We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Ranked #33 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We used our points for an overnight stay and received an upgrade. When we settled into our room, the desk called to make sure we were happy with our accommodations. Being smokers, we are used to having to hang outside the doors however; this La Quinta had a courtyard with gazebo for smokers. Not only were we safe, we had a comfortable place to sit. The room was very comfortable and super clean. We really enjoyed our stay. Thanks to the staff for being so pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    233
    84
    30
    21
See reviews for
294
112
44
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

the staff provided excellent service at every encounter. the rooms were quiet spacious and comfortable. the hotel has good security and is very clean. I have only good things to say about the experience and would recoomend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Reservation booked and paid thru Hotel.com, arrived, rooms reserved were not available, hotel front desk staff stated they were unable to accommodate or refund due to booking thru Hotel.com. Management was not available, it was late, to try and navigate another phone call with Hotel. Com, with language barriers, was too stressful after a long drive.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debzdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located just outside the maingate of Busch Gardens, which makes it ideal for anyone going to Busch Gardens or visiting the greater Tampa area. Only problem is the hotel is Poor at best- I hate to say it and do it, but Id rather other people not have to deal with such a dirty property and waste hard earned money. I picked up this hotel through LaQ website, while in town on business for a day. Upon check in (which was a bit late in the evening) there was a clerk pretty backed up, no problem. When I did get checked in I took the elevator to the 3rd floor and went into the "open corridor" Room (which means no hallways) the room reaked of cigarette smoke after I made it very clear to the clerk I could not stay in a smoking room... In addition to cigarettes- the room next door were smoking something a bit stronger than cigarettes--which seemed to be blowing under my door. I didnt stay 30 seconds- walked out and went downstairs.. I let the clerk know of both problems.. His response was "I have 1 room left" - no sorry, no offer to spray,no nothing" I asked him what if he didnt have any rooms left what would he have done? He did not reply.. He gave me a new room assuring me it was non smoking-- i went all the way to the end of the hotel on the 3rd floor again and boom-- another odor filled room-- the AC didnt work-" either..just a bad facelift by Laquinta overall to an otherwise dump of a property. My clothes in my suitcase all reak of cigarette smoke and I travel everyday so it makes it a bit of a pain and also disgusting..Upon checkout I let the clerk know of my displeasure. She said she was sorry but that was it.. ..No problem.. I just wont spend another buck with LaQuinta until someone lets me know there hotels are back to normal standards.. Im not looking for a palace.. Im looking for a clean, safe, comfortable atmosphere. After all I am paying for it.. Keep your garbage breakfast, your internet never works, and your staff is flat out incompetent to be in the hospitality industry. Just give me a room worth my money...I am attaching a few pics of my sink in the room-- just grimey and gross- I know the staff does not take pride in this. place, and its a shame being in such a high traffic locations like Busch Gardens.. Im sure they stay busy, but I guarantee there repeat business is minimal at best.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bfree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed in the LaQuinta Inn, Tampa on Spruce Street near the International Mall in 2009, had a less than stellar experience. We attempted this hotel again this past week, 2/26-28/2013. We had a much better stay. We stayed on a second floor room, clean, fresh, nonsmoking and no hint of cigarette smoke smell at all. The room was immaculate. The check in was easy, no elevator however, but we did not need one. The last time we stayed, and we checked in advance back then, that the pool was open, it was not. This time, the pool was heated, clean and enjoyed. The breakfast was okay, not the best I have had, but adequate. The staff was wonderful and accommodating to all who arrived at the desk for assistance. We did not need our room to be serviced during our two day stay, but they did freshen our towels and offer servicing. ( we felt it was a waste of resources). This hotel had an IHOP next door to it. However, you really need a rental car,which we did have, in order to see the sights or go somewhere to shop. We most certainly will stay here again. Either a change in management or staff made the difference. We are most happy with this stay.

Room Tip: Upper floors are nice, less noise. Pool nice, enjoy it. Staff friendly and helpful. Outer rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
0.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Busch Gardens
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa-USF/Near Busch Gardens
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Tampa North - Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
Address: 3701 East Fowler Ave., Tampa, FL 33612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#34 Family Hotel in Tampa
#40 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.The beautiful La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. is newly renovated and located behind Busch Gardens, adjacent to the University of South Florida (host hotel for most USF Sundome functions). There is always plenty to do here: Hard Rock Nightclub at Seminole Casino, Nightlife in Ybor City, Museum of Science and Industry, Florida Aquarium, Adventure Island, Lowry Park Zoo, Florida State Fairgrounds. Don't forget professional sporting events (baseball, football, and hockey). Walk to a variety of great restaurants, or hit the malls (International, University, West Shore). Guests at the La Quinta Inn & Suites U.S.F. are treated with a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning. Enjoy the heated pool and Jacuzzi and 24-hour fitness center. Rooms are spacious and come with free high-speed Internet access and more. We are in north Tampa between I-75 and I-275, just minutes from the area's renowned Hospitals (Veterans, Cancer Center, Shriner's). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens)
La Quinta Inn & Suites Usf (Near Busch Gardens) Hotel Tampa
La Quinta Tampa
Tampa La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens) Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing