We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing in the Keys”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the Keys”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

If you are looking for a place to relax with an authentic “Keys” charm then this is the place. A carefully groomed beachfront greets you as you stroll beneath the palm trees close to the waters edge. There are plenty of natural sights to see here: pelicans, egrets, iguanas large & small, fish and the occasional manatee may even drop in to munch on the bay grasses. If you’ve only come to view the sunset you won’t be disappointed.

Personable accommodating staff, clean comfortable rooms, large warm clean pool and a great location make this a wonderful stop to get away from the hustle & bustle of everyday work life. The free wi-fi is a bit iffy so unless you are close to the check-in office that will keep you from constantly doing your email anyway!

The resort is older, and is currently being updated so although I heard the occasional saw motor, nothing detracted from the tranquility of the surroundings.

Plenty of restaurants and diving facilities are within 10 -15 minutes.

Our room was 20 yards from the water for our short 3-day stay, next time it’ll be at least a week. We loved it, and our grandkids loved it, can’t wait to get back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    113
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
174
271
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This resort has a wonderful location, great place to watch the sun rise and set. Clean beach and pool. It is under renovation and we were given a room which wasn't quite completed. We asked for 2 more lights in the ceiling(for the pot lights) and a lamp for the bed side table. Done right away. There is some construction noise I the morning but not too early and it did not bother us.
I do think it's a bit pricey for not being completed but we enjoyed out stay anyway.
We stayed in the cabins closer to the beach and pool

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingfoursome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I'm not quite sure where the review right below came from. It must be ficticious from another resort. For all the things he/she said happened, wouldn't it have made sense to let the management office know, even after the first incident? That wasn't done. And stealing narcotic drugs is a federal offense. We also did not see staff huddling up and smoking nor were they driving around with loud music. That review is complete opposite of our experience.

We stayed for a week in one of the cottages. Yes, they were doing renovations, but you can 't shut down a resort to improve the rooms. Our room was just completed and they did a fantastic job with it. The resort is very peaceful. Everyone from the maids, to the office staff, to the owner were very nice and helpful. Any request we had, they obliged. Turned on the heater for the pool, extra blankets, propane for the grill, where to go eat, ect... There is a private beach that is groomed every morning. The sunsets were fantastic. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GooseSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and exceptional location. We practically had the whole beach to ourself. Pool was heated. Our room was just remodeled . It's one the Keys hidden gems. I Highly recommend Atlantic Bay to anyone. Two thumbs way up we will be back again!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossett, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed here between Thanksgiving & Christmas and it was quiet & wonderful. Everyone that worked there was so friendly & helpful. They are remodeling everything and the rooms are nice with tile floors, kitchenettes, recessed lighting, new beds, fixtures, etc. We did have to be moved as there was a power issue in our first room, but no big deal. Be aware some rooms only have a stove top, so check that out before you get items to bake (like me!) The property is beautiful and off HWY 1 a couple blocks & right on the bay. The landscaping is very nice & there is a dock and small peninsula to walk out on. Tikis, pool, beach, plenty of lounge chairs, nice view of the sunset. We would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: The efficiencies are a little further back, but all the rooms are very close to water. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whaddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This pertains to a visit in mid October 1013, for a diving trip. I thought the resort was wonderful--the location is superb and the small private beach area with the view out to the west was idyllic. The room I had was excellent, nicely appointed, and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Thoroughly recommended.

I would warn visitors who need the free internet provided that it doesn't spread well to every unit. I often had to go outside to get the connection. They clearly need more boosters in some places.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NStrudwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm City, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Friendly staff, quaint cottages, and a breathtaking view! This is one of the prettiest spots tucked away among the palms. Boat dockage, BBQ grills, and well stocked kitchens are just a few of the amenities. Our room was recently remodeled but still held the charm of the keys. Will definitely be spending lots of time at the amazing spot!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stacy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.3 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,381 reviews
5.1 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.2 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#7 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
11.9 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Property: Atlantic Bay Resort
Address: 160 Sterling Rd, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2708 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing