We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A base for scuba trips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A base for scuba trips”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We’ve stayed Ocean Pointe about 4 times over the past dozen years; it serves as our base when we come to the Keys to scuba dive. We like Ocean Point for its proximity to the dive shops in Key Largo and Tavernier, and for the 2 bedroom units with 2 full baths and a full kitchen. The condos are clean and spacious enough for 4 adults. The property is set back off the main road behind a gated entrance, and there is plenty of parking.

There’s a good-sized pool that will easily accommodate about 30-40 people without anyone feeling crowded. They also have a small man-made beach which empties into a rocky lagoon - it is not a beach destination. People generally don’t come to the Keys for beaches; the best beaches there are Bahia Honda and Sombrero Beach.

PROS
- 2 bedroom units comfortably accommodate 4 adults
- 2 full baths
- Full kitchen includes major appliances
- Conveniently located near Key Largo, Tavernier, and Northern Islamorada
- Large and well-maintained pool
- Each building has a central elevator, and stairs on each end of the building
- Plenty of free parking

CONS
- Surcharge for WiFi: $7 per device, per day, as of June 2014. That rate may have been reasonable in 2000; today it’s just gouging
- Some units have been updated by their owners: new bath fixtures, flat screen TVs, etc; some have not
- Bedrooms are adjacent to the front door; so if you have noisy neighbors you may hear them early in the morning or late at night
- Balconies are small and will comfortably accommodate 2 adults at best
- There is an extra charge for an “ocean view”, but no matter which building you stay in there is at least 50 yards of mangrove forest between your unit and the ocean. The views are best in buildings 3 (Sailfish) and 4 (Bonefish) - just understand that no building is right on the water

Room Tip: Ocean view is a relative term....views are best in buildings 3 (Sailfish) and 4 (Bonefish). With 50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jagii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
On behalf of our staff we appreciate you taking the time to review our property. Thank you for choosing Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo as your destination of choice when visiting the Florida Keys. We value your comments and observations in reference to your most recent stay. We hope your future travels bring you back to Ocean Pointe. We will get with management to address your issues and concerns, Thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    706
    731
    432
    257
    177
See reviews for
1,006
716
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poughquag, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have always had good luck finding places to stay, but this was not one of those times. Ocean Pointe Suites is a fallacy from top to bottom. The pictures that they post on the website of the accomodations are false. Those "suites" are not actually suites, but apartments that are owned by people who live there. You are renting out their apartments, which means there is a huge difference between one "suite" or another. There is no free wi-fi anywhere on the premises. There are no rentals available for kayaks, bicycles, etc. and the staff are either unwilling or unable to help you book an activity. It was also very noisy. The bedrooms are located adjacent to the outside hallway, which means, you will be woken up by people right outside your bedroom window. Essentially, if you would like to spend your vacation staying in another person's noisy apartment definitely stay at the Ocean Pointe Suites.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 471Beachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tavernier hotels

Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was looking forward to staying at this hotel on my way to the keys for a short vacation, with my daughter. Unfortunately this was a bad decision on my part. I should have known when I checked and received a set of old greasy metal keys on a clip. The door to the room was filthy. The room looked and appeared not to have been renovated since the 70s. I instructed my daughter to not walk around barefoot; it was not a clean place. It is one of those places where you are afraid to look too close. The bathtub or jacuzzi thing in the master suite wouldn't run a shower. Everything was old and tired.Internet access was another $7.00 a night. Could be a nice place with renovation. Never again.

Room Tip: Pass on this property until it is renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinnamongirl63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department manager and assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights for our anniversary. I researched many different hotels and resorts and kept coming back to this one. Once we got there we were greeted by the very friendly concierge Rachel. She made sure we had everything we needed. She also recommended some great places to visit while we were in the area. The room was amazing. It was clean and very nicely decorated. It felt more like a home away from home than a
Resort. We enjoyed exploring in the kayaks and swimming in the saltwater pool. There is even a dock to keep your boat just steps away from the room. All in all this was the best vacation I had in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaRees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. I'm glad to know we were your resort of choice. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights while visiting the keys very laid-back place to stay in a great location had sea view apartment worth the $10 extra. Booked a 2-bedroom apartment, which I thought was very spacious, spotlessly clean, and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Small bar/café at reception area selling snacks and more importantly 2 for 1 drink's from 4pm to 6pm only real problems was the beds were a little hard but would not put me off returning.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I was excited about staying here as I have had good luck with condo rentals in the past. This was not a good one. First the room was very small - even walking around the master bedroom was cramped with barely 1-2 feet of clearance around the bed. The kitchen was very dated and worn. Although it was advertised to be stocked with dishware and cooking utensils, we found it lacking. It had a tiny fry pan; we wound up using a pot to prepare the fish we caught. The stemware was a joke - were they expecting us to drink out of sundae glasses? The bathroom was very dated and decrepit - the toilet had a large crack in the tank cover that appeared to be glued. Our children slept on the sofa bed which had a very worn out mattress. After one night, my 10 year old son decided to sleep in the lazy boy chair rather than the sofa bed. The balcony was the smallest balcony I have ever seen - it barely fit two small plastic chairs; if you want to extend your legs they are off the balcony! On the day we checked out the elevator was broken so that meant getting luggage down four flights of stairs; I called the front desk and had them send some folks over to help out with the luggage (thanks!). The "out of service" sign on the elevator was laminated - my guess is this is a regular occurrence. On the plus side, it is a good location and the pool and grounds were nice. I hate to complain, but this place was definitely not worth the $200 per night average we paid.

Room Tip: Don't get room 2404 in the Tarpon Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug_Hilmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo. We take pride in our property and strive to exceed guest expectations. When we fall short we share your disappointment. On behalf of our staff please accept our sincerest apologies. We have brought your concerns to the attention of the appropriate department manager and assure you we will follow up with them in addressing all your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturgeon Bay, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed one evening at Ocean Pointe and wished we had more time to stay longer. Had 2 bedroom, 2 full bath suite on top floor of Bldg 6 with balcony view of ocean and a tiny island off the coast. Observed many scuba diver gear on balconies drying and some kayaks on vehicles in the parking lot. Our suite had everything for BYO dining-in, but we were too lazy so, About a mile or so North of OP, at MM 94.5, was The Snapper's Waterfront Restaurant open 7 days a wk for lunch & dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyski C, Administrative Assistant at Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
On behalf of our staff we thank you for taking the time to review our property. Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo appreciates your genuinely positive comments in reference to your most recent stay. We look forward to serving you as our loyal guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,376 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
12.7 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Courtyard Key Largo
Courtyard Key Largo
#8 of 19 in Key Largo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
2.3 mi away
Creekside Inn Islamorada
Creekside Inn Islamorada
#4 of 4 in Tavernier
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Property: Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing