We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Wonderful Escape”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

What a wonderful place to stay! The staff was amazing and very friendly! Most importantly everything was so neat and clean! Can't wait to visit again! Thank you Kelly for taking great care of our family!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    116
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
179
280
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed in an efficiencie for a wedding over the weekend and I have to stay this is a hidden gem. I dont even want to tell my friends and family about this beautiful resort. The pool, dock, and little cabins that are tucked away by the pool or overlooking the bay are what make this place so special. Kelly was the most friendliest host I have came across in a very long time. She really went out of her way to ensure we had everything we needed while we were there. The owner is lucky to have such an amazing front desk person. I own a hotel in Miami and I would steal her away in a heartbeat if she moved to Miami and needed a job. The sunsets are the most spectacular and a great way to end a long day after boating. We had a bottle of wine and enjoyed the nice breeze as the sun set under the tiki. The only thing I would suggest is putting hammocks up and putting tissues in the rooms. I would also like to add they are in the process of renovating this hotel and from what I can see Atlantic Bay is going to be the place to stay if you are planning a trip to Tavernier or Key Largo. Keep up the great work and I am sure your resort will go far.

Room Tip: Stay in Cottage 1 or 2. They are the first 2 tha t are being renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adriana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Manager at Atlantic Bay Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Next time you visit Tavernier you should stay in one of the cottages. They are going to be updated to the fullest and we know how suprised all of our repeat guests are going to react when they see what we have done to the cottages. In my 10 years of customer service I have learned to treat each and every guest with a proffesional attitude because we want your business and I am the first person you come in contact with when staying at a resort. A smile is worth a thousand words. I have tissues and hammocks on the list of things that need to be added to the rooms and beach area. A bottle of wine and a sunset at Atlantic Bay will take your breath away and allow you to have a wonderful rest to power up for the next day of adventures you have planned during your stay with us. We hope you come back and see us again. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Great hide away, quiet, peaceful with great sunsets! The staff is terrific and beyond accommodating. We are repeat customers and Atlantic Bay has quickly become our favorite spot in the keys :)

AH
Miami, FL

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigred73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was my first time to this resort. With so many places to choose from in the keys, we decided on this place and we did not regret it one bit. It was very clean and very relaxing. My family and I had an AWESOME time and we will definitely be coming back next year. Kelly was awesome - very friendly and gave us some great ideas on places to eat and showed us around the resort so that we knew where everything was. This resort has a beautiful view and I loved that there was a swimming pool for my kids to enjoy. If your looking for a great place to stay while you visit the Florida Keys, this place is definitely the right one!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Manager at Atlantic Bay Resort, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
As we speak the cottages are under construction. The owner is not cutting any corners. We want our guests to be more comfortable in the rooms. Our guests are our top priority and hope you return with your family for years to come. Kids love the pool because of how big it is and I think the parents feel safe because of the gate we have around the pool and are able to relax and get some sun while the kids play. Come back and see us after the renovations are done. We would to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have been going since 1997 every year to this place, easy access, friendly staff, great set up. Before I was going has a romantic get away, now we go has family destination.
I own a 21 foot ski nautique. They have a ramp on site, you have to drive a little far back to launch but I never had a problem, you can rinse the back of the car and your boat after you went to the salt water, they offer free access to tap water and a short hose. Also they have parking for your trailer, and a nice dock. The bay is perfect for water ski in the morning or when not to windy, my son 9 love to fish from the dock a small hook one bag of frozen shrimp keep him busy for a few hour! Me too to unhook the fish. LOL I love the suite facing the beach the apartment is spacious, clean and with 2 bedrooms that give us privacy at night, if want to. My daughter love the beach and the pool. You can snorkel from the dock or from the little cove they have. They great internet services, which is convenient to find what's going on, the weather the sea state, and of course the best restaurant and or bar close by. Nice size T.V. and good chose of program in case the weather do not comply with the statement sunshine state! Go there you wont be desapointed.

Room Tip: Apartment on the back for budget traveler (We did that in the early time) Bungalow are great too. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascall1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Manager at Atlantic Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Atlantic Bay has been a hidden gem for so long. I don't think people realize the beauty and tranquility we have to offer here. Romantic getaways or family vacations can be accomodated here because of the way the resort is set up. We try not to bother the guests and only come in contact with them if we are stopping by to say hello or if they need something. We just went and purchased new TVs for every room. We will be adding more docks so that our boaters have more room to keep there boats during their stay.The renovations are already in play and I think everyone will be suprised when they see what an amazing transformation Atlantic Bay is getting. We love all of our guests and hope that you will return for many years to come......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Homosassa Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Clean. Great location. Dock and Ramp on Site.! Pool. Beautiful View
Kelly and Ted were great and accomodating!

we really enjoyed our stay. we were out fishing each day. returned to swim. shower and head to dinner.

However you can cook in your room

WE WILL be back!

Room Tip: The Efficiency was way worth the money. ramp and dock included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Manager at Atlantic Bay Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Atlantic Bay Resort. We provide free boat dockage and storage to our guests during their stay with us to show you how much we appreciate your business. Our cottages and efficiencies give you the option of cooking if you plan on staying on property or you can enjoy great local restaurants that are not far from the resort. We hope that you plan on returning soon so that you can enjoy the resort even more with the remodeling that has already began and should be completed soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is now my second trip to Tavanier and the Atlantic Bay Resort. My first time here was under the new management of Ted and Kelly. Even during the hectic switch and transition they have been just the most understanding. Ive stayed in both the efficiencies and as well as the cottages and they are just fantastic. Basically like having a home/house feeling. Not some cheesy hotel room! I would recommended this resort to anyone looking for a relaxing and beautiful time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddyGrothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelly S, Manager at Atlantic Bay Resort, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for visiting us a second time. We are not like a chain hotel and are able to offer people a more personable experience during their stay. As I walked around the resort I noticed your family having a bbq, relaxing by the pool, and enjoying an amazing sunset. Atlantic Bay Resort is the perfect place to enjoy a quiet no hassle memory making vacation destination. We hope to see you again on your next trip.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
5.1 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,267 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,417 reviews
11.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,311 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#7 of 20 in Key Largo
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Property: Atlantic Bay Resort
Address: 160 Sterling Rd, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2708 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Atlantic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing