We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE IT”

Lake Dora Sushi & Sake
Ranked #21 of 65 Restaurants in Tavares
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“LOVE IT”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I just love the food here. I am in love with the Tavares roll. We eat there about 1 time a month and the service and people are great!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lisatoolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

This place always delivers. Food is great, fast and fast. I love the Tavares's sushi roll. It's my favorite

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“terrible food, nice staff, cozy restaurant,good looking sushi bar”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We live locally, saw the reviews, and my husband ordered take out. I could not have been more flabbergasted to get home and see how they had the nerve to charge us 36.00 Grilled chicken slices, sticky rice, and miniscule serving of vegetables. My dish was Curried vegetables with rice. It looked like canned gravy poured over rice,two tablespoons of canned vegetables, and tasted like they sprinkled curry over the mongrel presentation. The spring rolls tasted like mush in fried rolls. Extremely disappointing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank southard49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
388 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Return of The Koi Commander”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

In a Perfect World, family problems would not interfere with 'business as usual' but, it was nice to finally return to see Takashi and Fumiko, after a short sabbatical from Mt. Dora Sushi, at their new location in downtown Tavares. Re-booting in late 2011, they redecorated an old restaurant and started anew with a whole new venue. The basis of any great restaurant is it's head Chef and 'Takashi' is a Master of his craft. So, building on his talent makes for a strong foundation. You won't be greeted by a Koi Parking Pond or spacious, new (vacant) Outdoor Deck anymore but, the menu is bigger and better then the old location and the interior floor plan is considerably larger. I was running Hans Solo that night and did a retake of my old favorites: Sashimi Dinner, Ikura & Quail Egg, House Salad (extra charge), Miso Soup & twin Sapporo's. Ahhhh, it was good to be back. Dining on Sushi can be expensive, and the reviewer, here that thought it was 'inexpensive', I need to adopt but, the entree's are fresh and the food still very good. Though a bit of a trek from our house- it's worth the trip. Domo Arrigato! あなたの新しいベンチャー最高の幸運

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BentleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love Sushi!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Good Sushi is not easy to find in Lake County, but this spot was wonderful. The owner chef served a beautiful presentation! Prices were reasonable! Definitely reccommended for sushi lovers!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzannesPastels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Dora Sushi & Sake also viewed

 
 

Been to Lake Dora Sushi & Sake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing