We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Cuban Food”

Sunrise Cuban Cafe and Market
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Authentic Cuban Food ~ Cuban CoffeeBreakfast / Lunch / DinnerEat-in or Take OutCafeteria style / counter order / table order
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty Cuban Food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We "discovered" the Sunrise Market about 5 years ago during a trip to the Islamorada area. I lived on the Naval Base in Guantanamo as a child and had eaten and loved Cuban food so we decided to try it when we saw it. The Cuban and the Media Noche sandwiches are very good as is the yellow rice and chicken. We have not tried much else as we are usually picking up sandwiches to take home after a long day of fishing bu,t everything looks delicious and it is always busy. We have never been disappointed in the food as it has been consistently hot and tasty. I have to believe it authentic as we are many times the only non-Spanish speaking customers in the whole place. We have vowed that the next time we go back, we plan to expand our menu and try more of theirs. The staff is friendly and always willing to explain what is in a particular dish. We will definitely be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    66
    32
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Cortadito”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had the picadillo, roast pork, and moros. Got the meal to go, but it looked like there was plenty of seating at night. The cortadito was probably the best I've ever tried.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Feisty_Coral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Meal Of Our Vacation”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This unassuming roadside Cuban restaurant/mini-mart is the gem of the Keys and has--bar none--the best Cuban food I've ever eaten. Be adventurous and try the daily special. The day we were passing through it was Oxtails and I'm still dreaming of that meal. The Cuban sandwiches are also fantastic. We loved it so much, we ate there again passing back through on our way home. I imagine this is the food that somebody's Cuban grandma makes at home for Sunday dinner. Extra tip: the Cafe Cubano, a tiny cup of sweet espresso, was addictive in the best possible way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OhKellyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cuban Cafe”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

When we do a whole day of fishing we stop here and get a Cuban sandwich to go, and have them cut it up in small pieces so we can eat it throughout the day. Breakfast ( esp. the coloda espresso ) is great. Their chorizo and eggs breakfast is excellent, and it comes with a side of Cuban "toast", which is buttered bread flattened in the Panini-type press. Yummy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KeymasterMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
348 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“still awesome”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stopped here several times for cuban coffee after diving. It's a real treat. Also had the yellow rice and pork as well as a cuban sandwich. Love it all. Would go back again and again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank njpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunrise Cuban Cafe and Market also viewed

Tavernier, Key Largo
Key Largo, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sunrise Cuban Cafe and Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing