We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay at the Island Bay...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay at the Island Bay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

The Island Bay Resort was a beautiful, relaxing stop on our way to Key West. We only could stay one night, but wish we could stay more! The grounds are beautiful with gorgeous trees, flowers, and plants all around. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. We loved our private deck-every room has one. Every room has their own charcoal grill, which we didn't use. The owners and staff are great, friendly people.

The best part of the resort was the beautiful private beach. And I mean private--only one other couple (also guests) were on the beach. It is small, but adequate and clean. Beach chairs and lounges are available to use. Take a walk out on the dock and you will spot many fish in the calm, warm water. My husband and I took advantage of the kayaks available for use to check out the surrounding area by water. Snorkel gear is also available to use.

For dinner and breakfast the following morning we ate at Chad's--a very short walk away. Excellent food and service.

Don't miss the Island Bay Resort in Tavernier. So worth a stop for even a night. If you are driving south towards key west it is right across from the Dairy Queen--if you miss it turn around! We loved it there.

Room Tip: All rooms seem nice. We were in the middle at the Bahia Honda room. Perfectly quiet and not far from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    55
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
493
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We spent the last days of our holiday in this location for a bit of peaceful relaxation and sunshine

It bills itself as paradise and that is not too far from the truth

We had a 2 room cottage and it was immaculate, clean tidy and tastefully decorated and is only a few paces from the beach which is well stocked with lovely comfy wooden sun loungers.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RatnWres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

What a fantastic chilled and relaxed slice of heaven Mike and Carol have created here. The rooms were compact and perfectly set out with little touches here and there that make all the difference between an ok place and a great place. You can instantly tell that the thought gone into creating this place is from the heart which makes it all the most special. Unfortunately we only had two nights to spend here on our way home but would most definitely return if ever we get the chance.

Room Tip: We were in No. 3 Flora & Fauna but all rooms looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

What a great little secret this place is! A cute little place (10 units), where the owners Carol and Mike have thought of every little detail to make your stay perfect. They even provided a small pack of easy light charcoal for your grill AND matches were in the kitchen cabinet!!!!! There are kayaks to use (no charge) and the lounge chairs are very comfortable. Thank you Carol and Mike, hope to see you soon!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I needed a place to put my toes in the sand and get away from the daily chaos. This is not a party scene type of place, its secluded and quiet which was exactly what I was looking for. I had never been to the keys before and Mike and Carol were excellent hosts. The property is beautifully maintained and clean and I would absolutely love to stay here again! Highly reccomended for anyone looking to to relax and feel as if they were at their own home on the beach.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nearly identical in layout, only major difference is distance from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 345John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

I was at a conference in Ft. Lauderdale and decided to visit the keys for a couple of nights on the weekend. This was my first time to the Keys, and based on the reviews here, I chose the Island Bay Resort, and I'm happy I did! I had one of the closest rooms to the highway (furthest away from the beach), but it was great. However, I know most hotels are pretty close to the highway, so I did bring earplugs. The cottage style rooms are just perfect (however the pillows are a bit on the small/hard size). The grounds are fantastic, the beach is great with snorkeling right off the beach (gear provided). I did spend one day going to Key West (which is a very long drive btw, next time, I'd spend a day or two in Key West, and a few days here). This is a great place to relax, read, and unwind (which is exactly the purpose of this trip), but next time, I would certainly return with that special someone. Great resort, great owners, certainly a must stay if in the area.

Room Tip: Get one closer to the beach (however be warned, if the resort next door has a big group and is party...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCriticalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

I was looking over some of those reviewers who gave Island Bay Resort an average rating. So to travelers looking for a party scene with bars and nightlife, Tavernier is not for you. Head down to Key West. But if you are looking to experience the best the Keys has to offer … swimming, scuba, snorkeling, sunsets, fishing, boating, hiking, biking and incredible food … Tavernier is centrally located to everything you want. And Island Bay Resort offers the accommodations you come to expect in a top rated resort. This isn’t a 20 story Miami Hotel. It’s an intimate setting perfect for young families and couples. The owners are Carol and Mike who put their heart and soul into remodeling and refurbishing this resort. Each room follows a unique theme and all rooms are impeccably clean. There are two types of rooms available: Small efficiencies and a couple rooms that offer a separate bedroom. Once you turn into the resort drive you will be stepping out of the busy world you left and into a serene world for relaxation and rejuvenation. The beach is spotless and offers spectacular views of the sunsets. Each room has its own private patio. Explore the grounds and gardens. You’ll always find something to bring a smile to your face. Mike and Carol are truly amazing people. We stayed for 5 days in Oct, 2011 … our second visit in as many years. Don’t be surprised to pick up the local paper and see their picture as they are actively involved in the community and local charities. These are good people who run a top notch resort and the reviews accurately reflect it. I can’t wait for our return next year!

Room Tip: If you want a room with a separate bedroom, book well in advance! There are limited rooms like this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Divebuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
5.0 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
11.2 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Property: Island Bay Resort
Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing