We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tavernier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Island Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The attention to detail the owners have dedicated to this resort is uncanny! From the grounds being clean and neat to the personalized touches found in and around the room and resort - everything was done to perfection. We rented one of the efficiency units and even that had a kitchenette with everything you would need for a comfortable stay, including a stove top. Outside was a BBQ which had we been staying longer would have been put to good use. The bathroom fixtures were beautiful and again, attention to detail was on point! The bed was quite comfortable as well! The grounds boasted Adirondack chairs, hammocks, beach access, kayaks, corn hole, a tiki hut, plenty of tables and beach lounge chairs, as well as an outdoor shower! AMAZING! Every inch of the property! My now fiance chose this as the site of our engagement and we cannot wait to get back there!! The owner was friendly and helpful at all times. Excellent quick vacation experience that I will never forget. We will most definitely be back for an extended stay in the near future!

Room Tip: I truly believe you can't go wrong with any of the room options. We had one of the more basic u...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel definitely makes their efforts to be green!
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    55
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
49
493
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I can't say I have every been more pleased with an accomodation. If you're looking for a large resort with a gym keep browsing. This place is quaint and perfect for a quiet getaway. I took my daughter for her 14th birthday and we were over the moon. If I had to pick a drawback it would be that the water is not the classic turquoise Blue Lagoon scene that jumps to mind when you think Florida, as there is a fair amount of grass growing just below the surface. But we went snorkeling and realized that we had been wimps and frankly, idiots, not to go ahead and enjoy a plunge. It's long, clean, pretty grass and there was no boogie man/creature. I promise! Besides, you can drive for miles and not find a better swimming hole (we tried). Our stay was in sweltering late June so we laid out in a hammock watching the nightly thunder and lightning show in the distance as the warm wind blew in over the night sky. It was heavenly. The hosts are like the aunt and uncle you actually liked and looked forward to seeing when you were a kid. They are friendly and informative, eager to help, and leave you the hell alone unless you ask them not to! The bungalow was so beautiful, I was uber-inspired to do some updating of our own place when I got home. We BBQ'd the first night and just settled in.They even provide a small cooler for your outside time that you can take places with you, provided you return it. We had a rare argument-free three nights (yes, you read that right... she's 14) and truly enjoyed our time together. I imagine a couple would be hard pressed not to be in dreamland there. We went snorkeling with snorkelingisfun and swam with dolphins at Theater of the Sea, both recommended and very nearby. We ate at the places recommended and never had a bad experience. Ample parking and every ammenity. What a find. Look no farther for an amazing Florida Keys experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WestSeattleJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to celebrate our 26 year wedding anniversary.
We were very pleasantly surprised from the moment we turned on to the property. The lay out, theme, cleanliness, originality, view and tranquility was exactly what the doctor ordered!! Put us both in a Keys state of mind.
We absolutely recommend this place to any couple who's looking for the The Keys getaway with the real old Keys feel!
Mike and Carol thanks so much for all the gracious help. You made our "day".
Angelica and Sean McNally

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We had a short stay here and wish we had another few days. Our cottage (Conch) had everything we needed, spacious and really well equipped and decorated. Private beach and dock is literally a few steps away with stunning sunset views and lots of sunloungers/ hammmocks / cabanas for a lazy day.It has a guest laundry and dive lockers available. Snorkeling equipment also available as well as sea kayaks on site. Mike met us on our arrival and was very helpful with restaurant advice and snorkeling info. Can't recommend this place highly enough. Just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

My family visited Island Bay Resort a few years ago and it was the best of our key's vacation. We stayed at the resort while we explored (drove) the rest of the keys. This resort was the best part of our vacation. It was a little pricey, however the resort was well worth the money that one spent to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 886Annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

My mom, two kids and I visited the Island Bay Resort, and we were thrilled with everything about it. We took two cottages (#5 Bahia Honda and #6 Sunset), and they were perfect.

As others have described, we turned off the busy highway after almost missing it, and were delighted to see the adorable cottages, tiki hut, signage, bocce ball court, and the view of the beach and bay at the end of the short driveway. It really was like entering another world!

Carol and Mike have given attention to the smallest of details: the music
playing in the room upon our arrival, the beautiful photography displayed on the walls, little porches with tables at each cottage, tiki lamps lit up each night, pretty vignettes throughout the property with two chairs or two chaise lounges. I can't say enough. And the sunset - directly in front of us on their beach, as if in a movie. This is why the bay side is perfect!

The property seems best suited for couples on a romantic getaway, but my kids (10 and 12) had the time of their lives. They floated in the bay, practiced snorkeling, saw lots of great sea life under the dock, took the sea kayak out, played corn hole, and just enjoyed being safe on the property to wander. If you are traveling with kids who are content with quiet exploring, your family would enjoy it (more rowdy kids might like a bigger property - or at least the other guests might prefer that!) ;-)

When we explored other areas of the Keys, I saw several properties that I'd almost booked....seeing them in person made me all the more pleased with the charming and well kept Island Bay Resort.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Passed it the 1st time we were following our GPS, but then we learned to recognize the colorful manatee marking the entrance! Upon pulling into the driveway we were blown away by the attention to detail and the stunning paved driveway!! From there is was just better and better.... We loved our waterfront room. Mike and Carol had a nice little arrangement of flowers and chocolates on the decorative towels waiting for us on the bed when we arrived! It was such a nice touch, since I had mentioned it was our 20th anniversary trip when I booked the room. I found myself wishing I could live forever in the tiki hut, LOL!!! The love and care of the property is evident, and reflected all around. The only thing I hated kinda goes with the territory, and that was the abundance of No Seeums and Mosquitos. Be sure to have your bug spray can handy at all times! The peaceful, relaxing, and serene setting just can't be beat. The location is close to everything too, whatever you want to do is just a short drive away.... We can't wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpolo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tavernier
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Bay Resort
Atlantic Bay Resort
#2 of 4 in Tavernier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coconut Palm Inn
Coconut Palm Inn
#2 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Key Largo
Hampton Inn Key Largo
#5 of 19 in Key Largo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Pointe Suites at Key Largo
5.0 mi away
Playa Largo Resort & Spa, Autograph Collection
4.3 mi away
Hilton Key Largo Resort
Hilton Key Largo Resort
#14 of 19 in Key Largo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Bay Resort

Property: Island Bay Resort
Address: 92530 Overseas Highway, Tavernier, Key Largo, FL 33070-2758
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key Largo > Tavernier
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Tavernier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Bay Resort provides you with a complete "Florida Keys experience." Our hotel is centrally located between Key Largo and Islamorada and just two hours from Key West and Miami. Enjoying your Florida vacation is easy. Swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, boating and sunbathing can all be enjoyed from our resort's beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Bay Hotel Tavernier
Island Bay Tavernier
Island Bay Resort Key Largo/Tavernier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing