We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Attention to Detail”
Review of Island Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 February 2014

There have been no corners cut anywhere. There are limited amenities, sure, but the attention to detail here and the immense amount of thought behind all that they do and offer is clear. Every corner of their property is well-maintained, and well-decorated. We have simply never had the level of customer service anywhere else as we experienced at the Island Bay Resort. Carol and Mike answered every question we had, and connected with us in passing to ensure that all was well. This place really lives up to the ratings - we highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Next time we would choose the "Key West" room, which is right on the beach. In general, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MichelleInMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We arrived for a 10 night birthday celebration stay at this small 10 cottage bayside property in Tavernier. We wanted peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings and that's what we got.

The cottages are well appointed, individually designed and themed and in excellent condition.

The hosts are very helpful and all their tips for local dining and Eco trips were very helpful, we tried most of them and we're never disappointed.

We researched our accommodation options thoroughly before booking and IBR met or surpassed our expectations in every way.

We have been to the Keys 4 times now but never to the same place, we will definitely return to the Island Bay Resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gavin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We were looking for a place to spend several days on a long weekend mini-retreat to warmer climates. This was just the place. The small, intimate scale of the property guarantees peace and privacy. Carol and Mike go out of their way to make everything perfect.
This visit was an early birthday celebration for my husband, so Carol arranged the Welcome to Paradise package for me, and she substituted my husband's favorite beer on request. We stayed in #8, which is a two room cottage, so we had a nice spacious bedroom and also a sitting room with the kitchenette and a small table. There was a full size fridge, coffee maker, microwave,and everything we needed was provided, including coffee. We found a blender and a toaster in the cabinet. The bed was very comfortable. It was cooler than we expected one night, but there was a heating unit in each room. The bathroom, while small in scale, was very nicely set up. The pedestal sink had a nice, deep basin. There was a nice tile shower and toiletries were provided. We never heard any noise from neighbors.
The property is full of little nooks and places to relax. There are lounges down on the beach, and it is a must to take a drink down to sit in the sun or to enjoy the sunset. There are Adirondack chairs and a table on the dock. A bocce court is located up front, and kayaks are provided. We took a kayak out one morning.
Some folks have mentioned road noise. Outside, in the higher numbered units, you are aware of proximity to the road at busy times. We never noticed any noise in the cottage. However, we spent all of our outside time down by the beach, and were grateful for the spacious two room cottage when we wanted to relax inside. There was a nice TV in each room. There is a tiki hut on the beach with very comfortable furnishings and a view of the water.
All in all, there was no detail that had not been considered -- a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FMCMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We booked this resort off the back of previous trip advisor reports and are so glad we did.
The cottages are so cute and beautifully kept - everything is in excellent condition. The interiors are all themed and nicely so. A comfy bed, air con and a good sized shower along with a dinky kitchenette. Music was playing when we entered our cottage and there were key lime chocs! The private beach was truly private - most of the time we had it to ourselves! There are good quality sun loungers, umbrellas, hammocks, a sand bag game and a lovely Tiki hut. The sun loungers are spaced out so you aren't on top of other couples (had there been any using it!!). There were plenty of other visitors but they seemed to be out all day, whereas we made good use of the private beach. The sunsets were beautiful and we enjoyed champagne by moonlight alone in the tiki hut.
The owners were friendly and helpful - not intrusive but happy to answer any questions or requests.
Only negatives were things the owners couldn't do anything about - the water being grassy (we knew about this from advance research but still wanted to stay) and mosquitoes biting us to bits every night!!! We got some spray repellent but this didn't make much difference - clearly we have tasty blood!! However, the snorkel gear wasn't very clean and we opted not to use it - wonder if it should have been kept indoors instead?!
Other nice points - there is a BBQ for each cottage, we used ours successfully and really enjoyed it. There is a washer/dryer available which we thought was really handy as we were travelling around and wanted to travel light.
There was a Winn Dixie a short drive away - useful for stocking up on BBQ bits and beers etc.

Room Tip: We chose cottage 3 and was very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ziggy20007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We found this place on Trip Advisor and are so thankful! We wanted a quiet and quaint place on the beach and this is exactly what we needed (as a couple). The cottage was clean, cute and sized for what we needed. The property is beautiful and the small slice of beach was like heaven. We had a masseuse come in for a beach massage under the tiki hut...this was awesome.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank familytraveler-kidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We chose Island Bay as a vacation spot in the Keys based on the great reviews in Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed! Island Bay is a charming piece of paradise in Tavernier with incredible attention to authentic island details. Immediately upon entering the property we were surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. The cottages, in light Caribbean colors were inviting and offered the comforts we often find in high end accommodations. The owners, Mike and Carol, eagerly shared suggestions of their favorite Key spots and activities.

Room Tip: The cottages are numbered 1-10 with 1 being closest to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelda g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed five nights at the Island Bay Resort and enjoyed it immensely. Our cottage (# 6) was very comfortable and very well appointed. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained. We enjoyed the hammocks, the sunsets, and lazing around on the small private beach. It was also a great location for exploring the upper keys. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. If ever in the area again, we would not hesitate to stay there. Dave & Helen.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveyBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
0.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.1 mi away
MB at Key Largo
MB at Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: £166 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Island Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing