We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst customer service ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Worst customer service ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Rude, completely unacceptable staff. Made up lies to justify their actions, added fees for services not rendered, AVOID!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    209
    83
    35
    19
See reviews for
108
201
44
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
234 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

A standard small hotel but very well done and maintained in a safe environment. One can stay here and safely walk the three to six short blocks to the restaurants and bars in the funky historic Ybor City area. A comfortable lobby with a small bar and the hotel serves a good hot or cold breakfast. A good choice when visiting locals near Ybor City.

RGinTally

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great location in Ybor.
Restaurant and bar staff were amazing. Really great service there.
That said: Front desk staff was rude and unfriendly. Co-workers I was traveling with reported same. The room I requested was not available, and it was shrugged off. HHonors card? I presented mine at check in and the desk person rolled her eyes. Desk staff scowled at guests as they walked past the desk!
We were evacuated in the middle of the night due to water 30 minutes after the fire alarm had gone off and we had been allowed back in(due to the water). Hotel staff banged on doors shouting "it's not safe! take the stairs!" They should have told us to pack, since we found we had to once everyone in the hotel was in the lobby. Once downstairs, the unfriendly front desk staff was very unfriendly - no announcements, no instructions unless asked. Crowd control, announcements, something, anything, would have been helpful.
We were put up in a hotel in downtown in early morning - that hotel is the Embassy by the Convention Center. Much nicer property and top-notch staff. And the room I wanted? Got it.

Room Tip: I was told there is at least one suite on the 4th. Otherwise, rooms tend to be on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rrruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cayman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I'd to come to Tampa to let my son settle into school. We spent a few days at a pleasant but soulless airport hotel. For the final 2 days , we moved to this hotel. It hit us like a breath of fresh air - a beautifully furnished room and generally a very pleasant tropical garden decor. The room captured the quintessential Southern charm , redolent of New Orleans and it was a pleasure to hang out in the room or just lie in the extremely welcoming beds.

The location was excellent for the attractions of Ybor City which were never more than 5 minutes away. I caught live music at Green Iguana and JJ's on the 2 nights.

The price was relatively inexpensive , the staff were great and I couldn't be more enthusiastic about this hotel. I will make a point of returning

Room Tip: At front of hotel, looking out over gardens and car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helensburgh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Guess this review is both about the Hotel and the district. First I had been to Ybor City about 10 years ago and it was a virbrant lively night spot, we went back there specifically for a night out in the old town. The area has certainly gone down hill, all of the night life has moved down market big style. The Hotel itself is handy enough (for what little there is to see), however the good points end here. The recepiton area proves to be tired, with the breakfast area right next to you making it quite smelly. The lifts take an age to move, best use the stairs... ugly and in much need of decoration. The room, spacious enough, and stinking of cigarette smoke (we specifically requested a non-smoking room). Staff were pleasant enough, no complaints there, but at £80 a night room only, you can do a whole lot better, and besides there really isn't any need to pay a premium to be located near or in Ybor City, go somewhere else instead.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Ehat a awesome stay I did not expect so much from this hotel I'll be back again and again!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brockrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Two weeks ago, my husband and I stayed here for a night after coming back from our cruise trip. My husband actually complimented me by saying I picked a good hotel. The price was not too bad for one night stay (less than $100). They provided a free shuttle van to pick us up from the cruise port. We kinda needed to wait longer than we expected but we understood. There were 3 cruise ships docked on the same day at the same time. They didn't provide a free shuttle van to the airport though but the front desk staff helped us to find a taxi and it costs $25 (flat rate). I was really pleased with the staff's hospitality. They were nice and helpful. They let us to check in early like noon. What I love about this place was their location. I always wanted to stay in Ybor City area, I heard mixed review about that neighborhood and decided to find a room in the area. HGI is really close to every things you need; coffee shop, museum, bars, entertainments, mini marts, restaurants and even the city car station. We took city car to go to Tampa downtown. It costed $5/ person/ all day.
The room was clean and comfortable. It had lots of space and free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwcrain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Historic Ybor
Hampton Inn & Suites Tampa/Ybor City/Downtown
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#15 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Le Meridien Tampa
#20 of 162 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#31 of 162 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District
Address: 1700 East 9th Avenue, Tampa, FL 33605-3802
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Tampa > Historic Ybor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#22 Business Hotel in Tampa
#32 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District Hotel Tampa
Hilton Tampa
Tampa Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Tampa Ybor Historic District Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing