We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the ride”

Spongorama's Cruise Lines
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This is the trip you don’t want to miss on your visit to Tarpon Springs. We take you on an exciting narrated cruise down the beautiful waters of the Anclote River to the Gulf of Mexico. You’ll be looking for dolphins, manatees, birds, the Anclote lighthouse and other historical sites. Our beach excursion allows you to disembark on the Anclote Island to stroll the beach and look for shells.
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the ride”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had company in town, so decided to take this boat ride out to Anclote for the sunset cruise only. It was chilly and they provided blankets. Drinks are sold on the boat. We had plenty of time to walk on shore and found some really pretty shells. For the price, if you want to take a boat ride, it is reasonable. We are former boat owners so it is nice to let someone else worry about the upkeep and clean up. The sunset pictures we took made the trip worthwhile and we just enjoyed talking on the ride. We also got to see dolphins as they swam alongside of the boat on the way out.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bgreenley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    26
    10
    14
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice trip for Seniors”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

There was a video before the trip that explained the history of the sponge docks and how the sponges are processed. The trip out to Anclote Island was smooth. The Captain was informative and personable. The area of debarkation was on the east side of the island which was very calm and easy to walk on. People with disabilities or older seniors would have no problem getting around. However, the site where we were, was one that had been picked over while the best sites for shells was too far to reach in the limited time allotted. I would still recommend the tour for older folk.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandseeker_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

They overbooked the boat ride so they kicked us off the boat! The manager only offered us a rain check not a refund! When we asked for a refund we were given an attitude.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
12 Thank tlm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca,NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a lot of fun.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Very close to being a scam. Terrible personel. Rude. Given misinformation. Onboard bathroom smelled like a rotting carcass. Not worth it.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank ladyscorpionc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Extremely unprofessional, weird interaction”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

It was truely a double-edged sword going to this place. We had a group of 14 family members ranging in age from 85 to 3. We were trying to take the boat excursion to Anclote Key. We were greeted by the ticket taker who responded to our request to allow the 3 different families to purchase tickets separately with "It's late and I'm tired so why don't you just purchase the tickets all together rather than separately" Gee, I'm sorry precious, we would like to by them our way, not your way! So we buy the tickets and they usher us into a "movie room". We watch a 40 year old movie in a large storage room. They ask us not to leave the room when we go in. Why? I don't know. They also have a big sign saying nobody can use the bathroom unless they are a customer and have a big sign on it that says "out of order". Was it out of order. Apparently not because after asking they let us use it. You get the idea? Not alot of hospitality. So it's time to get on the boat and we we are ushered out to the boat (thinking we have the boat to ourselves since there are only a couple of people in there besides our group) the boat is full. It's ahot July Florida day and not a seat in the shade. Our little ones and 85 year old are being asked to sit in the sun for the next 1.5 hours. We complain to the "captain" who couldn't possible care less. No refunds and no explanation of how all those people got on before us. Anyway, the actual boat rde was good. We enjoyed it. The kids had to be hosed down with additional sunscreen and there were a few complaints but we all survived. Thy asked for tips and we actually gave them tips. So off the boat we go. About 30 minutes after we got off the boat and were walking around tarpon Springs one of the men who made the reservation for the boat ride received a call from "them" They started asking if we left a tip. How much? To whom did we give it. etc etc etc. frankly, he was much nicer than I would have been because he continued to speak with them. I would have hung up. All we could figure was that theey were having an internal "dispute" about who received our tip and how to divide it up. Come on people. What kind of behavior is that? I wouldn't recommend using them or giving them any of your money. if you do, you might get a call later on asking how much, to whom etc. Sad. It could have been a much better experience

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank 352jeffg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spongorama's Cruise Lines also viewed

 

Been to Spongorama's Cruise Lines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing