We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little aquarium that matches this city's character”

Konger Tarpon Springs Aquarium
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great little aquarium that matches this city's character”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Like others we needed a place to escape the Florida midday heat. Our kids had a ball with the hands-on displays. We were able to feed the manta rays for a small additional fee. The feeding time in the main aquarium by a scuba diver was worth the price of admission. It was very well narrated and fascinating for kids and adults alike. I've never seen anything like this at the large amusement park aquariums. The bonus little play area next door was a fun addition. Don't plan to spend more than 1-2 hours but well worth the price.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LongfromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    51
    32
    8
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edwardsville
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for little kids”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We went here on a hot day where we needed to get out of the sun. Price was reasonable and also included entrance to a bounce house next door. This a definitely a small aquarium (nothing like a big city aquarium, but that isn't a bad thing). You don't have to spend all day but easily can spend an hour or 2. Very hands on- my kids LOVED the little touch pond (could have spent hours just at that spot), and the sting rays were so cool. Watched the shark and gator shows. The man who I am assuming runs the aquarium does the shows- he and everyone else were incredibly nice. My 3 and 6 year old loved it.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jesskeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Great Interactive Experience”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Although the facility is small, it provides great opportunities to interact with all sorts of marine life. There is a large touch pool and other pools where you can feed sting rays and sharks for only an extra dollar. It is definitely worth watching their diver feed the larger fish and sharks in the main aquarium. She put on quite a show for the kids. The admission is not very expensive and the staff were very friendly. This was one of our favorite attractions in Florida.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank 2112dds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a great place for young children to get up close to ocean creatures”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This small aquarium in Tarpon Springs is perfect for young children to learn about nature and sea life. The touch pool is perfect for kids. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about sea life. Our greatgrandson was so excited, and our younger grandchildren also liked it very much as well. We make sure to take family there when they visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Down to Earth Owners”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Great experience; especially the staff. They were all down to earth, friendly, very knowledgeable. The great thing about this home town aquarium, was that there was a lot of interaction with the marine life.

Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konger Tarpon Springs Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to Konger Tarpon Springs Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing