We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tarpon Springs Treasure!”
Review of The 1910 Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarpon Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The 1910 Inn
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I visited the 1910 Inn at Tarpon Springs for two weeks in January 2013 as the first guest to stay in the newly renovated Apartment #1. It was everything I had hoped for and more!
Annie is the most wonderful innkeeper who has brought the beautiful old Queen Anne Victorian back to its former glory. Her attention to detail with both the Inn and her guests comfort is unparalleled. Of note was clean, comfortable, high quality bedding, a fully equipped kitchen, a private entrance, laundry facilities, wi-fi, and rocking chairs on the wrap around porch.
The 1910 Inn is walking distance to the heart of town, the bayou, and the sponge docks. Once you stay at the 1910 Inn you will become family even if you are not Greek. Annie writes a wonderful blog to keep her new friends and guests up to date on the happenings - weddings, showers and the blooming of the 100+ year old cactus that adorns the side garden. If you plan a visit to Tarpon Springs be it overnight or a longer stay -- don't miss the 1910 Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2013

LOVE this place! It has recently been renovated to perfection. The owner, Annie, is sweet as pie, & so accommodating. I am a B & B aficionado, & have been to them all over the world, & this one is in the top 3. Adore the whole experience!

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 1- gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

From the minute we arrived and were greeted with a hug from Annie, we felt at home here. Annie has recently opened the Inn after bringing it back to it's former glory. We had never been to Tarpon Springs and were happy that the Inn is a a very short walk to the many antique shops in town. Just a short drive had us at the sponge docks, and another short drive took us to "sunset beach" where we sat and watched a beautiful sunset. Annie takes a lot of care in preparing wonderful breakfast dishes, and is eager to do what she can to make your stay pleasurable. Our room was spacious and very clean, with an extremely comfortable bed. There was a TV in the parlor, but none in the room (if that's important to you). Very nice Inn, exceptionally nice innkeeper.

Room Tip: We had the largest room at the front of the Inn. Some traffic noise, but after dark the traffic dro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We wanted to stay overnight in Tarpon Springs and were intrigued by the story of Annie walking by this Inn as a young girl and wanting to own it! This is a newly renovated Inn....really only re-opened about 3 months ago. Annie took over the previous Spring Bayou Inn, which had fallen into disrepair, and with a great deal of care - and the efforts of her entire family - has resurrected into a beautiful period Inn.

It is a work in progess, as it is so newly reopened, but off to a terrific start. Annie is the star of the Inn - a 5th generation Greek of Tarpon Springs (how much more authentic can you get?). Upon meeting her, she feels like family......so friendly, so delightful. She wants to do whatever possible to make your visit enjoyable.

The Inn has three rooms - the Magnolia (bedroom #1) is HUGE! It faces the front of the house and street. The bed is very comfortable, nice linens, plenty of towels. You may want to bring your own handcream and hair conditioner as these are not yet provided. In this room it is a little awkward to use the hairdryer as there is no outlet in the bathroom so I used it in another part of the room. One other room faces the front and the third faces the rear.

The downstairs drawing room is available to guests for watching TV, board games, reading, relaxing. Annie offers wonderful homemade Greek cookies all afternoon as well as wine. Her breakfast is excellent. In our stay, she offered homemade spanokopita (spinach & cheese in phyllo), fresh juice, bagels, and breakfast sausages ... very tasty!

The Inn is located within a 5 minute walk to Spring Bayou, where in the mornings in cooler months you may see manatees. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to the docks where most of the shops, boat rides, restaurants, etc. can be found. We wanted an authentic Greek restaurant - where the locals vs. tourists eat, and Annie suggested Mama Maria's just a couple blocks from the Inn. Were we ever happy we went there. Seafood was fresh - and you get PLENTY of food....well worth going there.

We look forward with pleasure to seeing this Inn evolve and mature, certain that it will only get better as the renovations slowly continue. Annie is justifiably proud of her family's efforts in restoring this beautiful house, and it will just get better and better. If you are in Tarpon Springs, this is the place to stay!

Room Tip: One cautionary note for light sleepers: you can hear traffic, which is probably magnified because of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank silverwings928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I just had my Cousin's baby shower at the 1910 Inn! Annie was wonderful and so gracious! She had everything in place that we needed...glassware, plates, serving dishes, etc....she was amazing and made the event a memorable moment for our family and friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Spontaneously, we decided to take a weekend getaway to Tarpon Springs to shop for antiques and get our Greek food fix. We had stayed at this B&B many years ago, when it was called Spring Bayou Inn and under different ownership. When we stayed in the past, it was fine but I understand that the previous owner let things slide a bit and the reviews on Trip Advisor several years ago were not so good. The new owner, Miss Annie, purchased the Inn late last year and spent months sprucing it up before opening her doors again to guests in January 2013. She and her family have been in Tarpon Springs for generations and she apparently had a special fondness for "this old house" ever since she was a little girl. The Inn has been repainted on the outside and the inside is fresh and clean. The wood gleams throughout the house. Our room was lovely and spacious with a comfortable king size bed and wonderful linens. There were two bottles of water in our room and fine chocolates resting on our pillows, both thoughtful additions. Annie leaves complimentary wine and baked goods for her guests in the afternoon. The Inn also has complimentary wi-fi. It also has a lovely wraparound veranda and Annie has strung white lights around the eaves. After returning from dinner, we sat on the veranda in the rocking chairs and enjoyed a glass of wine. The breakfast buffet was plentiful, with coffee, juice, fresh fruit, Greek yogurt, sausages, and spanikopita (Annie's grandmother's recipe-Yum!) The Inn is located within walking distance of the antique shops and Spring Bayou, and is a short drive to many recommended restaurants and the sponge docks.
We will definitely return to the 1910 Inn and I would recommend the Inn to anyone seeking a nice B&B in Tarpon Springs. Best Wishes to Annie on her new endeavors with her Inn.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I'd just like to point out that if the ratings had started over when Annie took over and rescued the old tired Spring Bayou Inn, turning it into the 1910 Inn, a totally first class establishment, it would have five stars and be the number one bed and breakfast inTarpon Springs. It is going to take a while for the true excellence of this place now to make up for the lackluster reviews of the past,but I am sure it will happen. What a stunningly wonderful stay! Give Annie and the 1910 Inn a chance. You won't be sorry. Five stars for food, five stars for hospitality, and five stars for ambience. Wonderful all around!

Room Tip: They are all lovely. Website descriptions are accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocH2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarpon Springs
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tarpon Springs
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Tarpon Springs
295 reviews
2.5 mi away
VISTA Inn on Lake Tarpon
VISTA Inn on Lake Tarpon
#2 of 3 in Palm Harbor
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tarpon Shores Inn
Tarpon Shores Inn
#3 of 4 in Tarpon Springs
50 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The 1910 Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The 1910 Inn

Address: 32 West Tarpon Avenue, Tarpon Springs, FL 34689-3432
Region: United States > Florida > Tarpon Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarpon Springs
Price Range: £67 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1910 with the lovely Queen Anne style of architecture, The 1910 Inn is a Bed & Breakfast Inn and a Special Event Venue listed on the Historic Registry of Tarpon Springs, Florida.The delightful front veranda of The 1910 Inn is mere steps away (and less than a five minute stroll) to the following charming destinations in the heart of Tarpon Springs:Spring BayouCraig ParkHeritage MuseumInness PaintingsTarpon Springs Cultural CenterTarpon Springs Historical MuseumA dozen antique storesDelightful bistros, taverns, restaurants, cafesChurchesThe Pinellas TrailAnd is a 5 minute drive to:The Sponge DocksHoward BeachSunset BeachLeepa-Rattner MuseumInnisbrook Golf ResortAmenities that await you:700 thread-count bed linenshair dryeriron and ironing boardwireless high-speed internet accesscentral air-conditioning and heatevening beverage and dessertcable television in the parlorbaby grand pianolibraryOther conveniences:bicycle storagelaundry facilitySpecial requests can be accommodated:dietary needs and restrictionsplans for a special occasionWe respectfully request:no smokingno pets Tarpon Springs is a picturesque and peaceful coastal town on the central west coast of Florida along the Gulf of Mexico.The 1910 Inn...a step back in time. Come discover why The 1910 Inn is truly a treasured gem where 'time stood still'. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Spring Bayou Hotel Tarpon Springs
The 1910 Inn Tarpon Springs, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing