We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice Cream”
Review of Twistee Treat

Twistee Treat
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Tavares
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Tavares, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Ice Cream”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

A local very busy when it hot out just to get an ice cream cone. It is a fun experience on a warm day which is often in Florida. We enjoy just getting a chocolate dipped cone and sitting outside and trying to eat it before it melts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Howey in the Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A neighborhood tradition”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I always take my grands to Twistee when they visit. great chocolate malts and sundaes. My favorite is the almond joy with hot fudge, coconut and chopped almonds.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ockergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
“Unpleasant Ice Cream”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

At the outset I should acknowledge that soft-serve ice cream is generally not our favorite type of ice cream. The lines outside this place caused us to believe it might be an exceptional to our regular objections.

Unfortunately it was not. In fact, the ice cream emphasized the things we like least about soft serve. This ice cream was even more fluffy than usual. The ice cream had no texture and melted almost before we could get it into our mouths. Once in the mouth it just slipped down the throat, delivering all those calories with the pleasure of savoring the flavor.

If you like fluffy soft ice cream with little flavor this is the place for you. If you like denser ice cream and flavors that invite you to savor the ice cream, I would not stop here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Busy-retired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavares, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good ice cream”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

good ice cream i just wish there few more of them around area

Helpful?
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
222 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Really creamy. Neat looking place.”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stop there. It is worth it. Did not try anything but the ice cream.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mish_the_Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Twistee Treat also viewed

 

Been to Twistee Treat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing