We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay and relax”
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay and relax”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at Island Bay for only a few days but it was well worth it. Mike and Carol who run the resort are the perfect hosts. They welcomed us like we were old friends - not just guests. They are always available to help and advise on what to do and when - thanks Mike for the tip on which day to go snorkeling. The rooms are great and everything you need for a relaxing stay. The beach area is brilliant a place to really relax and soak up the Florida sun. Would we stay here again - you bet! When - as soon as we get the chance. Great place!!!!!!

Room Tip: Any would be fine but one is right on the beach - get it if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pottystu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    55
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
501
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Boy did we need a get a way! This is exactly what we found at island bay resort! Mike and Carol have made every detail count...thats what makes it stand apart from other places. My husband and i thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definately recommend others to come and experience island bay resort! Thank you...we hope to return again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ken t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont, West Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

Lived loved this little resort. We started at South Beach then to Keywest, this was our last stop...next time we will come straight to Island Bay Resort!!! The waterfront efficiency was awesome as well as the beach and amenities. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hall, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I went to Tavernier Florida on vacation and stayed at this hotel. This was our fourth trip to the Keys and by far the best. One reason it was so nice is because we stayed here. This hotel was a really great place to stay. The room was very nice, right on the beach. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation, this is the place for you. The owners are very knowledgeable about the area and were very accommodating. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

I spent 5 fabulous nights in cabin 7 and never wanted to leave. I felt genuine sympathy for the people staying on either side of our resort for not being at ours. It was everything tripadvisor reviews said it would be. So peaceful and relaxing with only 10 cabins which are thoughtfully appointed. A full store is very close to make use of the kitchen. There are plenty of first class beach chairs with kayaks and snorkeling gear. The beach is a bit weedy and to some might be a slight letdown but its quite functional. The sunsets were beautiful and everywhere you felt comfortable at this small, relaxing and charming place. The owners are helpful and kind with a pleasant cleaning staff. Thank you for a great stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Savannah111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PITTSBURGH, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Wow! What else can I say! Such a great spot to stay. Ultra clean, great little beach with umbrellas and a TiKi Hut! Owner Carol was a gracious hostess and the ambience was of a Carribean hide-a-way! Just a perfect Keys get a away!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOLTGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We were here for a long weekend. The owners were extremely helpful, pleasant and made you feel like you we're the only ones there. The cottages were nicely decorated. The grounds were beautiful. You felt like you drove off the overseas highway into paradise. We wanted to stay for the week. The owners were ready to offer suggestions of things to do. We would return there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#6 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,379 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Property: Island Bay Resort
Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing