We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful and Charming absolutely NOT mouldy and noisy!!!”
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Blissful and Charming absolutely NOT mouldy and noisy!!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I had to point that out in the title especially since we just stayed in the #5 cottage a couple of weeks ago! I don't know what that reviewer was talking about but I have a very sensitive nose and I didn't get one whiff of mould and if you are calling a little clicking noise from the fridge as noisy and the little outdoor ambient lights too bright how on earth she lives anywhere but a cave I am not sure. You just can't please some people I guess. Mike and Carol have done an amazing job, the little resort is clean and tidy as a whistle. The grounds are groomed and the upkeep is top drawer. There are little seating areas around the beach area including hammocks and wicker furniture in a lovely tiki hut. They provide kayaks and snorkel gear for guests to use. Number 5 Bahia Honda, had a palm tree theme which added whimsy to our well appointed room. We loved our own private little deck too. Well done guys, if we are ever in the Keys again we for sure will come back!

Green Features: They have cleverly painted up recycling bins for guests to use.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElleVancouver11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    55
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
503
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our first visit to Island Bay Resort, and we were delighted to find that it exceeded our expectations. Mike and Carol have a little piece of heaven here that they maintain beautifully. We were in Cottage #1 (Key West), which has a wraparound deck and a view of the bay and beach. The tiki hut was a lovely place to get out of the sun while still enjoying the beach view. Our little efficiency kitchen was sufficient for preparing breakfasts and lunches, and we also used the Webber grille a couple nights for dinner. If you are looking for quiet solitude, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Island Bay Resort was just what we were looking for: small, private and quiet. The cottages are appointed beautifully and beach had enough room for all the guests. We loved the kayaks and exploring the bay. Mike and Carol were very helpful with our questions. The wonderful landscaping added to the entire experience. We hope to return next year. There was a nice restaurant within walking distance so we did not have to drive everywhere.

Green Features: I like the recycling center. They also had a suggestion box for "Green" ideas. I like the approach they took on this.
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I am quite surprised this resort is so highly rated. While it is a cute place, our cottage (#5) was very musty smelling. We had to turn off the loud air conditioner and open the windows in the evening to clear the air. With an allergy headache, it was hard to ignore the little fridge switching on and off all night and the bright ambient light from the parking area. I considered not staying our second night, but decided we could cope with allergy meds, tylenol and an eye mask. On the positive side, the room was tidy and the tropical decor was great. They have taken great care to provide information for visitors to the keys and recommendations for activities. This was our fourth trip to the area and I am sure we will return to the keys again, but would not stay here. I can not recommend this spot for anyone sensitive to mould and prefers a quiet night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We try to visit this special place once a year. Once again we see something new that is added!
This time the entire driveway and parking area is finished in beautiful paving bricks! It is so nice to walk down to their private beach now. I can only imagine it will make it easier for any visitors who have to use a walker or wheel chair.

Once again...Good job to the owners on their constant improvements!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 40yrstogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaska, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My wife found Island Bay through TripAdvisor, and based on other reviews we checked in for most of a week.

Simply perfect is the best way to describe it. Mike and Carol are extremely friendly, the property is smaller but extremely well kept, and our cottage was excellent.

A quick trip to the grocery store a couple of miles down the road took care of breakfast food, and we ate every breakfast on our deck. If you're a diver, they are only about a mile from the marina. Nothing quite like sitting out by the water to watch the sunset at the end of a day bumming around the Keys, and there are plenty of chairs on property to let you do just that.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Cottage prices vary a little based on how close you are to the water. No cottage is more than a 30 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Okern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
223 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We selected Island Bay Resort (IBR) last summer when making plans for our 39th anniversary. We knew we wanted to go to the Keys, and had been there once before, and made our choice almost solely on the TripAdvisor reviews. It is what all the reviews before ours says. Immaculate, quiet, and well appointed and cared-for by the owners. We were further blessed with wonderful 85 degree sunny days for the whole week. (after spending this winter in both New York and northern Wisconsin).

We had the smaller waterfront unit, which was fine for us. And other than an afternoon out to see the reefs offshore, we did nothing but relax by the bay side waterfront, which was fine for us. And while fully occupied, most of the other guests were out sightseeing, leaving the place to ourselves for a couple of the days. Snorkeling and kayaking equipment is available for use, and there are boccie and similar games setup around the property. We had a fabulous time just watching the wildlife on site.

Room Tip: While we cannot say enough good things about Island Bay Resort, it wouldn't be a place we would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billq-newburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,264 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
11.1 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 20 in Key Largo
3,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Property: Island Bay Resort
Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing