We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location, a little oasis frankly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Treasure Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We really were impressed. We had a prepaid rate of about $100 a night and that is a great deal for this place, but I'd be willing to pay more. The pool is small but great for kids or adults. The beach is right there and it is a wonderful beach with big tides and calm waters. Lots of pelicans and herons flying around. The elevator is slow, but if I remember right, there are only 3 stories. Taking the steps is not a bad thing. Room was comfortable with a kitchenette and nice flat screen tv. Once again, the location is great. The ice cream shack in front is old school fun, too.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank collinswz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanprop, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2009

What a delight to read a review as great as this one. We appreciate your comments very much. That ice cream shack really is something else...their malts are delicious! Please return to us soon. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

976 - 982 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2009

Our stay was very enjoyable overall. Checkin was easy, room was great with small kitchenette, living area, bedroom, and balcony overlooking the beach. The beach was a short walk from the hotel across the pool area to the ocean. Breakfast was better than at some others so I don't know what previous reviewers were complaining about. The eating area is packed about 8:30-9:00 but everyone seems to get their share. The staff can't hang around all day so you can sleep in late and eat your breakfast at noon. If you want to eat, just go bring it back to your room for later. Sheesh. Also, they have the waffle maker which is great for all of us since we love the waffles. All other breakfast items are standard compared to the other residence inns we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ToddNugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanprop, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

Thank you so much for the kind words. I am happy that you enjoyed our waffles. They are definitely delicious. I would like to also thank you for clearing up some of the confusion regarding breakfast. It does get crowded when guests come down all at once. The operating hours are 6:00am - 9:30am on weekdays and 6:30am - 10:00am on weekends. Unfortunately, when groups come down at 9:30am when breakfast is coming to a close it does complicate things a little bit. Of course while the breakfast area is being occupied we will continue to serve our guests as needed. We are estatic that you enjoyed your stay with is. Come back soon and make yourself a waffle any way you like!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

The Breakfast was poor. Processed eggs, alway out of coffee, and they only have it open till 9:30. Its a vaction place, who wants to wake up at 8 or 9 to get bad eggs. No hot tube, small pool and no umbrellas. VERY slow elevators, everyone takes the stairs. The rooms have a view to the beach when you lean over the side.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank known_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanprop, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the breakfast you experienced with us. I wanted to clarify a few points as your post is not entirely factual and I do not want to mislead potential patrons or hotel guests. The eggs that Marriott has chosen to use are actually 100% whole eggs. There are no addiditives other than citric acid to preserve the color. As for the coffee, I will address the issue to ensure we are checking the pots more often making sure they are always full. It is also true that we do not have a hot tub on property. This is not advertised on the Marriott website nor on our own site. Moving on, we do in fact have umrellas on our pool deck. it is very possible that for your safety we had removed them on a windy day to protect our guests. On a beautiful day, you can find 8 umbrellas waiting for you on our pool. We are looking into the issue of the elevator is the west tower. It does service 9 floors and sometimes may take a few minutes to reach your floor. Lastly, all of the rooms in the east tower have an isometric view of the Gulf. The balconies are all jet out from the building in a triangular shape. It sounds like you were in the west tower, where our balconies are rectangular, and yes you must look towards the water to view. I hope that you will return to us soon and give us an opportunity to change your feelings regarding our property. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

After spending lots of time researching the St. Pete Beach area, I had decided to rent a house when my husband suggested looking for a Marriott so we could use our points and so our five-year-old would have a pool to swim in. We stayed six nights and were very impressed with our one bedroom suite. Had good closet space. The kitchen had granite countertops, stainless appliances, dishes and basic pans. The decor was classy, new and very clean. Bathroom had a large walk-in marble shower, no tub. Had two balconies and a great view. The price ended up being so reasonable we decided not to use our Marriott points on the stay. The only thing I wasn't too pleased with was the breakfast service. Being on vacation, we didn't get up early, so by the time we made it down to breakfast, the place was packed, plus it was the week of the July 4th holiday. It just felt claustrophobic with so many people dodging each other in line. The food is okay, especially since it's included. I enjoyed eating yogurt with granola, fruit and honey each morning, and the dark roast coffee was excellent. Got to have my caffeine! The breakfast is great for families; it just gets very crowded. Other reviewers mentioned the elevators, towels and too few maids. It's humid, and the hallways are not air-conditioned, so probably the elevator never really gets dried out from people dripping water on the carpet. I appreciated the beach towels being provided. They're not spa quality, but I wouldn't expect them to be. I feel like the other reviewer complaining about those things is nitpicking. Definitely didn't have any problem with the maid service. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, and we enjoyed our stay very much. It was much more comfortable than we would have been in just a hotel room. Great value for the money. As far as distance to the beach, which I worried about, I counted one day, and it was about a two-minute walk from the beach to our room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texascsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Let me first say that one of my husbands suppliers gave us this trip as an incentive for his business so we did not book this hotel on our own or pay for it. After reading such good reviews before leaving, our expectations were very high. We had never been to the area but were looking forward to it. Our first impression of the hotel was not a good one upon check in our first day. We arrived around 3:30pm and was told that rooms were not ready and there were several people ahead of us to check in. I said, check in is at 4pm and it is not first come first serve. All rooms booked for that day should be ready upon your 4pm check in time. The gentlemen at the desk just wanted to argue that they were doing all they could and they would call us when the room was ready. Obviously, they were trying to save money with too few housekeepers. All weekend, we saw one housekeeper per floor for big suites, not your typical hotel room. We left for 30 minutes and came back at the 4pm check in time to find several other unhappy people just like we were, being told that their room was still not ready at 4pm. Supposedly the manager was one of the two gentlemen at the desk but as business owners ourselves, he wasn't doing his job. They blamed the rainy week they had been having and that day was the first sunny day in a week and people were slow to leave. How is that my fault? If I was paying for this trip out of pocket, I would of been more upset but still was as we had been traveling since 7am that morning. We were finally checked in at about 4:45pm and given a free bottle of cheap champagne. Thanks a lot! We were happy that we didn't need to deal with any of the front desk or manager from there on out. The pool was small and crowded. The towels they supplied were old and dirty. The rooms were nice and spacious but your typical beach feel, smelly elevators. Breakfast was ok, good coffee. The food was not quickly replenished as the servers were standing around talking. For $245/night, I would not pay for this hotel myself. I would maybe return for $99, nothing special with poor customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vacation920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

We stayed at the Residence Inn Marriott Treasure Island on May 28 to 30 in room 406. The accommodations in this one-bedroom suite were excellent with everything new and in very good condition. We enjoyed both of the balconies, one in the living room and another in the bedroom with both facing north. Two plasma tvs, free internet access, laptop-sized safe, two very large closets (one in bedroom and one in the hall). Full breakfast in the morning with eggs, potatoes, sausage, tortillas/salsa/peppers, cereals, yogurts, waffles, juice/milk but as others have noted breakfast area did get crowded later in the morning. Shaded parking under building. Pool area was small and only had about 4 umbrellas but plenty of chairs/loungers. We walked to shops/restaurants, but they were a distance, about three-fourths of a mile north to John’s Pass and same distance south to those in Treasure Island such as Sloppy Joes. We had an excellent short stay and then moved to Clearwater beach with extended family.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HemiThis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanprop, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2009

I would like to take this time to thank you for your business and loyalty with Marriott. It puts a huge smile on face, having these nice words brought to my attention. I am pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your time together and having done so at your home away from home...The Residence Inn Treasure Island. Please come back and see us soon. We look forward to seeing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

Wife had nice Coach purse taken from couch that was next to front desk. The on property manager stated this had never happened. The security camera they have facing the desk was useless. When asked if they could see who took the purse the manager expained that the camera was to blurry. HOGWASH! After having few hundred taken and all credit cards and nice purse we didnt even get a sorry from the manager. Wouldnt it have been nice PR for the manager to offer us a dinner? Very sad with overall experience....

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KREHEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceanprop, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2009

This unfortunate event is an extremely rare occurrence here at the property. Unfortunately the response posted is not entirely factual. The staff cooperated with the local police department 100%. We provided them with everything they had requested including tapes of the event which were captured. Our staff did empathize for the guest and did everything possible to ease their stress. One thing I would also like to reiterate is that the "thieves" were not employees of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,802 reviews
0.7 mi away
Treasure Island Beach Resort
Treasure Island Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Treasure Island
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
Westwinds Waterfront Resort
#4 of 48 in Treasure Island
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
886 reviews
0.3 mi away
Treasure Island Ocean Club
Treasure Island Ocean Club
#22 of 48 in Treasure Island
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island

Address: 11908 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Treasure Island
#2 Family Hotel in Treasure Island
#5 Romantic Hotel in Treasure Island
Price Range: £144 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island offers outstanding suites and a great location. Our guests love the service and the extra amenities that we provide at our hotel in Treasure Island, Florida, such as free breakfast, free high speed internet and luxurious suites with energy efficient stainless steel appliances in fully-equipped kitchens. Plus, all suites have a large balcony overlooking the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott St. Petersburg / Treasure Island Hotel Treasure Island
Residence Inn St Petersburg
Residence Inn Treasure Island
Marriott Treasure Island
Treasure Island Marriott
Treasure Island Residence Inn
Residence Inn By Marriott St. Petersburg Treasure Island Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing