We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to bring on that smile that stays there all the time you are there”
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Never fails to bring on that smile that stays there all the time you are there”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

It must be the 5th to 6th time we visited Island Bay and yet again, it was what the doctor recommended: relaxation and bliss. We were staying 3 cottages up from the beach, not our favourite by the beach but it was just as good. Perfect weather added to the feeling that we'd come home.

We were only there for a couple of days, on our way to Belize, wished we could have stayed longer. Next time...

Thanks Mike and Carol for this perfect piece of paradise and the place to catch a perfect Florida sunset with a glass of wine or two!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    55
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
50
503
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

A fellow Mommy and very good friend of mine stayed at this amazing little getaway before I was to have my second child. Our only regret? Leaving! It is quaint, cozy and peaceful and the owners are wonderful. Everything you could want for a relaxing vacation. We have talked about how wonderful our stay was ever since. Now that my little one is weaned, we just booked a return trip and simply can't wait!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We're back for out third time in two years - it's not often enough! From the warm, genuine, funny and wonderful hosts, Mike and Carol, to the beautiful landscaping to the perfect cottages, we've never had a more relaxing or fulfilling vacation. You can bask in the sun, take out a kayak (kayaks available on property) and paddle all over the bay or snorkel (yep, they've got snorkels, masks and fins all ready for you) and see awesome fish, corals and other sea creatures up close and personal. There's some great food in walking distance and plenty of shopping nearby.

It's quiet (no guests, two people per cabin, no kids - so awesome) and relaxing and exceeds expctations in every way possible. Grills are provided for you to cook out, there's a fridge in every cottage and a kitchen, and free wifi. You really never have to leave and you'll never want to.

Seriously can not think of a criticism and trust me I'm trying to think of one to be fair because I don't want you to take a room we might want when we want to come back. But, nope. It's all the paradise promised and more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We found this place using Trip advisor. As soon as we arrived we noticed how clean and well maintained the property was. Karen and Mike made us feel at home when we arrived. The room was very clean, the views are awesome. They also have complimentary kayaks and snorkel gear.... Enjoy!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jtsfn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This place sets the standard for all other hotels in the Keys to live up to!
This is a very small resort, which made it that much nicer. I almost never saw the owners or other guests. It was like we had the whole resort to ourselves. The beach on the property is VERY nice. They had lounge chairs, hammocks, and tiki huts right next to the water. What a beautiful place to watch the sun go down in the evening. The grounds are so well manicured with beautiful plants, flowers, and palm trees everywhere. I did see Mike, the owner, one time while we were there and all he did was give a nice smile and a wave and continued working. His wife greeted us when we checked in and she was just as nice as can be. She was very helpful providing us with a list of her favorite things to do in the keys. The rooms were extremely clean and decorated with the owners photography of local sights and wildlife. This place is SO much nicer than any chain hotel and far more relaxing. My son and I stayed here for a snorkeling trip to the keys. This resort would be perfect for couples, family, or even a solo trip to the Keys. Honestly, it would be an awesome Honeymoon location. This resort could also be great for a large family reunion if you booked every room in the resort...we might try that for next summer. No kidding, this is the nicest little place I have found in the Keys. If you want peace and relaxation, then this is the place to go. If you want crowds, bars, nightclubs, fancy restaurants, etc, then go to one of the big resorts in Key West instead. For me, this place was perfection. It is what a Keys hotel should be.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This resort is a must stay on your way down the keys. The resort helps you relax, unwind, and reset to "island time." This is our second stay at the resort and it becomes harder to leave each time. The pictures on the website just do not capture how wonderful this resort actually is to visit. Upon arrival, your room has a welcome chocolate and a binder prepared by the owners telling you places you can eat, beaches to visit, and attractions to visit. This is the only place we will stay in the Key Largo area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcief21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I Rented a car and drove from Miami airport to Island Bay Resort for the first five days of our Florida Keys SCUBA diving/ relaxation vacation. Enjoyed each day. Comfortable clean room, mini-frig, small stove, coffee pot with coffee. Our room #4 was short walk to beach area. All rooms have a small deck with an umbrella table and 2 chairs. Coin operated clothes washer and dryer. Lockers to hang drying scuba gear. The grounds are so well kept, all landscaping is perfectly manicured and beautiful. An oasis! We walked to a nearby restaurant one night, there is a gas station and a convenience store within walking distance as well. Other than that we drove everywhere including Quiescence Dive shop that we dove with for 2 days, and many choices of restaurants. Relaxed in one of the hammocks, read my book under one of the many shade trees. Remember they do not have a pool.....Wow if they did--as it was in the upper 80's when we were there. But no complaints.
Never had the chance to use the outdoor shower. Next time! But for now off to Key West for the next five days at the Tropical Inn on Duval Street.

Room Tip: Room number 4 was mid resort--I think there were 10 rooms. Not a bad room on the property. lower n...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have recycle cans for your plastic and glass. I would suggest the environmental way to offer shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel, by installing the 3 in 1 dispenser on the shower wall.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letsdive07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,265 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
11.1 mi away
Key Largo Bay Marriott Beach Resort
4.3 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 20 in Key Largo
3,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Property: Island Bay Resort
Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing