We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and an awesome place to relax.”
Review of Island Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I spent three days at Island Bay Resort and I can honestly say I have never stayed somewhere so clean and comfortable. The owners obviously know what they are doing and have come up with a perfect spot to get away. Because Chad's (which is great) is the only restaurant within walking distance, we used the bbq and kitchenette for meals. The small beach was an amazing place to sit with a drink and watch the sunsets. I left feeling so relaxed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fairmountpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at Island Bay Resort just 3 nights and loved our time there. The resort is small, the groundswell groomed and the rooms charming, comfortable and clean. We enjoyed sunset from the private dock and beach. Lots of places to sit and lounge. The owners provided a great list of restaurants to try, we ran into them last night at a restaurant on the list! Very convenient location. We dove with Conch Republic just down the road. We plan on a return visit soon!

Room Tip: Don't worry about your room location. Our room was only a few in from the highway but we heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scubababe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Don't miss this amazing little oasis located between Key Largo and Islamorada. The owners, Mike and Carol, have paid attention to EVERY detail. My wife and I stayed in Islamorada for the first two nights of our trip, and we would have stayed here had we known what an immaculate little gem we would find on our last night in the keys. Now, we'll just have to come back. The grounds and rooms are charming, decorated with just enough cute island accessories (but never too much). Mike is super handy. Each room has a great deck. There's a perfect boardwalk down a pristine little private beach complete with several sets of teak lounge chairs for sunning and relaxing. I am writing this sitting on a plush couch in a handmade tiki hut complete with ceiling fan. The place is perfect for a romantic trip or a vacation with family. We'll be back. That's the best recommendation right!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GeauxDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Island Bay Resort was relaxing, clean, quiet, affordable, and comfortable. My husband and I stayed here at the end of February 2013 on our first Keys vacation. The best part of this resort is the quiet atmosphere. There are only 10 cottages along the resort which stretches single-file from the road to the ocean. This lends itself to a small number of guests. Our parking spot was 20 feet from our cottage. We never had to share the beach or the lounge chairs. We loved having coffee on our own porch every morning and petting the 2 friendly resort cats before venturing out. One of my favorite aspects of Island Bay was the nighttime lighting under the pier. Sitting on the edge of the pier and watching all the sea creatures was delightful. One night I listened to the shrimp jumping across the water as the snapper tried to catch them. My husband snorkeled for a few hours around the beach and pier one day and enjoyed it as much as our charter trip out to the coral reef. When planning our snorkeling day, Mike was helpful in choosing the appropriate weather--we wanted a sunny day, but didn't realize the wind made such an impact. He suggested an overcast day with no wind, and it was very enjoyable. Mike and Carol were both very friendly and helpful. We also took the kayaks out one morning and traveled around the bay! The Flora and Fauna cottage was filled with interesting local photography of Florida plant and animal life--and by filled I mean, filled with photos. The bathroom was clean and updated. The air conditioning unit does sit right above the bed and is a little noisy for light sleepers. I used foam ear plugs and slept just fine. Right around the corner from the resort is a local eatery called Chad's--great food and service. Also definitely go Feed the Tarpon--best $4 bucks we spent. Island Bay was a perfect spot for two adults with no children--perfect fit for us. We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2610bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Loved this hideaway!. The details in the decorations, outside the view, cleanness, the sunset, the beach, the hosts, were wonderful. Stay for 4 nights and we will go back. It took us a bit longer to get to the dive operator I picked but my husband and I thought it was worth it. The kayaks were free and a nice touch. Easy beach access. We brought food to the dock where they have cute table and it was perfect. Lots of beach seating, private with hammocks that are so comfy. Thanks for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: no swimming pool or fitness center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VenturaSherryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is the place that had us captured from the second we got there. There are only 10 units but they are all themed and cozy. The small beach at the end of the units is perfect for watching the sunset. The fact that Jimmy Buffet was playing as we entered the room was a mellow surprise (the music was more than just Buffet). The pictures in the room are a treat as well... no spoiler for you on this. It is spendy but not more than lesser places in the Keys.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cleat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We just fell onto this great cottage by quick search for a last minute much needed long weekend get away. We got lucky and the beach cottage just had a last minute cancellation. The next weekend we took off. It was just amazing.... the rooms are small but super clean and updated, the sunsets are amazing, the beach area is so inviting. We had planned to explore the keys and basically never left the resort. We did carry out at Chad's just down the road just to spend more time relaxing. Did dinner twice, once at Marker 88 and then at a great place to the north on the beach which also turned out to be great. We are already planning our get-a-way for next year.

Room Tip: The Key West Cottage, right on the beach but they are all amazing and just a walk down the sidewalk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tchad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,352 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
0.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.1 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: £166 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Island Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing