We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this was a real surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Reviewed 12 December 2011

when i booked this online, i wasn't sure. we got there and found out this was a gated community and a condo, this was great for the family to take a break from the trip and cook a meal for ourselves, in the stocked kitchen ( no food ). kids had there own bed ( single ) and a king for us, seperate baths. and 2 balconies over looking the ocean and no neighbours in view. a walk down the hall to stairs or elevator outside the room. pool, spa, tennis, boat launch to ocean, small restaurant and beach volley ball, and lounge on a small man made beach beside the pier to the ocean. parking for boats if you have one or need it and lots of quiet and sunnnnnn.
duff m dec/11

Room Tip: ask for ocean view won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duff m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Thank you for your positive feedback! We look forward to having you as our guests again in the future. Please make sure to mention how much you enjoyed your stay when booking your next reservation to ensure you receive our Preferred rates and discounts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,669 - 1,675 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

We just returned from a 1 week stay at the resort. We rather enjoyed our stay and to quote a previous reviewer, "Let's be real, people!" This is not the Ritz Carlton and if you plan on staying here thinking that it will be, you will be terriblly disappointed. But if you want a nice, quiet place to lay your head after a day of sight seeing, scuba diving, etc., this may be the place for you. Yes, the rooms may not be decorated to your particular esthetic tastes, and they may need some TLC, but our room was decent. The rooms are simply decorated, so that they appeal to a wide range of tastes. The sliding glass door to the patio did stick and was hard to close, but we persevered and finally conquered it! While the website boasts that the rooms have a safe, not all of the rooms do. It is left up to the individual owners to put a safe in the condos, if they so desire. Our room did not have safe, but there are safe deposits boxes at the front desk for you to use.
The beach, Marina and swimming pool were well maintained and kept very clean. The cafe and bar were nicely decorated for the season and all of the Staff were very friendly and helpful. (It really helps if you are friendly and smile, too!)
There were no loud, drunken parties. No screaming kids running around out of control, no loud Bingo pool parties......just a nice quiet venue. Winn Dixie is only about 2 miles away, so it is really easy to stock up on food for you to prepare in kitchen. Very nicely situated so that there are several great places to eat at, all within about 7 miles of the resort.
We only had maid service once, which was fine, since we are not really high maintenance. If you require housekeeping more often, all you have to do is to call the front desk.
Given the opportunity, we would have no problem in staying there again.

Room Tip: The rooms in Building 4 have great views of the ocean, sunrises and sunsets! Great photo ops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlueKnight977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Thank you for your kind words! We certainly try to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us. Please don't forget to mention how much you enjoyed your stay when booking your next reservation to ensure you receive our Preferred rates and discounts!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

enjoyed our stay here... clean, charming and pleasant; a good value. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again... it's a nice alternative to hotel and motel choices. Thanks to Ocean Pointe Suites!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OPAdmin, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2011

Thank you for your kind words! We enjoy hearing from satisifed guests and look forward to having you as a guest in the future. Please make sure that you mention how much you enjoyed your stay so that we may quote you our Preferred rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is a great getway! Great grounds and views. We'll be back. We stayed only one night on a trip to the keys.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We have been coming to OP for the past six years and have always been happy with it, We come to OP from a couple of weeks in a villa in Orlando so that I can go to Homestead to the NASCAR Championship race. The first time we tried the trip we stayed in a typical South Beach hotel room and it was a real culture shock after the space the villa. Then we found OP and have stayed there each year since. We have always stayed in two bed ocean view and it may be that those are a better bet for a good one. We normally arrive at around 5pm and that may have a bearing on our allocation as well - who knows?

This place is typical of the Keys and is best summed up by the sign as you come though the security gate. Can't remember it exactly, but it says something like "What's he hurry, you are here now". The pace of life in the keys is pretty slow and laid-back and as long as that suits you, your stay will be fine. We stayed on the fourth floor of block 3 this year. The colour scheme and furniture in the rooms we got were a bit odd by our standards, but they obviously suited the owners. But is was comfortable and had all we needed. The public areas and elevator had been updated in the past year.

You can easily get supplies at the nearby Winn Dixie if you want to cook in and there are also a very good Chinese Eat-in/TakeAway and Dominoes in that complex in Tavernier Center about a couple of miles down the road. The beach is small bit very well kept and there is a board-walk alongside the small cove that always gives views of he marine life and ever present sea birds. The mangrove trees are kept well in check now and you certainly get a good view from the top two floors. The Wild Bird Rescue Center around half-a mile north on the Bay Side is also worth a visit.

The internet in reception is free to use for you to do on-line check-in and print your boarding passes.

Clearly we have been satisfied with our stays at OP and hope to be be going again next year.

Room Tip: Arrive early and book a 2 Bed Ocean View - worked for us so far
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian-UK-Beds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Outstanding location, chosen mostly on the strength of some great photos on the company website. After pulling up in the lovely grounds, checking in early with no problem, and generally being super impressed with our choice, we were very disappointed with the quality of the room. Great ocean views (at extra cost) from the fourth floor of block two, but the decor and general standard of furnishings was very poor. Old fusty smelling furniture, dated fixtures and fittings, and the overall feel of a place that needed renovating ten years ago. Such a shame as this place could be truly outstanding with a little love and attention. Plenty of space, lots of unexpected extras such as a vacuum, washer/dryer etc, and fine for our one night stay. Should also add that the small man-made beach and pontoon were also great, and very quiet during our visit (early December). Update the decor and you'll have repeat business and five stars in no time!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff_Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Having booked this for just one night as a stop over en route to key west, we were attracted by the website and the value. The website portrays the rooms as modern and makes the resort look fairly new, overall the property is lovely, nice quiet man made beach (wouldn't swim in the water though) the buildings look great, however the dissapointment came when we put the key in the door to the room !! The room was VERY dated, old furniture, dark, a kitchen that looked like it was out of the 60s !!
And a musty smell, from what we noticed these are a mixture of residential properties which are rented out, hence the individuality of them all, so I guess the pics on the website are of the nicer, more cared for suites!!
Decor aside, a large suite (1 bed) good size bedroom/bathroom/lounge & kitchen.
This has the potential to be a great property if the owners upped their game a modernised the rooms, ok for a few nights but I'd be dissapointed if we were staying longer !!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ukguy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,587 reviews
1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
2.2 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-3100
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: £131 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing