We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it for many reasons.. read on.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Reviewed 25 April 2011

While I cant say I would recommend Key Largo as a vacation destination I can definitely recommend OPS if u go there. The grounds are not extensive but all units are ocean view and they have a wonderful (short) boardway to a viewing shelter for sunset/sunrise over the water. They even have a bar on property. They rooms were a good size and cheaper than a hotel for the number of people you could accommodate. The unit was spic and span but yes the decor was dated... so what? The balcony was tiny but we were able to watch sunset through the sliding doors or from the boardwalk downstairs where I also did some birdwatching. There are also some tiki style covered tables by the boat slips where you can sit and picnic. The kitchen was adequate for simple breakfasts and dinners and coffee was considerately included. OPS was only minutes from dining, shopping, snorkeling and from the next few keys. Grocery store is only 5 minutes south. The Bait shack where we purchased FRESH shrimp and crab was the same. Mrs. Macs also a short drive but make sure you get directions going north because it was easy to miss going that direction. AND the pool was GREAT! It was open until 11pm so I could go down and get in some late evening laps after dinner. It appears to be a half olympic size. The lights are on at night and the stars are bright above! So glad we stayed here instead of the marriott...and I love marriotts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swiftee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPointeSuites, Management Representative at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites and for taking the time to share your positive feedback. We love it for many of the same reasons you did. Being located within a mangrove preserve gives our visitors the opportunity to stroll along the nature paths, birdwatch, and enjoy the natural beauty of the Keys. The beach provides direct ocean access for swimming and snorkeling, but after dark the pool is the place to be.

We look forward to having you stay with us again on your next visit to the Keys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,370)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,758 - 1,764 of 2,370 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2011

Just got back from the Ocean Pointe. We were very satisfied by the Resort. Although the units were on the small side I would suggest that they still had all the amenities needed for our stay and my wife who is obsessed with cleanliness remarked on how clean the units were. The resort has a very laid back vibe to it which fits with the whole Keys experience. Staff were very friendly and helpful when I needed them. The balconies are on the small side but is that the reason why you go to the Keys. Not us. I t was a great base to explore the Keys from. Only downside was the sliding doors. We were on the third floor and every time the people in the unit above opened the sliding door to the balcony we could hear it below. Other than that we had no complaints at all.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if possible.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leep6802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPointeSuites, Management Representative at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. We strive to exceed the expectations of all our guests and are happy to hear that our efforts are succesful. We look forward to having you and your wife visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We had a lovely 2 bedroom apartment that was way too big for us it even had two bathrooms! It was lovely, the only problem was the kitchen was not well stocked and the dishwasher did not work. It was all very outdated ie the washing machine and dryer were such old designs I'd never seen such things in my life and I'm 25! As the apartments are individually owned you do suffer from other peoples bad/old fashioned tastes.. The decor was a bit like at my nans lol! But it was spotlessly clean and really spacious. There isn't much close by food wise. You need a car. The little beach is sweet and the pool is fab. Lots of beautiful flowers and well landscaped grounds. We could not access the free wifi in our apartment though but could if we went to the bar area.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPointeSuites, Management Representative at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Thank you for selecting Ocean Pointe Suites and for sharing your positive feedback! You are correct that a car is generally required while visiting the Florida Keys. With the exception of downtown Key West, our restaurants, stores, and other destinations are spaced out along the Overseas Highway (US 1). That being said, there are 11 restaurants within 5 miles of our resort.

Hopefully you reported the problems in your kitchen to our Front Desk and they were resolved during your stay.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Keys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

If management did nothing more than to insure that rooms received a very thorough cleaning, I could recommend this hotel. The grounds, pool, and views would be enough to make up for the slightly older buildings. As it is, I can't truly recommend Ocean Pointe Suites.

The bad:
The stove was very dirty and overall the room was not clean. Shower curtain was moldy, the living room chairs were sticky, the patio floor was very dusty, the floor felt greasy and a skillet was caked with old food. Overall, there was a certain amount of grime throughout. One of the stove burners did not work, there was no baking sheet, only one bar of soap in the bathroom. The patio doors were not lockable.

The checkout process was very slow and outdated. We had to sign one document and wait for a printed receipt even when leaving the room on my original charge. There was generally no one at the desk; we had to flag someone in the office or bar. We used kayaks which were very cheap and worn (but worked) and the tennis court lights did not work. Despite notices indicating spraying during this month, there were a few roaches in our room, not totally unexpected in Florida.
Rooms are only cleaned weekly, but towel replacement was easy.

The good:
The room layout and facilities have the opportunity to be fantastic. The area is quiet, the pool is large, the views are beautiful. Our two bedroom unit had a king bed, two twins and a sleeper sofa and two baths - great for our family. It was nice to be able to check out tennis rackets and balls and to rent a kayak to explore nearby. There are nice trails between buildings, picnic tables, grills, free wifi and a nice shady area to hang out under the office building. I enjoyed seeing barracudas and pencil fish hanging out alongside the dock and the area activities are very fun.

The gentlemen working the gate were very pleasant and friendly as were maintenance workers. The rest of the staff were fine.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyTravelerTll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPointeSuites, Administrative Asst. at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

We take your comments extremely seriously since room cleanliness is a high priority for us. We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally regarding the conditions you found in the unit and whether they were reported and resolved during your stay. You can reach us by dialing 305-853-3000 and dialing 9 for the administrative office.

Staffing issues at the Front Desk will be addressed with our Front Office Manager. Unfortunately, you stayed with us after we had a catastrophic event which destroyed the wiring to the tennis court lights. The wiring has been repaired and the lights are fully operational.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our family-friendly units and amenities on property. We hope we will have the privilege of having your family with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

the room was not cleaned..there was a q tip on the bathroom floor..the beach is more like a lagoon, very hot and shallow..the balcony is barely big enough for 2 people..there's a card in the room that states there are towels at the beach and pool area but there are not..you have the same 2beach towels in your room the whole time you're there..there is no housekeeping either.. unless you ask for it maybe..the brochure stated they would come in mid week if you're there for a week but no one ever came...you have the same towels the whole week. theres a washer and dryer but no detergent..a coffee maker also but only enough coffee for one day..also bring pot holders, salt & pepper etc. the pool area had signs they were undergoing renovations although there was no work going on the whole time we were there..they had a porta potty instead of a bathroom..we had lunch at the cafe the first day and were very disappointed in the "ultimate fish sandwich" for $11.95 that was dry piece of frozen fish..

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annabanana11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPointeSuites, Manager at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We strive to offer the best quality vacation experience possible to all of our guests. We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not satisfactory. The issues that you had during your stay have been addressed and we are working diligently to ensure that they are not a problem in the future. Once again, we appreciate the feedback and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We spent a week at Ocean Pointe Suite and we have appreciated every minute of it. Nice welcome, friendly staff, free wi-fi from the condo if you choose building 5 which is close to the cafe. Of course, the beach is far below average, but yhere are lots of other beaches nearby. The air conditioning broke down on our second day and since it could not be fixed the same day, we were moved to another condo more comfortable where we stayed the rest of the week. That was very nice from the manager who did not let us down and offered the best service possible under the circumstances. we would definitely go back and strongly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mirador194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPointeSuites, Manager at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for selecting Ocean Pointe Suites and for sharing your positive feedback! We certainly appreciate the time you spent to tell others about your stay with us. We value our guests and strive to provide the best possible vacation experience. We look forward to seeing you again upon your next visit to the Florida Keys!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed for 1 night as my daughter was going for her open water scuba certification so a very quick in and out in Key Largo. We checked in early which was appreciated however it was downhill from there. The 2 bedroom condo was roomy but very worn out. The front door was not a solid door,it had a large cut out from top to bottom that was screen only on the inside and wooden louvers on the outside. Needless to say not only could anyone reach in to unlock the door there was NO reduction in noise. The noise level was horrid with everyone walking past day and night. We were unable to get any sleep that night. We called the desk to be told all rooms were like that and no there wasn't a manager on duty, they then sent security over who confirmed all units were without a solid door. We also had an ant problem in the kitchen with ants everywhere. They sent a man over with a can of Hot Shot to spray, it didn't help. We checked out prior to 8am to get to the dive boat on time and still no manager on duty. He did call me a few hours later and told me he had never had any noise complaints and the rooms for insurance purposes had to be without a solid door because of hurricanes. I told him I had never heard of anything so ridiculous. That the state of Florida was covered with hotels Key Largo included that all had solid doors. I asked if his house had a solid door and was he insured. He said he was. I assured him that my home also had a solid door and that my insurance carrier had no problem issuing me a policy eventhough I lived in Florida and had had 3 hurricanes blow through my area in the last 10 years. He had nothing to say and simply kept repeating there were no solid doors because of hurricanes. I would never stay here again. There are too many other choices to waste time and money here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saffys-Mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanPointeSuites, Manager at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2011

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay with us. We strive to offer the best quality vacation experience possible to all of our guests. We sincerely apologize that your stay with us was not satisfactory. The issues that you had during your stay have been addressed and we are working diligently to ensure that they are not a problem in the future. Once again, we appreciate the feedback and we hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,547 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
590 reviews
4.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
1.0 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,321 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 20 in Key Largo
3,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: £102 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing