We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but overpriced”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed 10 February 2014 for only one night arriving around 5pm after a long and tiring drive from Orlando to find the place has no bar, no restaurant and does not even provide breakfast. The room had been redecorated, the bathroom was fine, the kitchenette was dated and the glassware etc grubby. We were awoken several times in the night by the extremely noisy refrigerator and air conditioning unit.

Maybe Americans understand and accept they have to go food shopping on arrival even for basic foodstuffs, but for over $200 a night, we expected a little more, plus, apart from a Deli some 200 yards away, you needed to drive to any restaurants and so, no alcohol.

Yes the location was delightful, as in on a little sandy, man made, beach on the waters edge, but for all other amenities, a poor location.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to what they euphemistically call a cottage, at over $360 a night, as it is nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedd930, General Manager at Atlantic Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hello and thank you for taking time for the review and the apreciation of the property as the new owners progress with many many improvements we would like to respond to the review.
Your stay with us was only a one night stay and arriving late in the day then departing at check out
10.30 to 11am we strongly feel such a short stay in the area does not give anyone enough time to appreciate the amenities and the many 3 to 5 star restaurants within a 3 square mile area, islandmorada , key largo and tavenier are known for some of the best dining and bars in the fla keys as for grocerys less than a mile away we have a Winn Dixie and the cvs drug store located in a small shopping area. In respect to the value of your accommodation your room was priced at $185 plus all the applicable taxes we feel very strongly we are equal or far below the local hotels in the area for this peak season you mentioned an appliance issues which has been addressed You also mentioned are private bungalows or cottages as one room I am not quite sure how this was mentioned but our luxury cottages are over 400 sq ft with full kitchen dining area and private bedroom and your own personnel tiki hut steps from ocean. We hope you will be able to return to the area and spend some quality relaxing time. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    122
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
190
290
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux City, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here Feb. 4-7, '14. It was everything we were looking for and more! We stayed here 3 years ago and enjoyed it even more this time! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Shortly after we checked in we noticed the air conditioner had an 'issue', and immediately after notifying the staff, they upgraded us to a newly renovated cottage at no extra charge. The cottage was neat, clean, fresh smelling, and had everything we needed - including kitchen supplies for cooking. I did not have my hairdryer along, and they lent me one at no charge also. The bed was very comfortable, which is a big plus when traveling! Even though they were working on renovations on other rooms while we were there, it was not noisy and they were very respectful of the guests. It is a quiet resort with beautiful, well-kept grounds. Nice beach area with nice white sand, perfect place to watch the sunset, and enjoyed watching the peacock and iguanas that entertained us. Also enjoyed the heated pool. Short drive to good dining, attractions, grocery store, convenience store and pharmacy. We will be back!

Room Tip: We did not have a bay-side cottage, but it was private and just a short walk to the water and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The pluses: Beautiful location, worth it for the scenery, nice small beach, fun wildlife, offers free kayak and paddle board for guests. The minuses: I wish we were given a renovated room. The room was very clean (a plus) but really old. There was no hair dryer in the room which I thought was standard in most hotels. I did without so I don't know if they had them to loan out to guests. The room air conditioner was very noisy and difficult to sleep. Hopefully they will be replaced with the new renovations. BTW the Kelly (previous posts talked about) is no longer there. The owner is super friendly and wishes to please guests - a nice bonus. It was a bit pricey for an non renovated room. The resort is working on the renovations but the efficiencies have not been done yet. The WiFi could only be captured close to the office but the office manager said new equipment has been on order. We hope to return but will make sure we have a renovated efficiency.

Room Tip: Keep track as to what rooms are renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate_Ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedd930, Owner at Atlantic Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Kate,
Thank you for your kind words and your concerns . I and the staff have been working diligently to
Get All the rooms upgraded however we simply ran out of time. However the efficiencies are next but until then we keep them spotless clean are updating to flat screen TVs paint and art work this week.We will continue to make more improvements daily I am so pleased you will be returning and would Really like for you to reach out to me personally for your next booking. Our mission is 100% satisfaction to all guest and I am positive you will be pleasantly surprised. Thank you again looking forward to seeing you soon..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnsville, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Everything we were looking for was here, lovely accommodation, kitchen and barbecue, friendly staff, great pool, lovely view, nice beach just right for small grandchildren, very quiet and relaxing. Hidden gem, will definitely be back.

Babs W
Minneapolis

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tedd930, Owner at Atlantic Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
First off thank you so much for your business and the opportunity to serve you. There are many choices and you selected us. I am very pleased about your pleasant and relaxing stay and it really makes all the hard work worth it. Please come back soon and continue to be a part of the new family and friends at Atlantic bay. Thank you and come back soon!!!!!:))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Off the beaten path and on the water (bay side) the Atlantic Bay Resort did not disappoint. We stayed in the orchid room which though not beach front, was literally steps from the beach and we'll appointed. Nice pool and very tropical in appearance. We shared the beach every day with the local iguanas. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

If you are looking for a place to relax with an authentic “Keys” charm then this is the place. A carefully groomed beachfront greets you as you stroll beneath the palm trees close to the waters edge. There are plenty of natural sights to see here: pelicans, egrets, iguanas large & small, fish and the occasional manatee may even drop in to munch on the bay grasses. If you’ve only come to view the sunset you won’t be disappointed.

Personable accommodating staff, clean comfortable rooms, large warm clean pool and a great location make this a wonderful stop to get away from the hustle & bustle of everyday work life. The free wi-fi is a bit iffy so unless you are close to the check-in office that will keep you from constantly doing your email anyway!

The resort is older, and is currently being updated so although I heard the occasional saw motor, nothing detracted from the tranquility of the surroundings.

Plenty of restaurants and diving facilities are within 10 -15 minutes.

Our room was 20 yards from the water for our short 3-day stay, next time it’ll be at least a week. We loved it, and our grandkids loved it, can’t wait to get back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This resort has a wonderful location, great place to watch the sun rise and set. Clean beach and pool. It is under renovation and we were given a room which wasn't quite completed. We asked for 2 more lights in the ceiling(for the pot lights) and a lamp for the bed side table. Done right away. There is some construction noise I the morning but not too early and it did not bother us.
I do think it's a bit pricey for not being completed but we enjoyed out stay anyway.
We stayed in the cabins closer to the beach and pool

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingfoursome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
5.1 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,306 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
7.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.2 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#7 of 20 in Key Largo
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Bay Resort

Property: Atlantic Bay Resort
Address: 160 Sterling Rd, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2708 (Formerly Bay Breeze Motel Resort)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Bay Resort is nestled in Tavernier, the loveliest part of Key Largo and the diving capital of the world. We are conveniently located 1-1/2 hours south of Miami, and 2 hours north of Key West, the southernmost tip of the continental USA. The little jewel we call Atlantic Bay is a small resort that faces the Gulf of Mexico's Florida Bay. It is located on three tropical landscaped acres with 500 feet of waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Atlantic Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Bay Hotel Tavernier
Hotel Atlantic Bay
Atlantic Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing