We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hidden Away”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is a great getway! Great grounds and views. We'll be back. We stayed only one night on a trip to the keys.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashlin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    748
    438
    262
    183
See reviews for
1,038
723
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire England
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We have been coming to OP for the past six years and have always been happy with it, We come to OP from a couple of weeks in a villa in Orlando so that I can go to Homestead to the NASCAR Championship race. The first time we tried the trip we stayed in a typical South Beach hotel room and it was a real culture shock after the space the villa. Then we found OP and have stayed there each year since. We have always stayed in two bed ocean view and it may be that those are a better bet for a good one. We normally arrive at around 5pm and that may have a bearing on our allocation as well - who knows?

This place is typical of the Keys and is best summed up by the sign as you come though the security gate. Can't remember it exactly, but it says something like "What's he hurry, you are here now". The pace of life in the keys is pretty slow and laid-back and as long as that suits you, your stay will be fine. We stayed on the fourth floor of block 3 this year. The colour scheme and furniture in the rooms we got were a bit odd by our standards, but they obviously suited the owners. But is was comfortable and had all we needed. The public areas and elevator had been updated in the past year.

You can easily get supplies at the nearby Winn Dixie if you want to cook in and there are also a very good Chinese Eat-in/TakeAway and Dominoes in that complex in Tavernier Center about a couple of miles down the road. The beach is small bit very well kept and there is a board-walk alongside the small cove that always gives views of he marine life and ever present sea birds. The mangrove trees are kept well in check now and you certainly get a good view from the top two floors. The Wild Bird Rescue Center around half-a mile north on the Bay Side is also worth a visit.

The internet in reception is free to use for you to do on-line check-in and print your boarding passes.

Clearly we have been satisfied with our stays at OP and hope to be be going again next year.

Room Tip: Arrive early and book a 2 Bed Ocean View - worked for us so far
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian-UK-Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Outstanding location, chosen mostly on the strength of some great photos on the company website. After pulling up in the lovely grounds, checking in early with no problem, and generally being super impressed with our choice, we were very disappointed with the quality of the room. Great ocean views (at extra cost) from the fourth floor of block two, but the decor and general standard of furnishings was very poor. Old fusty smelling furniture, dated fixtures and fittings, and the overall feel of a place that needed renovating ten years ago. Such a shame as this place could be truly outstanding with a little love and attention. Plenty of space, lots of unexpected extras such as a vacuum, washer/dryer etc, and fine for our one night stay. Should also add that the small man-made beach and pontoon were also great, and very quiet during our visit (early December). Update the decor and you'll have repeat business and five stars in no time!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Having booked this for just one night as a stop over en route to key west, we were attracted by the website and the value. The website portrays the rooms as modern and makes the resort look fairly new, overall the property is lovely, nice quiet man made beach (wouldn't swim in the water though) the buildings look great, however the dissapointment came when we put the key in the door to the room !! The room was VERY dated, old furniture, dark, a kitchen that looked like it was out of the 60s !!
And a musty smell, from what we noticed these are a mixture of residential properties which are rented out, hence the individuality of them all, so I guess the pics on the website are of the nicer, more cared for suites!!
Decor aside, a large suite (1 bed) good size bedroom/bathroom/lounge & kitchen.
This has the potential to be a great property if the owners upped their game a modernised the rooms, ok for a few nights but I'd be dissapointed if we were staying longer !!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ukguy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Condo rental on atllantic is quiet and a gooid value. Suites are in averahge state, but clean. There is a small beach and marina. Cafe on site is shorthanded.
Very good if looking for quiet stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coloradosummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

OK, let's be real these are not brand new units or ultra perfect so those of you whom posted mildew on the ceiling or stray cats - get over yourself. This is a GREAT compound for a family vacation nice gated grounds, tennis, pool basketball court, kids even road bikes on premises, fishing off dock at marina, great wildlife lessons too wild iguana's and ferrell cats. For the price and location a great deal. evening sunsets on the boardwalk and sunrises are awesome. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abilene
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We took our grandchildren 10 and 11 to Key Largo to swim with the dolphins and snorkle. We stayed at the Ocean Pointe Suites and it was wonderful. Very quiet and beautiful. The suite was very roomy and we had a beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean. Everyone was very nice and there was security around the clock to enter and exit. The kitchen was stocked with everthing you need to cook a full course meal. We were in bldg 3.Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: 3 floor has the best view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ironhorse_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
4.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,490 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Property: Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing