We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Nordvind

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nordvind
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

If you're looking to stay at a place that's on the beach with a fantastic view in a great location within walking distance to everything this is the place to stay.
It's an older resort, with a few tired features, but it's clean and it's on the beach!
The buildings appearance on the outside is very nice it's been freshly painted by the looks of it .the pool area is extremely nice and clean with newer updated loungers.
The grounds seem well-kept ,the palms are trimmed and everything is in order.
Inside the units everything is quite neat and clean & freshened up with new paint!
The kitchen although well-equipped is tired looking .the bathroom is clean but tired as well ...the cabinetry is quite outdated.
If I was an owner here I would want to see some of my maintenance fees going into new cabinetry in the kitchens and bathrooms.
Balconies are large and you have a great view of the ocean even from your bed.... That's nice!
Everything is in good working order . My only complaint is that the common areas really could use new carpeting.
The staff is great and friendly and they're really trying hard .
Once again this place is in the best possible location in treasure Island and you have to potential by staying here of having a really nice vacation.
Just remember it's all what you make of it.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank somuchtosee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This isn't the newest property on the beach, but when it comes to hospitality, location and the view, you can't beat Nordvind. We have been coming to Florida for over 25 years and we stay at Nordvind at least 1-2 times per year. It is convenient to everything and the staff is friendly and helpful. It is located right on the beach with an outstanding view. If you are looking for a "hotel like" experience, this isn't for you, but if you are looking for a place to have a good time, in a great location with an outstanding view, Nordvind is it.

Room Tip: If there are only two of you, stay in the front building. If you have a family, the back building i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairborn, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I've been staying at Nordvind for 25 years and have stayed other places along this beach. This place is the Best! It is closest to the ocean, the staff sees to it that you have a good time and makes my stay very enjoyable. The room is very clean and so easy to live in. There is a balcony off the bedroom and living room and you can hear the ocean. If you like the big over crowded places with room service this place is not for you. I come here because it is quiet and the landscape is absolutely gorgeous including a pool and Jacuzzi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OhSueCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

GREAT LOCTION & most of the STAFF are aMAZING!!! super helpful... you can watch DOLPHINS from your BED/BALCONY!!! all the amennities you need,... cutlery,glasses, stove , fridge,, mic,
tv, dvd, storage, bring hand soap/ dissinfectant, and some face clothes.... there is laundry to use,, & soap SHOWER is AWESOME pressure! & good for ppl about 5'10...
you can hear other ppl flushing.... and sometimes smell it! :( buy some Lysol for the place! its worth the price!!
John's pass is right over the lift bridge, the beautiful sunsets, and dolfin watching, kingfishers, fishing tours, restaurants, shops,, there are endlesss great things to do within a 10- 30 min walk of this condo! :)
if you dont plan to spend much more time than sleeping/maybe cooking/ enjoying sunsets in your room/ balcony, book this great <3 room!

Room Tip: no kids activities, but a great semi private beach for great entertainment, walks, fishing, shell co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mishelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We exchanged our timeshare for 2 bedroom unit at Nordvind resort because we stayed there with our friends. Outdated kitchen and some furniture, even though I could see some signs of relatively fresh paint, flat TV and a few pieces of new furniture. Very spacious. 2 bedrooms are on the second level. Living room and kitchen, full bathroom and laundry unit are on the first floor. Two balconies. Carpet was dirty and required to be replaced. "Used and abused" kitchen stuff. Lots of random utensil. I got the impression I was renting an apartment from private owner, but not at the resort that is supposed to meet certain standards to be a part of Interval International exchange company. I would rather have white towels in the bathroom (to make sure they are clean) than dark green towels coordinated with shower curtain in one bathroom or dark brown towels in the second bathroom. Multiple additional towels were in the unit but all random colors. I washed towels before use and send my husband to buy Antibacterial spray to clean all areas and draws we were planning to use. Otherwise I did not feel comfortable to stay in the unit. Believe me, I do not suffer from OCD. Location is great, beach is wonderful, swimming pool and jacuzzi were clean.My sense was that place is forgotten by owners.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luvtrav2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Treasure Island hotels

Clearwater, Fl
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

We've owned, at the Nordvind, for about 10 years. The Bridge replacement is over. Beach is a stone throw away. Basically private, compared to property to the south of us. We own the beach, to average high tide. We are on the N.W. tip of Treasure Island. I love watching the boats travel thru John's Pass. Walk over the Bridge to John's Pass Village. Fishing trips, Dolphin trips, Wave runners for rent. Restaurants, Gift shops & various shops. Boardwalk with more shops. Bubba Gumps, Hooters and others. Across from the Village is Gators Bar and Restaurant. Charter fishing boats available on that side Access to Casino Boats from there. This is a real good tourist spot, Maderia Beach and Treasure Island. Now, The Nordvind plus's: great view of the Gulf. Good Pool and Jacuzzi/hot tub. Shaded tables by the pool. Picnic on Wed (at noon), Hot dogs supplied and guest's bring a dish to share.
Bar-B-Que grills on site. The main bldg faces the Gulf. All units have balconys. The hide-a-bad couchs are fairly new. All rooms have flat screen TV's DVD players available. Beds are being replaced with worst ones first. My bed was comfortable, last May,2012. All appliances, dish washer, etc should be fine. The rooms are not huge. We slept 5 people last May. The only real negative is the Jacuzzi bath tub. It is real short. Can't stretch your legs. Shower-ing is better. The rooms are cleaned on Saturdays. You might see some sheets etc, in the elevator. Not a big deal to me. The Mgr, Steve, is very friendly. As is the office staff. You can ask for a roll-away bed, if needed.

Room Tip: Some rooms are above the pool. Good if you have kids. They are 201 & 202, up to 501 & 502...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zipper34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lkld
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Beautiful access to the beach and is not crowded at all. I read several of the comments below and all the gripes about updating. Where else can you stay w/these prices, all rooms have full kitchens, all rooms have beach view access. And how much time do you spend in the room??

You came to the beach, enjoy the beach and its surroundings. I love staying here and have since 1988. Steve and staff are the best!!!

Room Tip: Come have a fun time at the beach and enjoy John's Pass too. Lots of places to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janre168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Treasure Island
0.4 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barefoot Beach Hotel
Barefoot Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Madeira Beach
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
0.6 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#14 of 48 in Treasure Island
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordvind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordvind

Property: Nordvind
Address: 12700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Treasure Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordvind 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HRS, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nordvind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordvind Hotel Treasure Island
Nordvind Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing