We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise”
Review of Island Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Mike & Carol Shipley take such great care to ensure your stay is perfect. We travelled up and down the Keys, and they would ask if we knew how to get there & suggest great places to visit. I was looking for a winery, and Carol took the time to search a winery for us and left us a note on our porch how to get there. You can tell they love what they do. Even when we stayed in, we still had a great time playing bocci & cornhole, just sitting on the beach, or walking on the dock. Theri beach has a perfect view of the sunset. We stayed in the Sunset cottage, and it was so cozy. They had any amenity, and I'm sure IF they missed something you needed, they would obtain it for you. Highly recommend staying here, and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Each cottage is different with a theme specific to the Keys, so each visit can be different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JCapone0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just spent a wonderful few days here. The accommodations were perfect for relaxing in the Keys. Our cottage had every amenity that could be desired. Mike and Carol Shipley were extremely kind and helpful to ensure our comfort. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mdulin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I were planning a week long get away driving thru the keys and staying different places each day. I emailed island bay resort and they sent a short but courteous email that stated they had a 2 night minimum and referred me to some local cheap motels. Apparently they don't want travelers who travel for multiple experiences. Personally I will drive thru Key Largo from now on. The hotels at Marathon Key are very friendly! James G. Purgason, M.D.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
20  Thank jgpurgason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Let me start by saying my daughter had visited here in January and fell in love with everything the resort has to offer. Upon planning for her wedding this is the spot they chose. Can I say I and everyone else that travelled for the wedding are very happy they did. The owners are the sweetest people and so very helpful and knowledgable about the area.The cottages vary in size and are very well kept. The private beach is just steps away from any one of them. there are kayaks on premise for guests to use. There are b-b-ques at each cottage for your use. You may want to consider using them so you never have to leave this place . So much to do , close to so much. you can feel how much the owners love this place, you will to private and so much charm.

Room Tip: There are "efficiancy" cottages but if you require more room choose a larger cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ErinL455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at Island Bay Resort at the recommendations of Trip Advisor users, and were not disappointed! The whole resort was impeccably clean, the owners very helpful with suggestions of where to dine. Each cottage has a deck, chairs and table, grill, Adirondacks chairs. Being closer to the road is not very noisy. Their beach is beautiful, with plenty of chairs, an outdoor shower building, and open tent-y cabin you can use. Kayaks are available, and you cannot beat the sunsets. We would not hesitate to return or recommend this place to others (except it will then be busier!!)

Room Tip: Although it's more costly, I would recommend a one-bedroom cottage, which has a two room suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We didn't make our reservation til we were about 2 hours away and I was hoping they had something available on short notice and they had the "Flora & Fauna" Cottage available. It was
very nice. When we first got into the room, the Bedspread was Lime Green with Hot Pink Squares with Flamingos, my favorite colors, it was meant to be. Also on the bedspread was two towels with 2 flowers and a key lime chocolate candy, what a nice surprise. The room was very nicely decorated with lots of Floridian pictures on the wall, seashells, geckos, etc. There was a ceiling fan over the bed and when we were unpacking, it helped cool us down plus the air conditioner. The shower was large and the water pressure was good. We had a small refrigerator, a microwave and a sink.And, we had a weber grill outside, but since we were only there 2 nights, we didn't use it. This place has a pier and a small beach. We did not snorkel here, but I may next time because the fish we saw under the pier were beautiful fish. But we had another place we wanted to go and since it was rainy on the day we went, we didn't see many fish at all. And, we also saw some AMAZING sunsets that we enjoyed for 2 nights. On our 1st morning, we used the kayaks and paddled for about an hour. Also on the beach, they have a very nice Tiki Style Thatched Hut with chairs and a couch and magazine table. The cottage was very clean and the grounds also kept very clean and neat. Carol gave us a list of restaurants in the area and we enjoyed "Snapper's" where I had hogfish for the 1st time and loved it. She also gave us a list of boats for snorkel trips, but we enjoyed the peace and quiet of our little cottage which was great for reading books and relaxing away from the crowds. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Each room has a theme, check out their website. There is a cottage facing the beach, probably #1, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PamJ4Avon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Great little place that comes out of nowhere as you're driving through the Keys. Stayed in Room #4, an efficiency, which was plenty big enough for our needs -- nice porch w/ grill, tiny kitchenette, nice bathroom. Private beach is quiet and relaxing, and it made it hard to venture out during the day.

Only small issues: shower had some drainage issues, water is very grassy with some teeny tiny jellyfish (jump off the dock, don't wade in), no food or drink sold on premises.

But loved this place overall and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Lower numbers are closer to the beach. Patio on No. 1 looks right out to the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJB428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
596 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.1 mi away
Dove Creek Lodge
Dove Creek Lodge
#7 of 20 in Key Largo
862 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Key Largo
Holiday Inn Key Largo
#11 of 20 in Key Largo
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: £151 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Island Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing