We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular!”
Review of Island Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I went to celebrate our 26 year wedding anniversary.
We were very pleasantly surprised from the moment we turned on to the property. The lay out, theme, cleanliness, originality, view and tranquility was exactly what the doctor ordered!! Put us both in a Keys state of mind.
We absolutely recommend this place to any couple who's looking for the The Keys getaway with the real old Keys feel!
Mike and Carol thanks so much for all the gracious help. You made our "day".
Angelica and Sean McNally

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Angelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (699)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 699 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We had a short stay here and wish we had another few days. Our cottage (Conch) had everything we needed, spacious and really well equipped and decorated. Private beach and dock is literally a few steps away with stunning sunset views and lots of sunloungers/ hammmocks / cabanas for a lazy day.It has a guest laundry and dive lockers available. Snorkeling equipment also available as well as sea kayaks on site. Mike met us on our arrival and was very helpful with restaurant advice and snorkeling info. Can't recommend this place highly enough. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My family visited Island Bay Resort a few years ago and it was the best of our key's vacation. We stayed at the resort while we explored (drove) the rest of the keys. This resort was the best part of our vacation. It was a little pricey, however the resort was well worth the money that one spent to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
3  Thank 886Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My mom, two kids and I visited the Island Bay Resort, and we were thrilled with everything about it. We took two cottages (#5 Bahia Honda and #6 Sunset), and they were perfect.

As others have described, we turned off the busy highway after almost missing it, and were delighted to see the adorable cottages, tiki hut, signage, bocce ball court, and the view of the beach and bay at the end of the short driveway. It really was like entering another world!

Carol and Mike have given attention to the smallest of details: the music
playing in the room upon our arrival, the beautiful photography displayed on the walls, little porches with tables at each cottage, tiki lamps lit up each night, pretty vignettes throughout the property with two chairs or two chaise lounges. I can't say enough. And the sunset - directly in front of us on their beach, as if in a movie. This is why the bay side is perfect!

The property seems best suited for couples on a romantic getaway, but my kids (10 and 12) had the time of their lives. They floated in the bay, practiced snorkeling, saw lots of great sea life under the dock, took the sea kayak out, played corn hole, and just enjoyed being safe on the property to wander. If you are traveling with kids who are content with quiet exploring, your family would enjoy it (more rowdy kids might like a bigger property - or at least the other guests might prefer that!) ;-)

When we explored other areas of the Keys, I saw several properties that I'd almost booked....seeing them in person made me all the more pleased with the charming and well kept Island Bay Resort.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Passed it the 1st time we were following our GPS, but then we learned to recognize the colorful manatee marking the entrance! Upon pulling into the driveway we were blown away by the attention to detail and the stunning paved driveway!! From there is was just better and better.... We loved our waterfront room. Mike and Carol had a nice little arrangement of flowers and chocolates on the decorative towels waiting for us on the bed when we arrived! It was such a nice touch, since I had mentioned it was our 20th anniversary trip when I booked the room. I found myself wishing I could live forever in the tiki hut, LOL!!! The love and care of the property is evident, and reflected all around. The only thing I hated kinda goes with the territory, and that was the abundance of No Seeums and Mosquitos. Be sure to have your bug spray can handy at all times! The peaceful, relaxing, and serene setting just can't be beat. The location is close to everything too, whatever you want to do is just a short drive away.... We can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpolo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed four nights in July. This is really a great place to relax and enjoy all that the Florida Keys has to offer. I stayed in #5, Bahia Honda room. All rooms are close to the beach. Rooms have all you need, kitchen is small but you don't come to the Keys to cook. I barbecued on the grill two nights and had everything I needed. If you forget something WinnDixie is just a few minutes away. I walked to Chad's for breakfast. Mike and Carol really keep the resort spotless and beautiful. The only thing I can pick at would be the slightly noisy a/c. Had a great time hope to return sooner then later.

Room Tip: Any room is good, lower the number closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Salo39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It must be the 5th to 6th time we visited Island Bay and yet again, it was what the doctor recommended: relaxation and bliss. We were staying 3 cottages up from the beach, not our favourite by the beach but it was just as good. Perfect weather added to the feeling that we'd come home.

We were only there for a couple of days, on our way to Belize, wished we could have stayed longer. Next time...

Thanks Mike and Carol for this perfect piece of paradise and the place to catch a perfect Florida sunset with a glass of wine or two!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jeanne7759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 20 in Key Largo
1,353 reviews
4.9 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Key Largo
0.6 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
2.1 mi away
MB at Key Largo
MB at Key Largo
#8 of 20 in Key Largo
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range: £166 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Island Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing