We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Customer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Gulf Shores, Alabama
1 review
“Repeat Customer”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Appreciated the friendly greeting when we arrived and loved the extra money off for being a hospital patient during the month of October. Good Breakfast, usually friendly staff, and great prices. REALLY appreciate the discount for being a Shriners patient. : ) Like the rooms but they need more deep cleaning. Pool is AWESOME and heated. It is a kid friendly place. Great location for us!

Room Tip: We always like being pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeehj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    165
    119
    83
    113
See reviews for
289
140
39
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toano, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2012

I am a Choice Hotel Privileges member - currently Gold Status, in past Diamond and Platinum status (the latter 40 stay nights a year). I had stayed at this hotel in the past, with mixed results, but as this was 1 night, and it is close to Busch Gardens, my destination, I chose it. Big mistake. The hotel has gone downhill big time. Needs paint, carpets stained, huge cracks in grout in bath, etc. The entire look is shabby. When I called it a night and tried to sleep, no luck. Intoxicated yahoos on the breezeway were well into a party. Front desk was no help at all. So I got dressed, packed up, and left for a nearby Sleep Inn, quiet, clean and nice. Ate the points I was assessed for the room. On checking out, I advised the front desk clerk why I was leaving, and stated I would likely never return. The reply? "Uh, whatever". I had a Clarion room booked for the following night in Orlando, but even though it was too late to cancel without losing my points, I also ate those points and booked into a Marriott. I am finished with Clarion. But then, uh, whatever, they don't care do they? By the way, do you have kids? Signs are taped to the front window of the hotel and in the pool area that Tampa police have the right to request people leave the premises or face arrest for trespassing. Hmm, think that might be because non guest troublemakers have been a problem there? I do. Posted by a retired naval officer who travels on leisure trips for 20 to 50 hotel nights a year.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We were looking for a place to stay that was cheap- well, it was cheap, but def old and run down. Stains on carpets in rooms, bathroom was falling apart. Lobby was nice- pretty typical to draw you in, then you get to room and rem that you paid for what you got. Pool is ok- they look like they try to take care of it, but still old, and broken tiles everywhere that they patch- old pirate ship that looks like they grabbed from side of road and rigged it so it worked in their kiddy pool- with that said, kids didnt know any different, and had fun playing in pool area. If your uptight with a dirty room or old room or a little smelly-musty room, then stay away! If your ok with getting what you pay for, and have low expectations, then go ahead and stay here-it served its purpose. We had fun at bush gardens, and at least didnt break the bank with our hotel stay. We used the extra money we saved to eat out so it worked out perfect.

Room Tip: i dont think this matters- they tell you the rooms are a remod, but that must have been years ago...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Rooms are very good, clean. but the hall way and stairs are very dirty. Free break fast served fresh and hot. Overall experience is very good. Kids are enjoyed the pool and play ground.I was sceptical of booking because of the low price. I read good reviews from Tripadvisor and booked. Beautiful pool, friendly staff, rooms were average, very good breakfast, close to Busch Gardens. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amus123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Back to back

This is the second time I stay at this hotel which us near to Busch Gardens. Price went up very little which is cool, but the following needs attention. The rooms are in need of painting, rug replacement and the furniture looks a bit banged up. The lighting in the bathroom was not working. The mattresses are not comfortable at all. Breakfast Buffet served in the morning is very nice but the portions are very small. Handling large crowds in the morning is not their strong point and the dinning room is not kept clean during the breakfast rush.

Overall if they do these upgrades and maintain the prices low, the Clarion Hotel will be rated a family 5 star hotel!!

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms before your accept it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswego, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

The rooms are dated as is the hotel but overall the property is clean, which is pretty much what most of us want. Rooms are small-ish but comfortable. The staff wishes to please and will do what they can to accommodate your needs. Location is central to many things. Expect friendly, clean and affordable.... That's what you'll get.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank dannerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickson, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I was sceptical of booking because of the low price. I read good reviews from Tripadvisor and booked. Beautiful pool, friendly staff, rooms were average, very good breakfast, close to Busch Gardens. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Nice pool, having a room facing the pool was an advantage when traveling with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcclurkans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
West Wing Boutique Hotel
West Wing Boutique Hotel
#27 of 163 in Tampa
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Tampa/At USF
4.2 mi away
Ramada Temple Terrace/Tampa North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites USF (Near Busch Gardens)
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tampa Near Busch Gardens
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tampa USF-Busch Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 2701 E Fowler Ave, Tampa, FL 33612-6274
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Conference Center
Clarion Tampa
Clarion Hotel Tampa
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Tampa, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing