We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Ranked #24 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Daytona, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Was pleasantly suprised at this hotel It is definately a great value. The property is clean and the staff very friendly. Lori was keeping the breakfast area clean and well stocked the entire time that we were there. Front desk staff was also very friendly.

We had one of the two room suites. It was nice to have a seperate area for company. The two bathrooms also make it good, not having to wait for a shower. Bathrooms have marbel vanities and shower enclosures. Only comment is that the water pressure in sink is very low. Shower pressure is fine though.

We will definately be back when we come back for Gasparilla, or even a visit to Busch Gardens Tampa which is not all that far.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaytonaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

866 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    280
    86
    28
    30
See reviews for
239
318
47
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

This hotel was clean, smelled good, spacious, and well appointed. The linens were new and the flat panel tv was a nice touch. We missed the continental breakfast but it smelled delicious. I got lost using mapquest (I highly reccommend using your GPS instead) and got an unwated tour of the neighborhood. The other hotels in the area don't even come close to the "quality" of the Quality Inn. Don't let the location or the neighborhood fool you. The security of the building was great too. If staying in this area, and you need low-cost accomodations without sacrificing safety and comfort, then I highly reccommend the Quality Inn.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TS_Laughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Why can't all motels be run this well? It helps that this is a brand new facility, but I was most impressed with the price/value relationship. I just needed basic accommodations at a good price, and that is what I got. Room was clean, well-appointed, and large enough for my needs. Check-in was smooth. This is the what no-frills lodging should be.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sockrdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We booked the park and cruise package. Stayed Saturday night and was able to leave car parked in their lot for 7 days. Taxi to and from pier was included in rate. Well worth it. Then stayed the sunday night and attended Jingle Ball at Times Forum. Concert was only a 7 minute drive or so (same as to pier). convenient location, great service, breakfast was really good. Rooms were a large size and quite comfortable for our family of 4. Wireless internet worked great. Laundry facilities are new and clean. Music around pool was nice touch. DEFINITELY staying there again next time in Tampa.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakeboardfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteno, IL
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I am originally from Tampa and remember when this hotel became a run down Holiday Inn and then became the Milner Hotel which was a spot for drug deals. But I will say the Quality Inn did some very nice renovations. You would never known its past. It is very difficult to get to. I would suggest calling and asking directions first. The road patterns have changed recently so even a GPS can get confused. The area is very rough, but the way the hotel is situated you really do not know how bad it is. The rooms still have a new feel. The beds were comfortable. It was amazing how scarred up some of the walls were already with it being so new. It does seem to be a spot for many of the constructions workers/truck drivers and they were hanging out in the lobby area often.
The days I was there they had no wireless in the rooms, the elevators did not work and the fire alarms were covered and told you to call 911. I was told they were hit by lightning. They had people there working but they seemed to be having a problem getting it fixed. The pool area is new and probably the biggest disappointment. You felt you were surrounded by weeds ( they weren't just poor choice of landscaping ), but the pool was not clean at all. I got in and did not stay long. I was going to stay longer, but the front desk staff was pleasant and understanding when I told them I was leaving. I ended up getting the Wyndam Westshore on Priceline for the same price. If you are looking for a clean hotel to sleep in near the Fairgrounds or Ybor this is definitely not a bad place at this time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights (Fri & Sat). We did have a bit of trouble getting to the hotel once we got off I-4. The hotel is visible from the road, but we could not figure out how to get there. My directions were wrong and we did drive in a circle once or twice before we finally figured out the best way to get to the parking lot. I would recommend turning onto 583, make a left onto Melbourne Blvd, and then make the first left in front of the Days Inn.

While the hotel itself is obviously still brand new and in wonderful, clean condition, it does seem to be in a questionable part of town. We never had any problems or felt unsafe while on property though. The front desk staff was friendly and answered our questions about parking in Ybor City and how to get to different places. Our room was spotless and the bed was comfortable. The air conditioner is quite loud, but it didn't bother us much. Our room was right beside the ice maker though and the noise of the ice falling into the ice bucket was pretty loud - especially when guests got ice at 3am. We wished the ice maker had been in its own room.

While we didn't make use of it, the pool was nice and clean, as well as the patio. We did have the morning continental breakfast, which was plentiful and a great amenity. The hotel's location is convenient to Ybor City (10 min away), Busch Gardens, and the Lowry Park Zoo (each maybe 15 min away). Overall I would highly recommend a stay in this hotel and if my husband and I ever take another trip to Tampa, we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashthetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We were a family with young children arriving 3 amish on a Saturday night. Staff was nice but many wild characters arriving. We walked through a lobby with a TV BLARING obscenities and violence as the 4 of us walked through. There seemed to be many people hanging out in that lobby/breakfast area at that time of night.. The price for the room was great and we might have tried it another night had we not noticed questionable stains on the shower wall and shower curtain. We spent another $40 and had a great room near the airport further away from Busch Gardens and considered it WELL worth it, even with the drive.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Icanseeclearlyn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementFLA63, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City, responded to this review, 17 August 2010
Dear Icanseeclearlyn0w;

Thank you very much for your feedback. We take it very seriously and we deeply regret you did not have a plesant experience while staying at our hotel. If people are taking the time to give their feedback — even if it’s negative — that’s an opportunity for us to re-frame your point of view with our entire staff and hopefully turn this situation into a positive experience for future guest. We have taken action with each department head to correct these issues and discussed them in our staff meetings. We would appreciate it if you would consider staying with us again and we assure you that your visit will not be like your last.

Sincerely;

Virginia Lalani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Address: 4955 E 18th Ave, Tampa, FL 33605-2407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Family Hotel in Tampa
#32 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Tampa hotel near Ford Amphitheatre at Florida State Fairgrounds. Conveniently located in the heart of Tampa's business district, the brand new Quality Inn & Suites is minutes away from the Seminole Hard Rock Casino, Ford Amphitheatre at Florida State Fairgrounds and the Port of Tampa. This Tampa, FL hotel is also close to popular attractions and venues like Ybor City, St. Pete Times Forum, the Tampa Convention Center, Raymond James Stadium and Busch Gardens theme park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City Hotel Tampa
Quality Inn And Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City
Quality Inn Tampa
Quality Inn & Suites Near Fairgrounds Ybor City Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing