We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a Kind”
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of a Kind”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Another fabulous stay at this cozy getaway! The cottages are just right, well appointed with everything you need to be comfortable. The beach and cove are delicious and oh so relaxing. I spent 5 hours in a hammock on the beach yesterday! The sunsets are extravagant! We had breakfast everyday at Harriet's and also grabbed delicious Cuban food at Sunrise Cafe and ate it back at the resort on the beach. Doesn't get much better than this! We WILL be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    55
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
503
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We love staying at this hotel. It's small, well cared for, clean and the owners Mike and Carol are helpful and informative. This trip we stayed in the Sunset room. It was well decorated with a king sized bed, nice sized living room and small kitchen. It's just a short walk to the beach and pier. We watched beautiful sunsets each night. Carol provides a nice restaurant list when you check in. We enjoyed breakfast at Chads and Made to Order and dinners at MM88 and MEAT. We dove each day with Conch Republic Divers just a few miles down the road. Looking forward to spring and another trip to the Keys and Island Bay Resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubababe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Wow- just got back from the last leg of my trip, of which was staying at the Island Bay Resort. I completely relaxed staying there. I had the Key West room, the closest to the beach. I woke up every morning with a bay view. It was quiet, peaceful and for me, perfection. Carol gave great tips on places to go, things to see. When I go back, I won't bother researching any other place to stay--I will only stay here. The room was very clean and there was a clean washer and dryer to use. I would recommend as a fabulous easy-going place to stay.

Green Features: Island Bay Resort suggests that you reuse your sheets and towels. They also suggest shutting off the air conditioner when not in the room to save energy.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Nice private beach/pier, small but tucked away in a nice spot. A great option for exploring the upper keys. Our room was small, but we didnt need more as we were out most of the time. Mike & Carol were excellent hosts. Two thunbs up!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feistyscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

While not in the category of "luxurious", Island Bay deserves an excellent rating for the type of resort that it is. It is conveniently located in the Upper Keys and within close proximity to good restaurants and other facilities. Each "room" is individually and cleverly decorated with a theme and while small, they are comfortable. The grounds are beautiful with small comfortable sitting areas all over. The small private beach is also lovely. Would recommend Island Bay to anyone looking for a peaceful and unique place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Audrey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

What a great place to stay for a few days, a week, or longer!! We stayed in Cottage #2, Birds and Boats and it was just terrific! Each cottage in individually decorated and has a small kitchen and a deck. From our deck we could see the beach. Sunsets were gorgeous and we loved taking the kayaks out when we got back from our adventures! Mike and Carol were very helpful and their recommendations for restaurants and activities were spot on! We'll definitely return!

Room Tip: The lower the number the closer to the water!
See more room tips
Green Features: Very "green", we loved that about the Island Bay!
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pattic1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Mike & Carol Shipley take such great care to ensure your stay is perfect. We travelled up and down the Keys, and they would ask if we knew how to get there & suggest great places to visit. I was looking for a winery, and Carol took the time to search a winery for us and left us a note on our porch how to get there. You can tell they love what they do. Even when we stayed in, we still had a great time playing bocci & cornhole, just sitting on the beach, or walking on the dock. Theri beach has a perfect view of the sunset. We stayed in the Sunset cottage, and it was so cozy. They had any amenity, and I'm sure IF they missed something you needed, they would obtain it for you. Highly recommend staying here, and we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Each cottage is different with a theme specific to the Keys, so each visit can be different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JCapone0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,264 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
11.1 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 20 in Key Largo
3,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Property: Island Bay Resort
Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing