We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time disappointed with a Holiday Inn chain. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Ranked #61 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First time disappointed with a Holiday Inn chain. ”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Whenever in a new area I always go to the holiday inn expresses because they are always consistently clean and with good service. This place was lacking big time. Front desk was rude and delayed letting us check in until 4pm when check in time is 3pm. Said room wasn't ready. If you go here just look at the elevator carpet to see the nastiness. The beds were terribly uncomfortable and the AC unit was really noisy. The view was awesome and the outside grounds were nice but the inside was big disappointment. Will choose another hotel in the immediate area before coming here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerknos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
I'm very sorry we did not exceed your expectations. We are getting ready to undergo a complete renovation in the next few months, which should remedy the items you mentioned. I hope you will stay with us in the future and see all of the hard work we are putting into this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    190
    77
    25
    25
See reviews for
151
137
28
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My friends and I spent just one night at this hotel,wish we could have stayed longer.It was very clean and served a very good breakfast. Although we had to leave at 6 am,they packed a breakfast to go for us to take with us,which was a wonderful idea.The staff we encountered were very pleasant and helpful.They have a very nice pool,very clean and warm. We will be staying here again next year as it is very convenient to the airport.Wonderful view from the window.Price is very comparable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear dargil,

Thank you so much for your sharing your comments. Very glad to hear that enjoyed you visit with us. The team and I will be looking forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you again!

Scott W-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.A.
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was a very nice surprise as the reviews on here are mixed.

Positives:
Amazing view of bay!
Very reasonable rates!
Great location- close to airport- 8 minutes.
Very bubbly- happy- friendly front desk welcome!!
Comfortable chair with foot stool/rest.
Highly recommended eats place close by- Whiskey Joes!

Con:
Smallest TV of the week (3 hotels)- don't skimp on 27 or 32 inch TV!!
Way better view on other side of hotel- ask for bay view room!!

Would recommend to others and would stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear SenatorMcCain,

Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate the support.

Take care and God Bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooksville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The hotel had friendly front desk staff and she even upgraded me to water view which was nice, but the hotel looked like it was "beat up" in the common areas. Chips in the wall, doors looked like someone kicked them in. The room was nice and clean. The staff had me goto the bar next door for dinner and that place was nice.

Room Tip: I had the 3rd floor i wouldnt recommend that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Rick S,

Thank you sharing your comments about your stay. It's true, the hotel has seen some better days, but I'm happy to let you know that very soon, about early to mid Fall, the hotel is going to be completely renovated!

We're all very excited about it. We hope that once complete, you'll return to see the completed project. Getting us back to the standards you would expect of the brand.

Thank you again, and thank you for the kind words for the team. I enjoy sharing them with the crew.

Sincerely,

ScottW General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Lady at reception desk greeted me warmly!

Third floor room had nice view of the bay. Room was adequately furnished. Bed mattresses were OK, but rather firm. Bathroom was clean and toiletries provided were of high quality. Only a couple of restaurants nearby, but overall we were satisfied with the room . . .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The main problem here was the tv in the next room that might as well have been in my room. The hotel is right on the bay, but the view is pretty much of the highway across it. The employee who checked me in and answered a question later was pretty indifferent - neither friendly or unfriendly and happy for me to wait at the front desk while she finished texting.

On the plus side, the room was clean, the bed standard issue, and the air conditioning worked.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear Ed G,

Thank you so much for you review. It was great to read you like our clean room. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations particularly with our staff service and noise from our other guests. Management has been made aware and it will be addressed immediately.

We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future. Thank you once again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

very close to the airport but not walking distance this Holiday Inn is nicely on the water front of tampa bay.
Not the most fancy or updated place I have stayed at but good value for money and nice location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickard_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear rickard_9,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.


Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.2 mi away
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
Chase Suite Hotel- Tampa
#111 of 163 in Tampa
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#41 of 163 in Tampa
709 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Tampa Airport - Westshore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island

Property: Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island
Address: 3025 N Rocky Point Dr, Tampa, FL 33607-5802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 163 Hotels in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island is located 2 miles from Tampa International Airport with complimentary shuttle service from 5 AM - 12 Midnight. Centrally located on the shores of Tampa Bay we are only minutes from Tampa International Airport, Raymond James Stadium, home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Westshore Business District and other area attractions. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island features 88 guest rooms with interior corridors. We also provide a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar, 24-hour lobby coffee bar, free Internet access in every room, and free local and 1-800 telephone calls. Our guest rooms all include: two-line speaker telephones with data ports and voice mail, generous desk space with ergonomic chair, 25 inch satellite TV with free HBO, ESPN, CNN, and the Weather Channel. For your dining pleasure, the Bahama Breeze is located right next door. Our hotel also offers complimentary parking as well as a 24-hour exercise room and heated waterfront outdoor pool. Meeting facilities are also available. We warmly welcome Priority Club guests with express check-in and express check-out. Whether your travel is business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tampa-Rocky Point Island will be your smart stay of choice. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Hotel Tampa
Holiday Inn Tampa
Tampa Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Tampa - Rocky Point Island Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing