We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Review of Nordvind

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nordvind
Tampa Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This is the place to go. We are repeat visitors and enjoy each year more and more. While Nordvind is not the newest or fanciest place on the beach, it is by far the best. The location is perfect. All of the rooms have Ocean Front View. BEAUTIFUL. The staff is much more that accomadating. Requests are quickly filled. The grounds are kept up nicely. Pool/Spa side is homey. Staff provides a cook-out style luncheon on Wednesdays, and guests bring a dish to share. Yes, the manager runs around bare-footed, but don't we all. Why wear shoes at the beach? We love and and go as often as we can.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kcoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
19
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YORKSHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

We travelled from the UK to Nordvind and had read the comments from the young couple about the dirty apartments etc, and were a little apprehensive. We arrived late on the Sunday evening, and so no staff were available but we were advised our keys would be under the mat at the office. They were indeed. We stayed in one of two 2 bed apartments, which are two storey, and whilst they do not have the amazing views of the 1 beds, are so spacious, you could easily sleep 8 in them.

The decor is a little dated but everything was clean and you could tell from the quality of the fittings that they would have been lovely when brand new.

It was so relaxing. everyone was so friendly, and I would add it is a bonus being able to do your own laundry (especially with small children) as and when you need it, there are all the facilities in the apartment, even washing powder.

Because of the humidity in florida, whereever you stay, if the air conditioning is running, which is does automatically, and you leave doors open, you will get condensation. Our second week we stayed in a very new aprtment at Polynesian Isles, Kissimmee and that dripped because I left the patio open!!

I would go back any time, and the americans we met there were all lovely, some owners and some not, but all really loved the resort.

If I lived right on the beach as the owner does, I would not wear shoes either!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YORKIE098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Content2travel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2009

I can't wait to go back to Nordvind again this year. The staff made us feel so welcome. They felt like family to us by the time we left the place. They are a small staff but they treat the place like it is their home which gives a very personalized feeling. We have stayed at several other places in Florida, all of which seemed like places of big business where making money was the priority. Nordvind is way different. Whatever we asked for, we were taken care of and we felt appreciated. It is an older facility which is fine with us. We were really there for the gorgeous beach and beautiful sunsets. There is tons of entertainment within walking distance of the condo where we stayed. The view from the balcony was absolutely stunning. Our place was clean and supplied all the necessities that we would need for the week, to make us comfortable for the week. We couldn't believe the low price we had to pay on this beach front condo. The ocean was so close you could throw a rock and make a splash. We enjoy seeing dolphin playfully swimming around, we fished from the pier, took long walks on the clean white sand beach. Visitors would stop what they were doing to enjoy the amazingly beautiful sunsets that could be viewed from the balcony or the pier The landscaping is well done, the pool was clean and well cared for The people both staff and guest are friendly.This is a dream place for those who love the outdoors and just enjoying hanging out in a tropical setting. We are going back in July of 09 and we hope to bring along some friends.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Content2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2008

Prior to booking at the Nordvind (through an Interval International timeshare), we realized that the resort was a bit older based on the pictures on their website. Since we wanted to be on the beach, we were fine with having accommodations that were a bit older and based on their website, it remarked on the cleanliness of the resort. Upon our arrival at Nordvind, we were greeted by the owner who informed us he had not worn shoes in 2 years. The “lobby” area was very dingy. The staff was friendly and told us we could come back in an hour and the room would be cleaned. We arrived back and the room was very dirty and the smell was unbearable. My husband and I enjoy camping and have stayed at value motels and are fine with “budget” accommodations. Nordvind was disgusting however and after opening the sliding glass door on the balcony, we immediately left to all the timeshare company to switch resorts. The only resort available was in Orlando and since our main reason for going to Florida was to be on the beach, we decided to give Nordvind a chance for the night. When we arrived back to the room, it was our hope that having the door open would have aired out the cigarette-cigar-musty-dirty odor. But no such luck. When we opened the fridge to put the bottled water we had purchased in it, we were about knocked over from the sour, gross smell. The only good thing about this resort is that it is right on the beach. The beach however is not great. Since it is next to the channel, which has lots of loud construction going on, the water is murky. Other downfalls to this resort include having to do your own laundry if you would like clean towels and condensation from the 1970’s air conditioner unit dripping onto your head at the kitchen table. The couch was so dirty with stains and cigarette burns on it that we never sat on it. The headboard on the bed was disconnected from the bed. When we were in the elevator, we saw bedding from another room just thrown in the elevator and no one around. Staff members are only at the resort until 5:00 p.m., although there is a number you can call for an emergency. I am attaching pictures to show some of the disgusting features of the Nordvind. The smell is ultimately what made us leave. Even after spraying Oust, it did not make a difference. Plus whenever we turned on the air conditioner the stench would just get worse. Luckily we were able to get into an awesome resort in Orlando after staying at the Nordvind one night. Like I said, our main reason for coming to FL was for the beaches, but we decided being in a clean environment and driving 2 hours a day to get to the gulf beaches was well worth it. I would very much not recommend this resort to anyone. I was under the misconception that something in our timeshare would never be of this poor of a quality, but I was very wrong. I think it is a disgrace for the timeshare to have a resort like this as an option and I will be contacting them as well.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank MrsA0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Treasure Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Treasure Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
Sunset Vistas Beachfront Suites
#6 of 48 in Treasure Island
1,754 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Island
The Tahitian Resort Treasure Isl...
#19 of 48 in Treasure Island
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn St. Petersburg Treasure Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beach House Cabanas
Beach House Cabanas
#9 of 48 in Treasure Island
124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
Crystal Palms Beach Resort
#13 of 48 in Treasure Island
678 reviews
0.9 mi away
Surf Beach Resort
Surf Beach Resort
#2 of 48 in Treasure Island
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nordvind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordvind

Property: Nordvind
Address: 12700 Gulf Blvd, Treasure Island, FL 33706-5020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Treasure Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Treasure Island
Hotel Class:3 star — Nordvind 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nordvind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordvind Hotel Treasure Island
Nordvind Treasure Island, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing