We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base but not a resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Suffolk,UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great base but not a resort”
Reviewed 19 April 2007

My daughter and I stayed for a week in March and very much enjoyed our stay. given other posts on this site I had misgivings but these were all unfounded; I think a lot depends on what one is expecting. This is neither a resort hotel or 5 star luxury; it is more like an aparthotel, with a perfectly serviceable kitchenette and a large fridge which we liked. the breakfast is basic but dis the job when required, especially when serbved outside. Perhaps we struck lucky but our suite was clean and fully equipped. The balcony is small but there is so much to do in the Keys you're sad to spend any time than strictly neccessary inside. A car is essential but Tavernier is ideally situated for anywhere to be a daytrip, from Key West one way and Miami the other. We ate mainly at the Ismoralda Fish Co down the road which served great shrimp,scallops + gator in a fantastic setting by the ocean. If coming to the keys again, I would have no problem staying here. It is excellent value, particularly for groups who do not mind sharing.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Brokhillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    748
    439
    262
    183
See reviews for
1,039
723
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2007

This "resort" has a great web site! The photos and the description do no represent what the hotel really is. It is a time share rental. We were put in a room that was owned by someone and was in dire need of updating. It had tired old wicker furniture and tacky decor. I am not a snob, but I could not imagine sleeping on the small, flat unappealing bed that was in the "master bedroom".
The "outer deck" was the size of a postage stamp.
The only good thing was that there was a full size fridge, stove, microwave and washer and dryer. Otherwise, stay home...

  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yorkiegirl999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tavernier hotels

Lake St Louis,MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights over Presidents Day weekend 2007. We are a family of 5 with with 3 children ages 17,16 and 7. We had a condo in the 300 building. Check in staff was freindly and helpful. The 300 bulding was located next to the pool and tennis courts, and a short walk to the marina/clubhouse. The unit was a 2 bedroom/2 bath model and had a nice oceanview . The deck was terrbly small, just enough room for 2 people to stand. The decor and furniture of the unit were dated and of below average quality. Tile floor in the kitchen,bath and hall were newer and nice. The carpet was worn and dated. The unit was stocked with the bare minimum of pots,pans,plates,plates,cups, etc. Unit had a dishwasher we we used often because of the few utensils available. There also was washer and dryer stack unit that allowed us to do light laundry,especially the bath linens during our stay. The room was pretty clean overall upon arrival. The mattresses were of lower quality and not very comfortable. The grounds were very attractive and well kept. the pool was very large and used often by the kids even though it was a little colder than normal temperature during our stay. The hot tub never worked during our stay of 4 days. We were told by staff "it was broke" and they did not know when it would be fixed. That is a pretty lame answer. There is free high speed wireless internet that worked fine,at the clubhouse, and the usual continental breakfast, that was OK. We all felt the Ocean Pointe was OK, but none of us felt a huge desire to return.

  • Liked — Grounds and location
  • Disliked — Room Amenities
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MODavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

Pretty nice hotel. Make sure that you ask for a free upgrade. We booked a room with queen size beds, but when asked for a free upgrade, the hotel was very nice and gave it to us. The rooms are clean, we loved the set up of 1 bdroom 2 full baths, and would highly recommend that you visit the Cuban eatery located somewhere nearby, just ask a local to point you in the right direction. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — the 2 full baths
  • Disliked — Lack of room service
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank toveroox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastel
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2007

having booked up as a start to our keys holiday,then read the reviews, we were a bit unsure about what to expect. We needn't have worried !!. We stayed in building 4, 1 bed apartment.this had everything you need for a short or long stay. bedroom/ensuite.seperate living/dinning/and full kitchen. nice balcony view of ocean. . Yes it is a short walk to the beach area etc, but so what,makes a pleasant change from having to drive everywhere. We found it very peacefull as it is way off U.S1,staff pleasant,breakfast ok.nice pool, and good location, in fact would consider staying for longer if we return. Compared to what we were about to experience in Key West, it was palatial.

  • Liked — accomodation.beach area.pool.
  • Disliked — didn't stay there long enough
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank miloNewcastel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2007

Although the weather was horrible the days I was there, this place is still wonderful. The rooms are clean, comfortable. and the balcony has a great view of the water. The pool is great also. I just find this place convenient to the main road, extremely relaxing, and if the sun had been out, it would have been perfect.

  • Liked — comfy
  • Disliked — the hot tub was broken
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank josievan0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Fl.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed at Ocean Pointe for two nights last May. We were FAR from the beach, and learned you must ask for building 5 if you wish to be near the beach. They did bump us up to a nice 2 bedroom unit. We liked the tennis courts, and the pool. We also liked the small beach area. There is no real restaurant here...only a small bar, and a free breakfast, which was the standard you might have anywhere. If you just want to use this as your base, and drive somewhre every day, this is a good buy! It is not a resort...but rather condos that people own, and are rented out by the management.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank BigGameHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#12 of 20 in Key Largo
1,535 reviews
4.4 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 20 in Key Largo
3,494 reviews
1.1 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo

Property: Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Address: 500 Burton Drive, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Hotel Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Hotel
Ocean Pointe Tavernier
Ocean Pointe Suites Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Key Largo
Ocean Pointe Suites At Key Largo Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing