical oasis. The 2-room suites are the best way to travel! The extra space plus the extra bathroom are something you get nowhere else in this price range. I've never used it but apparently the stay, park, and cruise package is a great deal.

Cons:
Because they gave me a discounted rate they wouldn't qualify my stay for reward points. This is just management being cheap and frankly it's disrespectful to an unhappy guest. My red carpet stains have been traded for black stains and the furniture is worn and downright uncomfortable. Shuttles are still available for you to travel around, but don't run late and cost as much as a cab. Breakfast, while available is sub-standard to the brand. The hot food is limited to biscuits and gravy and waffles along with over-ripe fruit, yogurt, stale bread items, and cereal. Building 2 is right on top of the freeway and there is noise all night long.

In conclusion, I have to wholeheartedly disagree with folks giving this property 5 stars. They've either never stayed at a 5 star property or are simply comparing it to others in the Choice Hotels lineup. Frankly if that were the case, I'd give it 4 instead of 3. You have choices in lodging. If this property offers an exceptional rate it won't disappoint you. If however the rates are comparable with nicer properties in the area, I'd look there first.

Room Tip: The main building with the lobby doesn't have freeway noise.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHRMC_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We want to first thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are very happy that you gave us a second chance and found our staff to be very friendly. While we see you found good value in your stay we are disappointed to see we couldn't give you the memorable stay we try to deliver to all of our guests. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Ummm...we were slightly suspicious when we first pulled up! The area looked a bit sketchy and we approached the desk with some trepidation! But, this place is a great example of why it's a bad idea to rush to judgement!

The staff was super amazing; they hooked our family up with a two room suite which had a pull out sofa and two bathrooms. The folks at the front desk were all so friendly and helpful. All very clean and in great shape! The pool area is surprisingly LOVELY. With beautiful landscaping and lighting, you can truly forget that you are located right below the highway. By the way - that was another great feature; it made it super easy to get to, and yet there was NO highway noise in the rooms. The complimentary breakfast isn't all that exciting (steer clear of the hard boiled eggs!) - but for what we paid for the room(s) and a week's worth of cruise parking - it was AWESOME!!

The shuttle drivers were great!!! On-time in BOTH directions and the vans were in nice shape.

We would DEFINITELY stay here again and recommend it to anyone who is heading off to a cruise from the Tampa port!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amdroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHRMC_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your stay with us and are very excited about your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Me and my husband spent in this hotel 3 nights in December. Room is spacious and very well equipped. Towels are changed every day. Breakfast is quite good, can keep you full for the morning. Swimming pool area is very nice and clean. Hotel is located not far from Ybor City (around $8 for a taxi). It is very good hotel which is not expensive. I can totally recommend it for stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agusia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHRMC_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so thrilled to see your time with us during the Holiday season. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back with us the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

From the time I called to book our park and cruise to the time we picked up our car after our cruise, the care we were given by Neema and the staff was exceptional. We were treated like family and Neema saw that we had everything we needed to make our stay at the hotel and our port transfers perfect. I was pleasantly surprised to not only have very reasonable rates but to also have the round trip transfers to the Port of Tampa and parking included in the price of one night's stay. The rooms were very clean and spacious. For the price, I didn't expect a full hot breakfast but we were pleasantly surprised at what they had (including make your own waffles, fresh fruit, yogurt........). It was a perfect variety of foods to start the day. The hotel is right by I-4 so you do hear a little road sound, but it didn't cause us a problem. We will definately stay at this hotel next time we are in Tampa. You won't find a better place for the price. Thanks Neema. You are an asset to the Quality Inn family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bill Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHRMC_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our amazing staff was able to make your stay a memorable one. Thank you again and we are looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We used the park and cruise package at the Quality Inn & Suites near fairground in Tampa. The room was spacious and clean, the staff was very friendly and the price was very reasonable as it included parking. I would recommend this property and would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Mutumbojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHRMC_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear you found great value in your stay and that our great staff was able to make it a comfortable one. We are looking forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The hotel is very nice it would be great to have more of a variety for breakfast. The service was great. From the front desk to housekeeping was very good. Like I said before about breakfast some eggs and sausage would be nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHRMC_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Deborah,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to see our amazing staff helped make your stay an amazing one! Thank you again and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times , this time we were sailing out of Tampa for a five day cruise so instead of driving and parking at the port, we decided to stay at the hotel a night before and took their stay park and cruise packages.. Let me tell you, not only they have a great staff but the transfer to and port was on time and without any problems.. They had enough parking and security for us to leave our car .. The room was clean as usual and breakfast was even better than last time we stayed here ,
the only thing they change was the breakfast hours which I was ok with ,but I liked the late hours which gave us extra time to sleep before , now we had to wake half an hour to make it to breakfast.. I was told they had to change the timings becz of corporate clients going to work early soo they change their hours from6.00 am to 9.00 am instead of 6.30 to 9.30 am .

I definitely would like to recommend this hotel if you are planning to cruise out of Tampa and yes the price for their packages were reasonable too!!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Prince8220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHRMC_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to see your enjoyed your recent and past stays. We are very much looking forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City

Address: 4955 E 18th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-2407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
#32 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range: £56 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Tampa hotel near Ford Amphitheatre at Florida State Fairgrounds. Conveniently located in the heart of Tampa's business district, the brand new Quality Inn & Suites is minutes away from the Seminole Hard Rock Casino, Ford Amphitheatre at Florida State Fairgrounds and the Port of Tampa. This Tampa, FL hotel is also close to popular attractions and venues like Ybor City, St. Pete Times Forum, the Tampa Convention Center, Raymond James Stadium and Busch Gardens theme park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City Hotel Tampa
Quality Inn And Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Quality Inn Tampa
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing